Thread: Sligo Rovers 1 Dundalk FC 3

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    How is that a bad thing? He was one of our best players.

And Almeida is nowhere near full fitness IMO.

Your missing the point of what i'm saying. I meant we would have a had a better chance of scoring earlier if Boco was up front, he was a handful for defenders going forward.
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by red arrow View Post
    we are all very dissapointed at the moment. we are performing poorly but we the supporters must keep supporting the club as best we can. we all know that a win on tue eve could turn the tide in our favour. after last nights game i tried to see some positives.for me the return of ALMEIDA can be a big plus. look at last nights game the 1st goal was poor defending (although i thought brush was impeded). the second goal came from a very good delivery but nobody chalenged liam burns and the 3th goal as far as i can remenber was loss of posession and in their half and ALMEIDA was struggling to get back because he had turned on his ankle(however he seemed to recover towards the end of the game). we had chances , we missed a penalty
    at no time were DUNDALK a better team by 3 goals.our problem at the moment is low on confidence and belief also i think that maybe some of the players lose heart to quickly. this is where paul& gerry need to instil a belief in the players that they are good enough but also should be proud to play for the rovers and want to play.i also feel that we are a bit weak on the physical side but if we can play football (as we did last season) then we can overcome this.probably a lot of people won't agree with me on this one but i thouht we missed VENTRE last night as that type of a physical presence would have suited his game.thats my analysis for what its worth, nobody is more dissapointed than me but i will keep slogging along. we have good people in place at the club. it will turn around . we must keep on their side
    as i said tuesday night is of huge importance
    I agree with most of this. Some serious shift seems to have taken place in that the attitude of the players seems to have changed from last season. That's a serious defeat against a very average side. The confidence is gone and the heads drop as soon as we're in trouble. You hit the point there regarding players needing to be proud to play and wanting to play. This needs to be instilled in the team and the responsibility lies with Paul Cook and Gerry Carr. Of all the teams I've watched this year we seem to be the ones most lacking in this respect, although I haven't seen Drogheda yet. In a league where there is an obvious lack of great talent, qualities such as working hard, team spirit and a never say die attitude count for so much. It's hard to understand how these aspects of our performances have disappeared so quickly.

Quote Originally Posted by Black and White View Post
    I wouldnt have a CHEAT like that in any team!
    Darren Mansaram

Delighted Mauro put him in his place second half. Never saw a more dis-honest player in the LoI.

I would love to say we were beaten by the better team, but we were'nt. Dundalk were muck, but the worrying thing is, they'll get better. O Callagahan wasn't interested, their tactics were very similar to Connors' when he was at the Showgies, hoof the ball to the big man!
    As for Rovers, things just aren't going right are they IMO its the belief the players have in themselves that's affecting them. We just need ONE win to get things going. Shouting and screaming abuse at players is ridiculous, no need for it at all. Can't see a big crowd for Tuesday night...but hey, we'll have the craic.
    Last edited by Rovers1; 05/04/2009 at 3:30 PM.

bring back foy

Glad to have Mauro back disappointing that we lost the way so badly after playing so well , Three bad goals to concede really from a defensive point of view. Not sure it was a free for their 2nd goal . For all the abuse he received I thought Mansaram played very well for them and we could have done with someone like him on the night , Hopefully we can pick ourselves up now for the game against Bray on Tuesday

i think anyone that says we were the better team in last nights match is deluding themselves.
    Hate to say it but mansaram is the player rovers are missing.
    big improvement needed against bray

We were awful last night and in every game this season,
    Flashes of adequacy against a poor galway side does not a good team make.
    I honestly don't remember the last time i was this depressed after 5 games
    but id imagine Tommy Cassidy was in situ and the new stand was still a building site.
    Europe and the Setanta offer the hope of a silver lining but unless the
    attitude of the players improves its going to be a long season on church hill.

Everyone at the club took a gamble this season by staying full time and this was based on the revenue we hoped to attract from crowds.
    However, the sligo public rarely embraces a struggling rovers side, and has never had time for one that appears to lack heart.

Given that the two solitary headings under "income" on the rovers balance sheet are 'gate receipts' and 'begging bowl initiatives',
    I really hope Paul Cook can pull this out of the bag.

If not, the writing would appear to be on the wall for both him and the people who took a chance on him.

we need to beat bray
    Rocking and rolling on the dole

That was one of the worst performances i have ever seen, yes cook is overated as a manager. Just look at his singings they are a waste of good money each week. Add to those cash and doherty, ask where are we going
    It will be a big test to see if the manager can lift them for the Bray game.
    If not the writing will be on the wall,and we can blame whoever allowed cook
    back to the club after he took the short break.

151 Posts
    Oh, Jaysus, lads, I'm finding it very hard to keep my mouth shut but I said, as the manager asked, that I'd say no more until his nine games are up.

Quote Originally Posted by lifelong rover View Post
    That was one of the worst performances i have ever seen, yes cook is overated as a manager. Just look at his singings they are a waste of good money each week. Add to those cash and doherty, ask where are we going
    Owen Morrison,
    Mauro Almeida,
    Chris Butler,
    Rommy.
    Richie Ryan.
    All top class players who aren't a waste of money.

EDIT: My report is up btw on extratime. Make of it what you like.
    Last edited by SligoBrewer; 05/04/2009 at 9:17 PM.

If you think these players are producing the goods and delivering for the wages they are getting ,i just think that they are not producing.
    ryan is the only one doing it at the moment.

morrison penalty looked quality .

Quote Originally Posted by celticV3 View Post
    What the f**k were you sniffing? Raf is one of the most honest players in the game. That happened right in front of us and O callaghan ran his studs down Raf's leg. What part of that was cheating?

You seem to be a little confused there as the incident I was looking at happened just inside the Sligo Rovers half in the MIDDLE of the pitch, not right in front of ye. And I would like to point out that I dont sniff anything nor smoke nor do anything dodgy so I was well awake for the game and all its incidents!

I was sitting in the stand close to Sean Connor at the match and if there was any doubt about the mentality of the guy, he showed his true colours on the night. There were one or two Rovers supporters who shouted a bit of abuse in his direction in the second half on one or two occasions (to be fair, one in particular was a bit OTT, but when you are opposition at an away ground this is not uncommon). Connor became quite pathetic. He started shouting obscenities back and when Dundalk scored their third he acted like a child in the school yard gesturing in our direction and clapping wildly. Worse was to come when we missed the penalty .... he turned to our side of the stand as if he had scored the winner in a world cup final. What a gobs**te. Even the more muted supporters told the guy to get a grip and cop on. If the guy had any class or an ounce of sense he should grow up. He then continued with animated clapping and hand signals when the teams were walking off. What an assh*le and Dundalk will come to learn that in time too
    As far as the game goes, I am afraid it appears we are going to struggle this year. Yes, they were lucky with their goals and are not a great team. I had a very good view of the incident and it should not have been a free kick for their 2nd. Basically we are short up front, and with a wafer thin squad the reshuffle that we experienced on Saturday night will be something we will likely see time and time again in the coming months.
    Last edited by gustavo; 06/04/2009 at 12:11 PM.

21 Posts
    What a tosser Connor is. They should of thrown him out for yobbish behaviour.

the team lost their committment when paul came back it seems they lost all respect and he cant get them to play like they can
    i dont blame paul for leaving his only mistake is when he came back the players
    werent going to play for him after that

Very bad on saterday night. I'm praying for a win against Bray. We had too many poor players in the team on saterday. I can't wait until Butler is back.
    Can't help but think Toolin was smart to get out when he did.

Quote Originally Posted by lifelong rover View Post
    If you think these players are producing the goods and delivering for the wages they are getting ,i just think that they are not producing.
    Too right.

Quote Originally Posted by sligored View Post
    Hate to say it but mansaram is the player rovers are missing.
    Agreed. I absolutely despise him but he was fantastic on saturday,a real handful.

We have conceded first in four out of five games,not a good statistic. Like the pats game,we were decent until they scored but the goal took the wind out of our sails. I'm afraid not enough players stood up to the task when we went behind. Morrison is a quality player but needs to do more. Raf did well to get the goal and the peno and rommy was good at rb too imo.Make or break time against bray.....