Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: New Faces for RTE Panel?

Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    Dunphy has become more outlandish lately. Starting to think the guy is bi-polar. Souness is certainly decent. Kenny Cunningham is also very knowledgable, articulate and has played a hell of a lot more international football than Dunphy.
    Agreed. However, I think the only thing holding Kenny back from being promoted to the 'A' panel is that he doesn't really have any kind of 'forceful' personality, however adept he is at analysing the game.

630 Posts
    Dunphy is on the panel to play the "Fool" for entertainment value

He is an excellent fool

His genius is how much he gets paid for being the "fool" of the Irish media !

They (Bill, Eamon, Johnny) are a national treasure and when they are gone we will hark fondly after them.

The stuff with comparing the other nights goal to the one against X (still not sure was it Holland or Germany ...but sure nor are they) and subseqent confusion not only over the opposition but the tournament in which it was scored was side splitting. I was waiting for a nurse to wonder across the set carrying those tiny styrofoam cups with the lads meds.

Graeme Souness is the only relatively recent addition that has come up to the bar (no pun). It's priceless when he makes a fair and reasonable point about, for example, the quality and depth of our player pool, gets savaged for it and through it all wears an exasperated expression that seems to say "I get it ...I'm not allowed criticise yeer players coz I'm Scottish and used play for Rangers ...fine -yeer screwed g'night".

" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

I seen kenny cunningham doing an interview outside jurys about an hour after the bulgarian game, not sure what channel it was for.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    Giles is the most ill-informed pundit I've ever seen. He knows much about the theory of the game but next to nothing on individuals, teams or anything specific related to anything. Awful pundit.

Dunphy isnt as bad but he is quite inaccurate. Still, he's entertaining for being controversial.
    Giles isn't as bad as Dunphy in terms of information on individuals, teams, or "anything specific related to anything"???
    Would "anything" include "the theory of the game"
    What does that even mean?

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    To be honest I like the separate spheres of pure entertainment (RTE Panel cracks me up every time), and the more analytical stuff we talk about on here.

We should get our own e-panel going on here.

I'll host, and eirebhoy, tets, and stutts can make up the panel.

Maybe we'll bring in Ciaran to play the Dunphy role.
    Shouldn't be too hard to set up. I think Skype has the facility for conference calls, just need to record the audio and podcast it out.

Jesus no. please stop this madness now.
    In Trap we trust

Dunphy is on for the controversy and entertainment but he needs someone to keep him in check. That used to be Gilesy and Chippy but I think Gilesy doesn't confront him as much since their tiff over Saipan. Whelan is too passive so the panel needs someone like Chippy or Souness otherwise Dunphy runs the show.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    I am afraid it's no different to what the Panel has been doing over the past 20 years. They haven't entertained me with their vicious and personal attacks on the last 5 Irish managers but the fact that people are still talking about them, means the show will go on.

Typical Panel discussion over the past 20 Years

O'Herlihy introduces the discussion with some over the top statement, Dunphy makes a few over the top personal attacks, Bill laughs, Giles pulls on the side of his jacket and agrees with Dunphy and says it's all about getting the ball down and passing, the gombeen in the middle (other than Souness) agrees with the other two, DUnphy then contradicts himself, Bill laughs, Giles pulls on the side of his jacket and repeats it's all about getting the ball down and passing, Dunphy agrees with Giles and makes another outrageous statement, Bill laughs, the gombeen in the middle agrees with Giles, one clip of 10 seconds (from hours of football) is shown to emphasise their point, Dunphy then makes a joke, Bill laughs, Giles pulls on the side of his jacket, says he doesn't want to repeat himself but that it's all about getting the ball down and passing, DUnphy agrees with Giles, Bill laughs, has a dig at Charlton and says it's time for a break.

The match then goes totally to what they predicted and Dunphy says it's because the opposition are the worst on the planet, Bill laughs etc etc
    Spot on OwlsFan - I was falling off my chair laughing as I read this - but maybe I need to get out a bit more!
    Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder

Giles said Folan's flick for Keane's goal was the only thing he did of note in the game which is rubbish.

He's worse, I'm yet to meet a pundit as bad on information as Giles. Maybe he's ok for Irish games and acceptable for Premiership games but jesus christ my mother knows more about the game outside these islands than that man does.

I remember for the last world cup, Germany are my supported team and were in the opener against Costa Rica. I had followed them through the confederations cup, the warmup friendlies and individuals seasons in the bundesliga. I loved Klinsmanns new approach compared to what voller was having them play previously and their attacking, quick flowing setup had me really excited for what they could bring to the big stage.

Then in the opener what does Giles say? A bunch of 2+ year old cliches about Germany being a defensive team, being boring, they'll sit back, they won't win anything, "worst german team ever" apparently too. Incredibly frustrating to listen to his lack of rehearsed nonsense time after time. I don't mind a pundit with ridiculous views so long as they can justify them, Dunphy is outrageous but at least some of the time he knows his fact, he's not interpreting them very well but he still knows them. Giles knows squat, he's a lazy pundit who does no research and never has anything of interest to say. He just sits there repeating the same babble over and over. The guys drivel just ****es me off.
    +1

Really annoyed me at the world cup with those comments.

He's worse, I'm yet to meet a pundit as bad on information as Giles. Maybe he's ok for Irish games and acceptable for Premiership games but jesus christ my mother knows more about the game outside these islands than that man does.

I remember for the last world cup, Germany are my supported team and were in the opener against Costa Rica. I had followed them through the confederations cup, the warmup friendlies and individuals seasons in the bundesliga. I loved Klinsmanns new approach compared to what voller was having them play previously and their attacking, quick flowing setup had me really excited for what they could bring to the big stage.

Then in the opener what does Giles say? A bunch of 2+ year old cliches about Germany being a defensive team, being boring, they'll sit back, they won't win anything, "worst german team ever" apparently too. Incredibly frustrating to listen to his lack of rehearsed nonsense time after time. I don't mind a pundit with ridiculous views so long as they can justify them, Dunphy is outrageous but at least some of the time he knows his fact, he's not interpreting them very well but he still knows them. Giles knows squat, he's a lazy pundit who does no research and never has anything of interest to say. He just sits there repeating the same babble over and over. The guys drivel just ****es me off.
    Spot on. I'd have Dunphy over Giles any day of the week.

Andy Reid is as Good as Bobby Charlton or maybe Zidane! Fact! well that was the impression Dunphy was trying to make on saturday night... the rest is predictable blah blah from Dunphy, but I found it galling that neither Bill, Johnny and Graeme had the balls to tell him he was talking rubbish!! Johnny was never able to stand up to him and one could sense that Souness knew he was talking crap but held back for whatever reason,, perhap Eamon was picking up the tab in La Stampa later that evening....
    I for one am bored and insulted by RTE's continued employment of a Pundit who fails to give rational and objective post match commentry. This bony little mans agenda is obvious, play the maverick crusading pundit at war with a bigger name in football, Charlton from History and now Trapp...it a campaign of self interest that is so glaringly obvious, I cannot recall such vitriolic treatment being dished out to lesser experienced and proven individuals such as Staunton and Kerr whose mistakes were many and worthy of stong critcism.
    I sometimes don't agree with some of Trappetoni's tactics and I think Andy Reid should be in the squad ahead of Liam Miller but on the whole I think he has done a brillant Job and at the start of the campaign I would have taken the play off spot and given you change back, the performance on saturday was gutsy and very enjoyable, flawed for our lack of possession in midfield but this is all relative when you consider the mastery of midfield control demostrated by the superb Pirlo a player of considerable more advance technique than the industrious Whelan and Andrews.. the revelations of Dunphy sizable pay packet just adds further insult to injury from an organisation like RTE whose patronage from the state is demostrated adequately is there inability to pay staff at acceptable levels....Lazy!!!

49 Posts
    what about joe kinnear ?

630 Posts
    We certainly could do with some youth on the panel.

Mind you that would make Bill look Ancient.

Bill is still good even if he is ancient though

2,796 Posts
    One particularly galling thing is his lack of research. I'd expect the rugby panelists are all pretty well versed on the players in the B and underage squads, and even further down the order.

Even The Times in the UK gave a paragraph in the match report to dunphy, saying you'd swear we had just drawn 2-2 with Cape Verde or someone like that.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Even The Times in the UK gave a paragraph in the match report to dunphy, saying you'd swear we had just drawn 2-2 with Cape Verde or someone like that.
    It's online here: http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/spo...cle6870164.ece
    Condemnation, too, for Eamon Dunphy, the former Ireland midfield player turned acerbic media pundit. A professional curmudgeon, he chose to find little of merit in Ireland’s display, instead concentrating on the minor deficiencies. It was as if Ireland had drawn 2-2 with the Cape Verde Islands. It was predictable twaddle

131 Posts
    Lads less of the slagging of Dunphy. According to the man himself he was simply stating what any 'real' Irish football fan felt at that moment. Yes those 'real' fans from the 70s who long for a return to those wonderous days before all the jump on the bandwagon, leprechaun hat wearing Jack Charlton era fans hijacked the game in this country. Yes those 'real' fans who used to watch a team with the man himself in it that had the skill and talent to play 'real' football modelled on the Dutch in 74 and the Brazilians in 70 and not that hoofball so commonly employed today. Who cares if we were whipping boys who never achieved anything sure we had Dunphy the Irish Cryuff of his day partnering Giles in a team that dazzled many an opposition player with their skills. Apparently restoring Andy Reid to the team will have the added effect of ripping a hole in the space-time continuum (something to do with Andy's black holeish weight factor disrupting the delicate balance between gravity and time) and transporting us back to those great days.
    Last edited by youngirish; 12/10/2009 at 2:22 PM.

131 Posts
    While we're on the subject of new faces for the RTE panel I'd like to see Kelly Brook in there giving her views on the game.

634 Posts
    An obvious one perhaps, but aren't there enough big t*ts in RTE at the moment without her joining?
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast