Page 12 of 22 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast

Thread: Brian Kerr appointed Faroe Islands manager

60 Posts
    Really enjoyed the programme. It was a great insight into the man. I thought he was treated very badly by Delaney, and for a while Brian was fairly bitter about it. It certainly didn't suit him but in the programme he seemed to be a bit more relaxed about what happened. He has some very admirable qualities, one of which is he is a very good football coach. He deserves more respect in this country. I think what would be ideal for us would be to get him as our U21 coach, and make him the head of coaching in Ireland. However he probably deserves better.

On another note, why was this screened at the same time as a fairly important piece on Irish football. Hats off for making the Kerr programme but lads get your scheduling better, it would have increased viewing figures by 50% if they were shown at different times.
    Always look on the bright side of life

49 Posts
    ya i enjoyed it aswell. hes one of us and im glad to see hes not bitter about his time in the ireland job. treated poorly but hes moved on and fair play to him. a great result v lithuania for them, great to see how happy he was. hopefully this will lead to a bigger job but if not then hes had some great achievements in his career and we should be proud of what hes done.

Ya, interesting documentary, Kerr came across very well but he always was a gentleman and as has been said was treated very poorly by Delaney. Nice to see the true Dub come out in him too during the match snippets!!
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Great doc. For once - well done RTE. Kerr is a great guy and has a wicked sense of humour.
    Was surprised they never mentioned the Israel game.
    People going on about the Ireland job - but he did have two bites of the cherry.

But looking at the Faroe Isl players - maybe the Irish dressing room with the likes of Robbie and co never gave him a chance cause he was a LOI man. The faroes seemed like very mature and respectable people, willing to listen.

Good that Kerr is back in the game, and I think he has already done enough for another step up the ladder

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Great doc. For once - well done RTE. Kerr is a great guy and has a wicked sense of humour.
    Was surprised they never mentioned the Israel game.
    People going on about the Ireland job - but he did have two bites of the cherry.

But looking at the Faroe Isl players - maybe the Irish dressing room with the likes of Robbie and co never gave him a chance cause he was a LOI man. The faroes seemed like very mature and respectable people, willing to listen.

Good that Kerr is back in the game, and I think he has already done enough for another step up the ladder
    Very good program on the Faeroes. You can’t help but like the guy, great dedication and a wry sense of humour. I do think we did him a dis-service and looking back at the way Dunphy spoke of him, it was atrocious.

He should get an award for his lifetime service to the game.

By the WAY, you are WAY OFF re. Robbie Keane, they have a great mutual respect.

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    On another note, why was this screened at the same time as a fairly important piece on Irish football.
    The Documentary would have been scheduled months ago, Primetime is not. It was an unfortunate clash though.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post

He should get an award for his lifetime service to the game.

By the WAY, you are WAY OFF re. Robbie Keane, they have a great mutual respect.
    Yeah when you think that Don Givens is making such a mess of the under 21's and will never get the boot

About Robbie et al, ok maybe but I was thinking more along the lines of maturity and clear thinking.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    i caught the ending credits and taught it was father ted! looks like craggey island

They probbly need plenty of Double Glazing too!!!

Had I have known then that Stan was gonna be appointed, then yeah it was definately a mistake not to give him another tournament, but I remember thinking at the time that I couldn't see things improving under him at all.

Didn't see the doc. Gonna try catch it online..
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

65 Posts
    I dont see it on the rte player.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

60 Posts
    Regarding his relationship with players, I think the likes of Keane, Duff and other players who had coached as youths got on very well with Kerr. His problems was probably with the likes of Carr and a few other older guys who didn't like his intense attention to detail.

It sickens me when I reflect back on the things that a toss-pot like Dunphy said about Kerr. Kerr put so much into youth football in this country.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Re-affirmed my belief that he was treated very poorly by not only the FAI but also the media.
    Dunphy was on a crusade to get him out and even on Saturday's coverage of the French game he had said something dismissive when kerr tried to give his tuppence worth of how we should beat France.
    The irony of Brady saying "He's too negative Bill", was not lost on me either.

its great to hear him mention how proud he felt when he got the job, that he felt it was a great boost to grassroot coaches that they could work their way up the ladder to the best job in the land.

Im glad he didnt come across as bitter(as some of his newspaper articles did when he was first ousted) and seems happy again in life.
    Cracking place by the looks of it, although that was in August and i dread to think of how cold it would be in the Winter!!

Also great clip of the Pats League Championship up in the Dundalk in 96, i'll never forget running on to the pitch when Soupy Cambell curled it into the top corner, magic!!
    Just dissapointed that they didnt show the Greener's little jig at the end on the sideline....
    "if I close my eyes, its not illegal...."

Quote Originally Posted by Row Z View Post
    Re-affirmed my belief that he was treated very poorly by not only the FAI but also the media.
    Dunphy was on a crusade to get him out and even on Saturday's coverage of the French game he had said something dismissive when kerr tried to give his tuppence worth of how we should beat France.
    The irony of Brady saying "He's too negative Bill", was not lost on me either.

its great to hear him mention how proud he felt when he got the job, that he felt it was a great boost to grassroot coaches that they could work their way up the ladder to the best job in the land.

Im glad he didnt come across as bitter(as some of his newspaper articles did when he was first ousted) and seems happy again in life.
    Cracking place by the looks of it, although that was in August and i dread to think of how cold it would be in the Winter!!

Also great clip of the Pats League Championship up in the Dundalk in 96, i'll never forget running on to the pitch when Soupy Cambell curled it into the top corner, magic!!
    Just dissapointed that they didnt show the Greener's little jig at the end on the sideline....
    Yes, it was quite comical to look back and hear Brady say how defensive minded Kerr was, knowing what we know now!

And, unlike Brady, I don’t think Kerr would leave Andy Reid out of the squad to teach him to be respectful to him!

335 Posts
    See the Faroes Under 21 team won away to Latvia - doesn't Kerr have some involvement with them too?
    More that our bloody under21s could do!!!

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Faroe Islands were the biggest movers though, rising 67 places to 117th after a 2-1 over Lithuania in September. It was the country's first victory in World Cup qualifying for eight years.

87 Posts
    [QUOTE=drummerboy;1275857]Regarding his relationship with players, I think the likes of Keane, Duff and other players who had coached as youths got on very well with Kerr. His problems was probably with the likes of Carr and a few other older guys who didn't like his intense attention to detail.

It sickens me when I reflect back on the things that a toss-pot like Dunphy said about Kerr. Kerr put so much into youth football in this country.[/QUOTE]

Drummerboy, what did Dunphy say about Kerr? I forget
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Deckydee View Post
    Presumably the same thing there or therabouts concerning every Irish manager from Eoin Hand onwards. That's what he makes his living at. Attacking every Irish manager.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

544 Posts
    [QUOTE=Deckydee;1294937]
    Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    Regarding his relationship with players, I think the likes of Keane, Duff and other players who had coached as youths got on very well with Kerr. His problems was probably with the likes of Carr and a few other older guys who didn't like his intense attention to detail.

It sickens me when I reflect back on the things that a toss-pot like Dunphy said about Kerr. Kerr put so much into youth football in this country.[/QUOTE]

i remember after Kerrs first match (scot 0-2) dunphy was saying that you could see kerrs influence already and we were much better organised during that game than we were under mick. think it was more a way of getting another dig in at mick rather than genuine praise of kerr

130 Posts
    [QUOTE=jbyrne;1295089]
    Quote Originally Posted by Deckydee View Post

i remember after Kerrs first match (scot 0-2) dunphy was saying that you could see kerrs influence already and we were much better organised during that game than we were under mick. think it was more a way of getting another dig in at mick rather than genuine praise of kerr
    He said pretty much the same thing about Trap after our first few games, a great man to change his mind!

he always does it. jumps on as htough he recommended them personally and then goes against them when its time to boost the ratings again.

[QUOTE=elroy;1296326]
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post

a great man to change his mind!
    i remember reading an article in the Indo not long after Trap's appointment. it might have been Dion Fanning, but not sure.

it was quoting Dunphy and all the lavish praise that he had heaped on Trappatoni, and made the point that any self respecting journalist would have to stick by Trappatoni no matter what after what Dunphy had come out with.

But he concluded by saying, if history had proven anything, it's that Dunphy will be more than willing to turn face completely if it suits him, and would be the first one calling for Trap's head at the first sign of trouble....

whoever wrote the article, a big "I ****ing told you so" shout out sir, good call.

Page 12 of 22 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast