Thread: Gangs of New York TOO TAA TAA TAA TAY

Gangs of New York TOO TAA TAA TAA TAY

I saw Gangs of New York yesterday,and apart from being a poor enough why do all the irish have to have that sad stereotypical ae-irish leprechaun accent (exception:Brendan Gleeson) that all americans think we have!

Has anyone actually ever heard this accent in Ireland?
    Same with Far and Away with Tom Cruise.
    Oh yeah and no Hollywood film involving irish could be complete without plenty of diddle dee music(anytime anyone is running) and a good helping of bare knuckle boxing.
    <insert witty remark>

Sur we all talk like that,to be sure to be sure.
    Top of the morning to ya and all that.

Exclamation ...........................................

Originally posted by DolansWaistcoat
    Sur we all talk like that,to be sure to be sure.
    Top of the morning to ya and all that.
    Be de'hookie .... tis it yourself Shaun

Have to agree ... it was brutal !!

And what about about the .....

"Dont ever mention the dead rabbits here again ..... "

What in gods name was that about like ??
    Last edited by A face; 14/12/2003 at 12:33 PM.

I tink dat the the 'Dead rabbits' was the name of the gang dat yur man leonardio de vinci's faater was the leeder of,to be sure!

Exclamation ...........................................

I tink dat the the 'Dead rabbits' was the name of the gang dat yur man leonardio de vinci's faater was the leeder of,to be sure!
    Sure i know dat but twas a real kinda make believe kindof a ting, bad tings will happen ifin he hears ya loike !!
    Twas a real kinda tacky affair wid his glass eye an'all, sure you'd swear twas the divil himself.

Whist a second will ya,I think pajo is tellin me that the Quiet Man is bein read on the wurless soon,must go,tar ah agus good luck to you and all attached to ya,loike.

I enjoyed it....
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Sur yu would wouldn't yu boyo with a grand auld oirish name like Ruairi.

Seriously though it wasn't a bad show.Danny Day Lewis was great but I couldn't take your man leo seriously as the poor little irish boy who rises up to beat the brute who killed his aul da,like.Wasn't he another poor little irish boy in titanic?Christ he'll be stuck with that role now like Bob De Niro and all the gangster films.

Nooooooooooooo......

I heard leo's back for titanic 2.They find his body frozen in an ice cube near Norway and they use his Dna to recreate the little rascal. Pity his women is now 113 years old. what harm old ppl need lovin too.

What has the titanic and the sixth sense got in common?

I C(y) Dead People.
    Last edited by DolansWaistcoat; 14/12/2003 at 6:27 PM.

Wasn't he another poor little irish boy in titanic?
    No, he was a sruggling artist returning home, probably because james cameron realised he couldn't handle the irish accent, shame scorcese didn't spot the same thing. terrible film, waste of time and money, Gleeson was the only saving grace, even the usually brilliant John C. Reilly and Day-Lewis were off form if you ask me, the latter coming across like a sadistic willy wonka.

Originally posted by Beavis
    why do all the irish have to have that sad stereotypical ae-irish leprechaun accent
    To be sure der's dis accent schooel in Hollywood laddy, where all da top actor boyos go to learen how to talk de oirish, too-ra-loo.

There are some sh*te accents come out of Hollywood. My nominee for the worst has to be Donald Sutherland in the Eagle Has Landed but a close second was that Tommy Lee Jones as some chucky in that Bridges Snr & Jnr effort about a bomb disposal officer (being oirish, sure he'd be top o' da mornin' for defusing da bombs, laddy, too-ra-loo). Brad Pitt had a crap Northern accent in some other film too but put in a good performance as a knacker, sorry member of the travelling community, in Snatch, after living with the South London firm that got dumped in Virginia a few years back. I think the template for all these poor accents was the impersonation of Victor McLagen (who wasn't Irish) by that dog in the old Droopy cartoons.

Did like Gangs aswell.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Originally posted by lopez
    Brad Pitt had a crap Northern accent in some other film too but put in a good performance as a knacker, sorry member of the travelling community, in Snatch, after living with the South London firm that got dumped in Virginia a few years back.
    I thought Brad's northern accent in,I think it was the Devil's Own,was fine.Was impressed with him in Snatch too,seems like the other Hollywood actors need to take a page out of his book and do some research on how the accent actually goes.

Americans must be shocked when they come here;hardly any red heads,no-one playing trad music in the streets or half naked street fighting and these strange accents the natives have.
    This isn't how Ireland's supposed to be!
    Last edited by Beavis; 15/12/2003 at 11:41 AM.
    <insert witty remark>

Beavis, I remember coming over on the boat in the early 90s and these two septic birds behind me were reading this guide book aloud. Then one said: 'My God! It says the staple food of the Irish is potatoes!' The poor things thought they were going to get nothing but boiled spuds for a week.

As for redheads, wonder what they make of the growing number of 'soul brothers' with Irish accents. Bet the Boston boys are bit p*ssed at that

Speaking of which, got this email from a mate about a British programme on Mr Love Machine, Colin Farrell's latest flick SWAT. Here's the conversation between some British blonde and 'ice-cool' Samuel L Jackson.
    Blonde: What was it like working with Colin?, cos he is just so hot in the U.K. right now.
    Jackson: He's pretty hot in the U.S. too.
    Blonde: Yeah, but he is one of our own.
    Jackson: Isn't he from Ireland?
    Blonde: Yeah, but we can claim him cos Ireland is beside us.
    Jackson: You see that's your problem right there. You British
    keep claiming people that don't belong to you. We had that problem here in America too, it was called slavery.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Only seen de Gangs yself recently.

I wouldn't get too hung up on de accents like cos i'd say most of country did have those bogger accents in dem days...