Thread: Why Derry were so sh ite yesterday

Why Derry were so sh ite yesterday

From icDerry. It seems the poor players were suffering from culture shock. The dressing rooms weren't as nice as they are used to and the 'other facilities'? As far as I know football is played on a football pitch - and the Pike pitch (while maybe a bit soft due to recent rain and the hoof marks of Kildare at the weekend) is top class.

The poor dears. They are in for some land when they get relegated. And as for travelling - well, at leat next season they'll have one local derby with Harps. And Dykes did his homework. A seven match unbeaten run. Try a 13 match run Gavin.

Hargan Suspended for First Leg Dec 2 2003

Arthur Duffy Reports

HOT ON the heels of last weekend's energy-sapping trip to the Regional Sports Complex in Waterford, Derry City are on their travels again this afternoon when they depart for Limerick and the first leg of this season's promotion-relegation play-off semi-final.

But the Brandywell squad will field without their influential leftsided player, Sean Hargan, who has incurred the wrath of the eircom League Disciplinary Committee and will be suspended for tomorrow afternoon's first leg game. (Kick-off: 2.00 p.m.)

Derry, no doubt, will be brought down to earth when experiencing the Limerick facilities, which are governed by junior side, Pike Rovers F.C. and the absence of floodlights has forced the game to be played during the early afternoon.

However, team boss, Gavin Dykes is well aware of what lies in store having played there with his former club, Kildare County.

"It will come as a culture shock to some of the players," he joked last night. "It's a massive pitch but the dressing rooms and other facilities are very poor," he added.

"I've no doubt they will be well supported, but we'll be travelling there to win the match and that will be our priority."

Concerned that his players will have clocked up in the region of 1,000 miles over the past five days, Dykes said the travelling would take its toll but he is not concerned over the fitness of his playing staff.

"We still have a number of players carrying injuries but the fact that we're playing in the playoffs has lifted the team. I've no doubt whatsoever that U.C.D. would be delighted to be planning a trip to Limerick on Wednesday, therefore, we will have no complaints."

Boosting Derry's hopes of a victory and, possibly, a first leg advantage away from home, is the fact that Dykes had at least recorded a winning run.

"We've taken seven points from a possible nine and, to be honest, we were very unlucky in the 1-1 result against Shamrock Rovers at the Brandywell," continued the Derry boss.

"Yes, we're back believing in ourselves and I'm very happy with our recent run of form. We're playing well, working very hard and, thankfully, we've started to get the results we deserved."

Peter Hutton, who had an excellent game when marking Waterford danger man, Neale Fenn during Sunday's 1-0 victory, continues to receive intensive treatment on his ankle injury.

"Pizza has been brilliant. He was one of our most prominent players against Waterford and his commitment to Derry City is unquestioned. But he's still playing through the pain barrier and always is a concern.

"That said, Eamon Doherty continues to carry a knock and the same applies to Gary Beckett, but we're getting the very best out of what we have available," declared Dykes.

And the Derry boss was fully aware of the dangers of tomorrow's opponents who are managed by former Cork City and Limerick defender, Michael Kerley.

"In O'Flynn and McCarthy, Limerick have two decent front men and we'll have to be our guard.

"I know all about them but I've continued to do my homework and Limerick are the form side in the First Division, having gone on a sevenmatch unbeaten run to qualify for the play-offs.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Yup youre right kid.The pitch is class!!!!!....Dont be a f#cking muppet,its sh!te!!!.You just think its class coz youve been in the 1st so long ya dose....plus youll be staying there,so youll continue to be disillusioned about the quality of that "field".

Never have I seen such a bunch of whingers....Going down with the students!!!!!

And F**K off back to northern Ireland cause you will never be from Ireland !!!!!!

Up the Blues!!!

good one john...good one!!

EVERYTHING TO GAIN NOTTING TO LOSE

I THINK DIV 1 WOULD SUIT YER STILE OF FOOTBALL ANYWAY LONG BALL LONG BALL

Thumbs down

''And F**K off back to northern Ireland cause you will never be from Ireland !!!!!! ''

Is that the way Limerick supporters think. I cannot believe any person who calls himself Irish would ever emit a comment like that .

I think an apology is in order at the very least,

Take it down from the mast JohnD you are well out of order.
    You're ruining a grand game

Thumbs down

You obviously have not read the comments made earlier on this thread by our fellow countymen!!.

The same fellows that have players that abused the crowd on wed with the "Stab City" attack again..I'll stand by my comments..A bunch of Whingers!!!

BTW Ironic comments should not have to be explained..

Maybe an explanation of Irony should be explained to you.....

And I for one stated that the Hospitality in Limerick was great, everyone I met was friendly, I was just miffed at the Ground....
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

Ye were looked after brilliantly by The Club yet still keep moaning about Limerick and how it's a frightening place to visit..quote your manager..How do expect people to react. No other team and their supporters have slagged off Limerick as much all saeson so take a bit of slagging back now will ya...oh and also a defeat to morrow night...Down with the Students!!!!!

"It will come as a culture shock to some of the players," he joked last night. "It's a massive pitch but the dressing rooms and other facilities are very poor," he added.

That is not slagging Limerick that is commenting on facilities that even you can't say you like. Nobody can deny the friendliness of Limerick people!

No other team and their supporters have slagged off Limerick as much all saeson so take a bit of slagging back now will ya

No other Premier Team has played at Pike Rovers ground this Season have they???

Slag away....................
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

I think Sodacake is over-reacting a bit to be honest and as this isn't a political forum I think this line of conversation should be closed to be honest.

Derry = Brits
    Limerick = Stab City
    Cork = l@ngers
    Dubs = Junkies
    Cobh = Queenstown. Queerstown, Sheeplovers etc...

See a trend developing? it's part and parcel of football and should be treated as such.

Originally posted by sadloserkid
    I think Sodacake is over-reacting a bit to be honest and as this isn't a political forum I think this line of conversation should be closed to be honest.

Derry = Brits
    Limerick = Stab City
    Cork = l@ngers
    Dubs = Junkies
    Cobh = Queenstown. Queerstown, Sheeplovers etc...

See a trend developing? it's part and parcel of football and should be treated as such.
    Like the handle, your a pretty bad loser, especially the crack at all the other teams.

Stand up and take it like a man, like the team. I couldn't see Derry beating LFC when the draw was made, but football is a funny old game.

Originally posted by Rams-fan
    Like the handle, your a pretty bad loser, especially the crack at all the other teams.

Stand up and take it like a man, like the team. I couldn't see Derry beating LFC when the draw was made, but football is a funny old game.
    Clearly I should have added moron to the Cobh list there... My point was that all teams get slagged about something and nobody should get particularly upset about it, be it 'Stab City' or 'Dublin Junkies' or whatever. I've already congratulated Derry and wished them luck so your point about being a sore loser is about as realistic as Cobh's promotion hopes next season... Kindly read posts properly before throwing tantrum next time ok?
    Honestly, doesn't anybody give these people an education?

John D: Your comments were a disgrace!!!! Please take heed of that lovely Manchester man and retract all anti-Brit statements!!!!

The comments that JohnD made were not anti British they were offensive to people who quite correctly consider themselves to be Irish. A position that is shared very widely amongst most Irish people. I believe it is a shameful thing for a representative of Limerick supporters club to be associated with a remark of that nature it is a very poor interpretation of centuries of Irish history.

As for me being a Manchester man that comment is beneath me to even remark upon, except to say the contempt you show to show to millions of Irish men and women around the world and their families in Ireland is saddening.

I take from your remarks that you want us all to forget about Ireland as soon as we hop on the plane, well hows this, we didn't in the past and we won't in the future

I suppose this forum is for soccer matters only and should be kept so, but I for one felt that the comment was wrong but obviously the rest of the forum feel the same way as their silence suggests.

Don't think what you said has upset me, I'm just a bit surprised and saddened by your comments.
    You're ruining a grand game

I don't particularly want to have to lock this thread but if this keeps up I suppose I'll have no choice. I would like to clarify a few things however.

1. I personally consider the citizens of Derry to be predominantly Irish (those who consider themselves British are effectively British and that's their call). That's my opinion on the matter and one I stand behind. However I had no hesitation in slagging off the Derry players at the match. It's part of football and I pass no apology for it. Similar to the 'Stab City' jibes we get everywhere we go. Water off a ducks back to be honest, especially given the amount of rapes in Cork and drugs in Dublin and Galway!

2. JohnD's opinions and viewpoints on the whole Northern situation are his own and I doubt that the throwaway comment picked up on above is wholly indicative of them anyway. Regardless of this, JohnD's position on the North of Ireland is irrelevant as far as his chairing the Limerick FC supporters club ges. If JohnD wants to join the Orange Order, wear a bowler cap and march from dawn to dusk that's up to him and while I wouldn't agree with him I'm really in no position to dismiss his opinion. A complete lack of tolerance on both sides has contributed to the shambolic situation in the North of this country.

3. Regardless of what Republicans may think Nothern Ireland exists. It saddens me that it does but the greater world at large recognises that Northern Ireland is currently part of the United Kingdom. Deal with it. Try and dismantle it even. Don't ignore it.

I respect that Sodacake obviously feels very strongly on the matter and think that Deise's short addition only aggravated the situation too. For now though if anybody want to talk about the North of Ireland either start a new thread in the Off-Topic Forum (I may even join in) or else please use the PM system.

Thanks buachailli agus cailini!
    slk

Lads im loving this topic. Finally my comments to every ref in the country are being backed up by my fellow countrymen and against my fellow countrymen as well which makes it more incestuous! Keep it coming, if this is the off season then then hope the new one never starts. Great post SLK, its been awhile! oh and to finish off slk will get this....SLK YOUR ONLY A ******, A TOSSER, A SCUMBAG WITH LONG HAIR

Hi:

As for the comments being shameful, they were not. They were meant in the spirit of all Football slagging along the lines of what SLK has written about. Sodacake you have no knowledge of me or my politics. At every match you go to you will hear songs/chants about the opposion ie..Manchester munich air disater, We call all Dublin teams Junkies etc..This is all part and parcel of the game.

You obviouly feel strongly about Northen Ireland but then Some British people living there do as well. Borders mean nothing these days ..European Constitiution etc.the only borders are in your mind.Why do people get so hung about Countries , Borders etc..Live your life...Slag opposing football fans..and enjoy ther lot

Yours in Football from Stab City

JohnD

Lads...this is all getting a little OTT and personal.....please continue!!

beats working anyway !!!