Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast

Thread: Your club's worst signing?

Quote Originally Posted by Tallanted View Post
    Last season Mick McCarthy stands out
    Played a year at schoolboy with Mick. Was a bit of a donkey back then and when I seen him play against us last year I almost convinced myself I could do a better job out there tbh

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Himself and Gavin Doyle went on strike over pay
    or something at one stage!
    Think that's bad - he was sacked from UCD for being caught with guns in the boot of his car. Was the captain of our reserve team that won the reserve division unbeaten around 1997 - that team included Barry Ryan, Clive Delaney, Ciarán Martyn, Mick O'Donnell, Alan McNally and a host of other quality players. Noonan was one of the few that never really featured for our first team.

1,104 Posts
    One way of ensuring he gets paid I suppose.

Tony Hopper
    Mark O'Brien
    Chris Kingsbury
    Padraig Dully
    Ken DeMange

Liam O'Brien joined us in 99/00. People mainly remember him for the burst of speed after the game to get the train home to Dublin. He never showed such a turn of pace on teh pitch.

In more recent times Brian O'Callaghan stood out as especially bad. Might have done a job 20 years ago against a big bruising forward who'd stand toe to toe with him but against anyone who could run he was an accident waiting to happen.

PS Before anyone dares to defend these 2 clowns I do know that O'Brien got 2 cracking goals down in Waterford and that BOC played well in the 2007 FAI Cup final but one swallow and all that.....
    "Its the bad players who are the luxury not the skillfull ones"
    Danny Blanchflower

Brendan Markey...think he was awful for every team he played with, same as Thomas McGauley, didnt they release him like a month after joining them for a poor disciplinary record?!

Quote Originally Posted by Black and White View Post
    same as Thomas McGauley, didnt they release him like a month after joining them for a poor disciplinary record?!
    Did he play for Dublin City, the year they won the 1st?

38 Posts
    He not only played, he was top-scorer! And their best player by a mile. He had a serious knee injury the following year and has never really recovered.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    He not only played, he was top-scorer! And their best player by a mile. He had a serious knee injury the following year and has never really recovered.
    No just i thought i remembered him from a game in Whitehall, ye beat us 1-0 i think, David O Dowd got sent off, dont know how McGauley stayed on the field himself that night, quite a dirty player.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    No just i thought i remembered him from a game in Whitehall, ye beat us 1-0 i think, David O Dowd got sent off, dont know how McGauley stayed on the field himself that night, quite a dirty player.
    Sums up what I've said already, think he was sent off 3 times in a month and a half whilst playing for Limerick,if hes the player I'm thinking about and they got rid of him as a result. He accumulated quite a number of cards for us too. Was also an awful defender!

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    Recovered enough to captain us to a 3-0 mauling of Longford last night

1,104 Posts
    The phrase "savaging a dead sheep" comes to mind.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    The phrase "savaging a dead sheep" comes to mind.
    Will Gough last another week? He kept them in the dressing room for quite some
    time last night ... comment from one of your committee members ...
    "its a bit late him talking to them now!"

Personally I hope ye keep him ... mainly cos he's fupping youse up rightly

1,104 Posts
    In fairness we'll have to give him a chance. We have had some decent performances too as well as some bad ones. Ironically enough Brendan Place was the other leading candidate for the job.

Thomas McGauley wasn't actually that bad for us, but I heard he was worse than awful at Armagh City.
    Worst for us:
    Brendan Markey
    Stephen Arkins
    Honourable mention - the Belvedere youth squad from circa 1997 - the manager tried to sign them all at some stage.

30 Posts
    Just remembered that we briefly had Brendan Markey, think he only lasted 2 weeks with us.

Again cant believe I forgot the one, the only ... Super Mick McCann

Vinny Perth, Cormac McArdle,
    Ian Fosters Black & White army

The Home of football is oriel!

137 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Again cant believe I forgot the one, the only ... Super Mick McCann
    I remember standing with his dad and a local reporter after one particular game. Said reporter didn't know he was standing beside his dad and totally ripped into him. "Well I wouldn't agree with that, I'm actually Mikey's dad."

Did so well not to laugh.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

Quote Originally Posted by Black and White View Post
    Half the players we signed down the years from Monaghan, Paul Smith being one, Ciaran Quinn, Ashley White(who never played a full game).
    I don't think that's fair on Smythy - he did a job for you last season.
    We signed Ciarán Quinn from you. You got Shane Jackson in return
    Ashley White I think signed for you but the transfer was blocked - we wanted a fee as he was u-23 at the time, I'm not sure of the details; he might have signed again a couple of years later. The stuff about the migraines is true - he wasn't the same player in his second spell with us. I remember him getting an almighty lump on his head in Bray the year we were in the premier, I wondered if that was part of it.

A few classics in this thread alright - Seán Cooney was absolute muck; Joe O'Cearuil was unbelievably bad for a premier player, nevermind for a full Irish international; Jimmy Aggrey.
    Stuart Holt was brilliant for us in pre-season, just rubbish at a competitive paced game
    Forgot about Ger Robinson - another chancer who thought he just had to turn up, because he was in England you know
    The aforementioned Shane Jackson
    Robbie Brunton - surely makes the list for most clubs
    Brendan Plaice
    Sean Byrne played midfield for us for half a season
    Willie Doyle - big name, big belly, big arse, big flop

You'll be listing lazy Dave Freeman in this thread next season I'd say.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

Page 9 of 11 FirstFirst ... 7891011 LastLast