Match poster.
Big game this week, after a good enough performance on Friday it's time to kick on and pick up our first win. Dundalk have some good players but like ourselves haven't started well and are managed by a clown, we all know that. With Boco and Raf back I think we can do well here, it won't be easy but hopefully we can win. Prediction: 2-1.
Huge game indeed. We have reached the four game mark with only two points. The question now is: What do we want from this season as a club? Lose the next two and it sets the tone for the team for the season: "We gave it a shot, it didn't work out. Lets accept a relegation battle is on the cards and limit our ambitions to survival."
Win them, and we're up there where we should be, challenging for a top three place.
Huge character is required to avoid the former scenario. This applies to everyone involved: Fans, management and players.
The fact that there are 2 less teams in the league means we'll have to run just to stand still in the league this year. 7 victories out of 9 games against the bottom 3 last year, I don't think we'll get that this year.
What's our defence going to look like for this game?
Says in the weekender that almeida might be back is there any truth to this?
mauro won,t be back for another week
I've been wrong with every prediction so far, but what the hell!! I'll go for a 1-1 draw, much like our own performances a lot depends on what Dundalk team shows up and don't forget to wave to Seanie in the stand!!![]()
The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
Muhammad Ali
Roy Keane is still a pri*k!
Lads Im guna head over for th match, can any of ye advise wheres the best palce to go for a bit of pre match banter/drinks etc?
Oh and by the way, Joe Miller will be managing the team, Sean will be sitting amongst ye in the stands and we will be playing with virtually 10 men anyways as Georgie doesnt "play away" from home!
As regards points won against the bottom three last season everyone that stayed up from last season is in the same boat as Rovers so it is a red herring really.
Given we play each team four times this season so such logic about points won playing the three relegated teams from last season doesn’t stack up.
We are better than Galway and should get our fair share of points from Dundalk and Drogheda, remember Shams are part time also and even with a poor showing from us didn’t look great, Cork have a lot of changes, we will pick up points against Bray, etc. the only teams I would be wary of not having much joy against this season are Bohs, Pats and Derry all of whom we never do great against anyway – certainly not away from home.
Only 4 games in - let’s be patient.
Ah you will be able to tell them a mile of anyways if ye wana bar them, they're the ones wearing peaked hats and have white socks with their tracjsuit bottoms stuck intot them and the stupid huge runners! also they will be pi!!ed ariving in Sligo probably after half time!!![]()
If we had Almeida fully fit and starting, I'd be confident of getting a win here. Dundalk haven't done anything of note as yet, their 3-0 win over Drogheda doesn't really prove anything.
However, with a makeshift central defence, I wouldn't be sure of keeping a clean sheet. Mansaram will be a handful. I'd hope for a 1-0.
Can anyone recommend accommodation (Hotel or B&B) near the Showgrounds/town centre?
Going for a Rovers win today. 2-0. Have a feeling our season will kickstart today. Can't begin to imagine what a defeat would do to us. Morrison to score and Rovers to dominate.