Waterford
Rovers
Drogs
D. City
Bray to win league
Harps lose to drogs in playoff
City to win FAI cup
Longford to win League cup
Rovers, Bohs, Pats and Shels all have a far greater identity than Dublin City ever will. They have tradition and they are proper football clubs. Dub City are nothing but a franchise who are trying to cash in on this whole idea of a "Dublin identity".Originally posted by Ringo
None of the other Dublin Clubs have a Dublin identity. There fan bases are dropping & in some cases their run by committees who can’t make a decision to save there lives.
I might not like Rovers, Bohs, Pats and Shels but I'd much rather see them in the el than Dublin City.
Champions!
Bohs
City
Longford
Shels
Pat's
Waterford
Rovers
Drogs
D. City
Bray to win league
Harps lose to drogs in playoff
City to win FAI cup
Longford to win League cup
Originally posted by Colm
Rovers, Bohs, Pats and Shels all have a far greater identity than Dublin City ever will. They have tradition and they are proper football clubs.
identity to who? other eircom league clubs? we're playing in the premier division, i think that makes us a "proper football Club"
Premier -
Bohs
Shels
Cork
Longford
St. Pats
Derry
Drogs
Rovers
Dublin City
Division 1 -
U.C.D
Harps
Bray
Limerick
Galway
Sligo
Kildare
Dundalk
Athlone
Monaghan
Kilkenny
FAI Cup -
Shels
League Cup -
Cork
Play Off Winner -
Rovers
Lads,
lets not get caught up in a slagging match, Dublin City are a football club playing in the top division of Irish Soccer, we have managed to get promoted to this level, (albeit with an element of luck, according to some people), but all that matters is that we are here by virtue of our efforts over the past twelve months.
I feel there is a bit of overkill here, while friendly rivalry is healthy, this sort of c**p isn't. I have been involved professionally with a number of GAA Clubs, County Boards and eircom League clubs, and I feel that the set up in Dublin City is the most professional that I have come across in every single department, from the tea lady to the programme sellers.
Everyone knows their place, and does exactly what they have to do, no confusion, no mishaps, no mistakes. It is this philosophy which has taken Dublin City to where they are now, forget the past, in the last twelve months, Dublin City have been the most forward moving club.
Brand new sponsor, one who is involved in the club, in everything the club does, and is a genuine supporter, not just a big cheque.
New Management and players that have been a credit to themselves, each other and the club as a unit.
Staff who gave everything in the improvement of Dublin City. (Rocky and Breda)
Think its time, you all laid off the club, and give us a fighting chance, we're not asking for any favours, just to be given the chance to prove ourselves.
Have to agree lad, although it killed me to see another 'Dublin' club promoted you got there by merit and if you can succeed in attracting supporters and bring something positive to this league then fair play.
I do admit that I was happy to see UCD go down (Sorry lads)
Breifne while well run clubs are healthy, Dublin overkill isn't.
No favours ? What about the way the club was ''elected'' to the league ?
I'm just sorry Seery, who's done a good job didn't get involved with say Mullingar Town or even Drogheda where he could have made a real difference to Irish football.
Also Ringo I'd suggest a bigger problem than fragmentation is the fact that half the population aren't availiable as supporters of the Dublin clubs because they're culchies and actively cheer against Dublin ? Playing in the Dubs colours is hardly going to solve that.
Another problem is that the clubs are all too close together, I could have some respect for CHF if they were trying to address this but all they've done is move up and down the Airport Road. At one stage they were tenants of Fingal Co Co having just dropped Fingal from their name, and ''adopted'' the City crest with the three castles.
EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny
I'm not entirely sure of the circumstances surrounding this decision, so please correct me if I'm wrong, but the way people focus on DCFC's election to the league has always baffled me. Whom, exactly, where they denying a place in the First Division? It's not as if there's a huge queue of Junior or Intermediate clubs demanding access to the leage. None of those that are able are willing, and none of those that are willing are able. When St. Francis dropped out of the league, it took a whole season to find a replacement, and even then Newbridge weren't willing to commit themselves fully.Originally posted by TommyT
Breifne while well run clubs are healthy, Dublin overkill isn't.
No favours ? What about the way the club was ''elected'' to the league ?
Well Mullingar wanted in too, and maybe Tralee, and TEK United applied before also any one of them would have been better than a team covering the same ground as Shels and Bohs.
EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny