Derry City 1 Sligo Rovers 2

McGlynn 40,...Boco 39,
    ...................Cretaro.89
    Last edited by Bigone57; 10/04/2009 at 8:31 PM.

What a win 4 in 3 for Cretaro now, nice calm finish, and a superb first of the season for Boco. Brush was another stand out man tonight. This is great confidence for the Bohemians match now, if we can beat an in form Derry team, we can beat a Bohemians team who aren't as good as last season. I tought Boco coming off would effect our game but obviously it didn't. bring on Bohs!.

just look at the predictions thread for this, no one predicted a Rovers win, nearly everyone was going for a win (someone said they would beat us 5-0!)
    Coleman for Ireland

yessssssss!!!!get in there!just wish i could have been there!

YESYESYES what a win ,

Oh how i was wrong!! And im loving it!!!
    get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!! get in!!

Ohhh just watching the lads on TV made me so envious!! Wat a bad decision not to go! Cumon the Rowvers!!!

32 Posts
    have a look at what that ment to the players at the end, and people were doubting their commitment!!
    fantastic result!!

That was one sweet victory..........well done lads !!!!!!!
    "Overwhelmed"

Great night apart from those rip off publicans 2 quid a pint, all in great voice on the trust bus heading for Mooneys FORZA ROVERS

Fantastic result , great battling performance and we could have had 3 or 4 in the second half , I was very confident Raf would stick it in at the end will really set the lads up for next week and Bohs

Jays, Rw. What a prediction.

Forza Rovers

Get it right up ya

Superb result, just back did not drink si i was on babysiting service superb.

Unbelievable

Still havent got me head around it. What a fcuking night. Up there with the bests imho. What made it even better was the delight on the players face when they came over celebrating to us at the end.

Bring on Bohs

Unbelievable. I would have been disappointed with the point tbh. Cannot believe we won. Hope we kick on from here now and give it to Bohs, league champions or not.

YEESSSSSSSSS!

Absolute belter! Only down side was the boys banner getting ripped on the barbed wire in the second half!!
    Disappointed that we hadn't a few more there but an unbelievable night. They had us pinned back for long spells but fair play to all the defence. Stand up Danny Ventre!! Great to see us so clinical as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    Superb result, just back did not drink si i was on babysiting service superb.
    Haha,yeah right you maniac

What a trip Good craic on the bus. Elation to depression after we scored and then conceded straight after. Derry were dominant in the second half and were exploting us down their right wing,but we did well to hold on. As SM said a draw would have delighted me but what a way to ein it. In the 1-1 draw last season in the brandywell last raf was in the exact same position late on and he missed,I feared he would do the same again but that man doesn't dissapoint to often! Viva cretaro!! Celebrations at the end and the sing song on the bus home - Quality! This will really give the lads some confidence to push on. Inside Man - Where are you now?!

Quote Originally Posted by ARooney28 View Post
    Still havent got me head around it. What a fcuking night. Up there with the bests imho. What made it even better was the delight on the players face when they came over celebrating to us at the end.

Bring on Bohs
    says it all really.

one of the best away trips ive been on.
    so proud tonight of the players, management
    and especialy the supporters who made the trip

what a win!we could ave bet them by more if we had taking our chances

Stunning result, and what a turnaround in the last few days after the Dundalk debacle - shows this team has real bottle.
    Everyone played well, but I thought in particular Peersy and Ryan were phenomenal. We had a bit of long overdue luck - two decent shouts at penalties waved off - but overall, away to the in-form league leaders, I'll take that.
    Derry looked a top side, but we still created as many (more?) clear scoring chances. There was also no desperate hoofing the ball clear. It was generally passed and played out of defence.
    Funny enough, in the closing stages I said to herself "We should be okay now. Derry have run out of ideas and they're just humping in long balls, betting on their big men." About a minute later we were 2-1 up. Somehow I had no doubt from the moment Raf got that ball nothing was going to stop him.
    This team is only getting better. Roll on the rest of the season.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."