Thread: Derry City 1 Sligo Rovers 2

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Haha,yeah right you maniac

What a trip Good craic on the bus. Elation to depression after we scored and then conceded straight after. Derry were dominant in the second half and were exploting us down their right wing,but we did well to hold on. As SM said a draw would have delighted me but what a way to ein it. In the 1-1 draw last season in the brandywell last raf was in the exact same position late on and he missed,I feared he would do the same again but that man doesn't dissapoint to often! Viva cretaro!! Celebrations at the end and the sing song on the bus home - Quality! This will really give the lads some confidence to push on. Inside Man - Where are you now?!

And Avvenalaf . Going by our perfromances in the last two games, not by a long shot will we be in a relegation battle, I suppose Avvenalaf cant wait for those 9 games to be over so he can can say "I told you so" . Would be a great month if we win our next 2 aswell, do ye think we can beat Bohs and Drogs ?

My predictions anyways:
    Against Bohs- 2-1 to us (well if we can beat an in form Derry team we can beat Bohs as i said in this thread before)
    Against Drogs- 3-0 to us.
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by sligofan4ever View Post
    My predictions anyways:
    Against Bohs- 2-1 to us (well if we can beat an in form Derry team we can beat Bohs as i said in this thread before)
    Against Drogs- 3-0 to us.
    Let's not go nuts just yet.

Both goals were brilliantly taken. I was actually surprised when Boco scored. He had at least 4 chances like that in the game at home last July and either missed or hit them straight at the keeper. We played very well as a whole.

However, we really should have conceded at least 1 penalty in the first half, which would have changed the game totally. I don't know how Keane got away with booting Kearney like that.

Game can be viewed again on-line now

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/audiovideo_index.html

Played really really well i thought thought Alan Keane was superb at the back as well as Peersy, Ventre and Holmes all done really well. Worked really hard and got a bit of luck, nice to see young Torpey getting the block in that lead to the second goal.

Smile

Fantastic win and well deserved and nice to get the rub of the green with a referee for a change. Cratero was the hero but he has to time his runs better as we gave so much possession away through him going offside non stop. Sligo really had the better chances and we should have had two more goals at least. Like everyone else I was delighted with the result especially as we were given no chance by anyone. Bring on the Bohs now, any of our sidlined players due to come back?

Pretty sure i seen Sligoman handing out some Oil to the Derry fans at the end of the game

Should be a good crowd now for Bohs next week.

186 Posts
    Am I glad I travelled or what. Theres no words.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

well done to ye last night. It was the best live match i saw this season so far. Had to laugh at the shed boys going nuts including dan!! ten years is a hell of a wait to win up there but it makes it much better! was there many of ye that travelled up there? heard ye no problem on the screen!

I'd say 100,maybe 120. Not great,especially considering it was good friday(well it was around what i had anticipated). But we made good noise alright,especially towards the end and for a while after. It was mayhem when we scored!

Formerly: wild rover
    The White Pele.....

hes Danny Ventre

Two posts recently did not appear, anyone else having this problem but in summary what a trip to Derry, bring on the Bohs.

Quote Originally Posted by Well Red View Post
    Two posts recently did not appear, anyone else having this problem but in summary what a trip to Derry, bring on the Bohs.
    happend to me once
    Rocking and rolling on the dole

Quote Originally Posted by Well Red View Post
    well i seem to have had one deleted for responding to somebody provoking me!!!!!!!!

Great win in Derry. Cretaro and Boco as good a strike force as any.

Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    Absolute belter! Only down side was the boys banner getting ripped on the barbed wire in the second half!!
    Disappointed that we hadn't a few more there but an unbelievable night. They had us pinned back for long spells but fair play to all the defence. Stand up Danny Ventre!! Great to see us so clinical as well.
    Were you the lad that tried to give me a hand with the flag??. Had no option but to rip it down. Thanls anyway, appreciate it.
    One of the best away games i've been at in a long time.

FORZA ROVERS!

He drinks,
    he drives,
    he/s lucky to be alive...

That wasn't myself Jeebus, I was a bit further away and could see it happening. Pity that, hope it wasn't totally destroyed but I'd say it probably was!
    Still elated after the result.

Great weekend for Cook, Rovers winning in Derry Liverpool beating Blackburn 4-0 got to have a few bob Each way on One Cool Cookie in the national in honour of the man.

Quote Originally Posted by Jeebus View Post
    Were you the lad that tried to give me a hand with the flag??. Had no option but to rip it down. Thanls anyway, appreciate it.
    One of the best away games i've been at in a long time.

FORZA ROVERS!

He drinks,
    he drives,
    he/s lucky to be alive...

nice chant about ventre jeebus!!

No not about Ventre.