FT. Drogheda Utd 0 - 0 Sligo Rovers

................................Ventre 45. Red card
    ................................Morrison 82.Red card
    9 man Rovers Held by Drogs will we have 11 players in the squad for next week.

why were they sent off
    we will struggle to field a team next week alright

Dissappointing stuff.
    Nine games are up... Time to judge.
    Last edited by The Midget Gem; 24/04/2009 at 9:01 PM.

Thumbs up Rovers situation

Rovers don't have a consistent striker , Boco is a right back , great player class touch no finishing product , raff works his ass off but rovers cant depend on him to score every game , he's a winger not a striker & Parkhouse dosnt have pace ..... 9 games time to judge , Cook talked about the tight situation with a small squad at the start of the season but instead of stating this he should of be sorting his own squad , mauro left at the end of last season injured and came back pre season injured.. butler got injured in a car accident due to reasons we all know about , hes sauntering about the town doing nothing about his injury taking peoples hard earned money in wages every week, i say pay him off and get a striker in ? Great results the past 2 weeks but 1 point draws all season wont get us up that table , fair play to the new committee alot of effort going in in the background ..

Smile

ok it does not read to good as far as dicipline is concerned but to get a point with 9 men is ok by me. cook was also sent to the stand but then again we know his passion for the game. we will struggle next week but there is a good fighting spirit in the squod. i wonder was o grady playing tonight. if not and he gets back next week it will be a help. somebody else posted here "time to judge" taking all into consideration (what happened pre season etc) i think we did all right. i say its time to judge the supporters to see how well they will get behind the team and the club regarding the groundwork for europe.
    remember we have not officially got the go ahead to hold the european game in the showgrounds yet. any offers to help to do some groundwork and sell some tickets

Quote Originally Posted by The Midget Gem View Post
    Dissappointing stuff.
    We had 9 men in all fairness...

Quote Originally Posted by The Midget Gem View Post
    Dissappointing stuff.
    Fickle, simple as.

Drogheda are easily the worst team I've seen in the Premier Division in years. We had plenty of chances to score, just didn't take them. Richie Winters and his linesman were an absolute disgrace, they were getting simple things wrong...I've come to expect that in this league at this stage. We were by far the better team, not a bad result for 9 players against 12, but we really had the better chances so should have won.

It makes the Cork game even harder now with Cook and 2 players suspended

Yeah drogheda were awful,never looked like scoring. Out of the two sides,we were probably more likely to score with 9 men. We had a few chances early in the first 25 minutes,probably should have scored. I'd say we could have gone on to win it were it not for ventre's red card.

I know he's a legend, and ya can't change him but what a stupid red card. Lunging in like that when there was no danger

We're down to the bare bones now. Peers was excellent as per usual and boco and raf were causing problems until we went down to ten men. Raf had a great chance at the start of the second half aswell,but the defender nicked in. Ryan didn't have his best game of the season. Also doc got injured. Cash worked hard when he came on,deserves a his chance imo over the next few games. I'd rather not talk about Morrison.

Richie winter is an incompetent **** and the linesman isn't much better. The lino made one disgraceful mistake in the second half for a throw in, thankfully winter overruled him.

All in all it's two points dropped, as most teams will beat them. Doesn't matter how many players/manager were sent off,we still didn't win the game. I suppose we were bound to get injuries this season considering we got so few last season. Still I think we are good nick if we get lads fit again and when suspensions are up.......

Bad Winters

Looks likes its goina to be a long hard Winters.

Wouldn't be overly disappointed with the result. I was afraid they might turn us over.
    Going to be tough for Cork. What was Morrisson sent off for does anyone know?

Dissent I think.

Agree with Sligoman & Roversfan
    The referee was a disgrace,
    for a game with little or no malice he had no control.
    we as a club have not complained about any officals this season or very litttle in the past.
    but this would have not have happened to a so called bigger club
    Even with 9 men we were still the better team
    very frustrating, considering we had 200 supporters at the game,
    many of which travelled for the guts of 4 hours on largely secondry roads.
    but the FAI never think of these things

The referee and one of the lines men were a disgrace, I was beside the manager when the linesman complained to the ref about Cook who had just asked a straight question. The referee did not favout either side and threw cards round like confetti. I have never seen a worse official and the Drogs supporters were of the same opinion, there was hardly a bad tackle in the game, could not see Ventre from where I was,,he did seem to go in hard in his particular style.
    We should flood the FAI Email with complaints, perhaps they might look into to it. Wonder was anyone watching the ref officially from the FAI. We will have difficulty in fielding a side next week as Doherty also went off early with an injury. Fighting performance under the circumstances but officials are killing the game here in Ireland.

Ref was their 12th man

At the start of the match a giant Drogheda flag with 12 written on it caught my eye. As the game evolved I realized it was supporting their 12th man: the ref. O'Grady was sorely missed. Very disappointing match.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post

I know he's a legend
    Danny Ventre, A Sligo Rovers Legend????

I hope you are joking!!!

i have to say the ref was shocking for drogheda too lots of grumbling about him after the game which shows how bad he was considering ye were the one with two players sent off and the manager too.when i seen paul cook standing just up at the club house after he was sent off i was hoping he was waiting to deck the ref after the game!!!!

Very frustrating night. Morrison deserved his red, you dont scream a refs for making a decision, bad or good. Couldnt see Ventre's 'lunge' so i wont comment. Winters, yet again, was shocking. If a player didnt win a 50/50, he was booked. You could tell after 15 minutes it would end 0-0.

Down to the bones on Friday, hopefully we'll see McTiernan starting and O'Grady back.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Dissent I think.
    I thought he stamped on the Drogheda centre back as he was going through underneath with his sliding tackle.

http://extratime.ie/fixtures/detail/11421/2/

Report up btw. Not me who wrote it.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast