Page 37 of 40 FirstFirst ... 273536373839 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Division 2 2009

Thats the mistery on our behalf we have been blasted from all angles by everyone and even us players were obvlious to it as the player that was down in pool didn think he was doing anything wrong by playing for the 2 teams so said nothing yet conn seem to have known a while and dont even have the decency to tell us where they pulled it from.... Surely one of there players didn recognise him from playing against him in the Sligo league?????? Thats the only resonable expination we think...

[QUOTE=Back n the game;1269782]Will agree with thst statement although I can see Charlestowns point in a level playing field if they didnt genuinley know that they were playing an illegal player.

Do players know the rules about the winter football in other counties??? Would it be fair to say that if players are regulars in a club they arn't asked if they played in another league and does this effect only the clubs on the borders of Sligo, Roscommon and Galway? What about players playing for college teams and the Garda and the likes, surley this is a must be reguarded as double regiseration???

But congratulations on your view point on winning matches on the pitch, only a team with inferior selfbelief and inability to win on grass would stoop to claming points with petty protests. What I would like to know is how somebody from Conn Rangers can find out that Charlestown have a double registered player and Charlestown seem oblivious to the whole thing??[/QUOTE]

Very good point murph!

4 names were originally submitted and only 1 proved conclusive which leads me to think it was a hit and miss exercise and that a Conn Player must have played against him in the Sligo league.
    Think about it logically thatif Charlestown new they were intentionally breaking the rules they could have registered players under false names and so on and so forth. The player as ive said was not aware of this rule and and the other names were cleared. It would also appear that the players name appeared on match cards even when he wasn't playing in Sligo because when the full investigation was completed he had 6 match cards where he was either playing for Charlestown or not even in this country on the same day that Chaffpool claimed he lined out for them.
    This has been a headache for us ever since it came about but i think all our lads deserve creddit for getting on with the season and getting themselves into the position they are now in.
    Ive seen lads play for other teams in this League that I know played in the Sligo and Roscommon league but my opinion on the whole situation is let players play as this is not going to make teams up nor down and will probabley lead to player fatigue more than enhance their team. But once again I will point out we didn't bring in players from the Sligo league as was suggested.

Lads you are losing the plot. How conn found out is irrelevant. If Charlestown itself found out they should have reported the fact. An illegal player is an illegal player even if it was indavertant. The Moy - Claremorris replay should also never have happened. That match being replayed was a disgrace.
    If these teams played illegal players and others did not then the teams that did not are at a disadvantage. It is up to the clubs to know the rules. Dont give out to conn for finding out give out to your own officers for not knwoing the rules. BTW I am not in favour of any specific team and wish all teams the best. I think Claremorris's achievement in getting to the last day and still being in contention is huge.
    Last edited by sinabhuil; 11/11/2009 at 9:54 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by sprah1 View Post
    To be fair to Moy, they were given wrong info and were led to believe the player was allowed to play(he had been sent off in a cup game the previous week) The player was technically a suspended player(therefore illegal) in the first match...but rather than win points off the field Claremorris, given the circumstances, suggested a replay. It is best to win lose or draw on the pitch, if possible.

its a joke that this game was replayed too as the rules state for every club that if you get sent off you automatically are suspended for the next game be it cup or league. Then at the next AGM meeting that player could recieve a further suspension. If clubs dont follow this rule then its there fault and Moy should have been deducted the points and be given to Claremorris. Simple as.
    As for players playing in a Winter league in a different county, Charlestowns secetery should have been aware of this as that player would have had to off got it signed by the clubs secetery to play in a different league. Charlestown then had to get it cleared from that team for him to play in the Mayo league. that player may not be able to play in Mayo until the season in Sligo is over(or unless the Mayo FA clear him to play) as what happened with a player from Snugboro 2 seasons ago.
    When you are registering players there is a part on it "Club last played for". Rambling a bit now so i hope i made sense

well murph and back n the game, i presume im talking to 1 person here. your constant complaining has really been hilarious all season. Its terrible how the whole world is out to get charlestown. The way ye were docked points was awful.Someone would almost conclude that ye broke the rules. When this is done surely ye deserve to be punished and should take it like a man. The way we found this out was that we played a load of games without a player to avoid breaking thye rule ye accidently broke. Your giving charlestow an awful name and maybe you should stop complaining and get on with chasing promotion

Quote Originally Posted by etoo View Post
    its a joke that this game was replayed too as the rules state for every club that if you get sent off you automatically are suspended for the next game be it cup or league. Then at the next AGM meeting that player could recieve a further suspension. If clubs dont follow this rule then its there fault and Moy should have been deducted the points and be given to Claremorris. Simple as.
    As for players playing in a Winter league in a different county, Charlestowns secetery should have been aware of this as that player would have had to off got it signed by the clubs secetery to play in a different league. Charlestown then had to get it cleared from that team for him to play in the Mayo league. that player may not be able to play in Mayo until the season in Sligo is over(or unless the Mayo FA clear him to play) as what happened with a player from Snugboro 2 seasons ago.
    When you are registering players there is a part on it "Club last played for". Rambling a bit now so i hope i made sense
    Agreed except that our player didn't get offically transfered to sligo or from sligo so our secretary couldn't have known about his participation in a winter league. Player just signed not knowing about transfers and when he came back no one was any the wiser

Quote Originally Posted by murphs jewels View Post
    Agreed except that our player didn't get offically transfered to sligo or from sligo so our secretary couldn't have known about his participation in a winter league. Player just signed not knowing about transfers and when he came back no one was any the wiser
    So the player is at fault. plus surely someone knew that he played with a team in Sligo, well at least the manager should know that one of his players is playing for someone else when the season is over, if not a few of his teammates.
    Are you sure he was registered at all in Sligo????if not then Ye shouldnt have been deducted the points as there would be no record....or did he sign the secertaries name himself?if so its his fault ye were deducted the points and not the Mayo FA.

Quote Originally Posted by etoo View Post
    So the player is at fault. plus surely someone knew that he played with a team in Sligo, well at least the manager should know that one of his players is playing for someone else when the season is over, if not a few of his teammates.
    Are you sure he was registered at all in Sligo????if not then Ye shouldnt have been deducted the points as there would be no record....or did he sign the secertaries name himself?if so its his fault ye were deducted the points and not the Mayo FA.

We are not disputing that the rules were broken except to say that the ML found it very suspicious that 4 names were brought to their attention and 3 names appeared on the Chaffpool books but were not signed by the players (one of whom wasn't even around). This threw doubt over all the players in question except that one of the signatures matched up but this player was deemed to be playing on the same day he played in Mayo and on 1 occasion was in Liverpool at a game (he had flight details and match ticket as proof).
    Very messy situation but its gone now and as I said before Creddit goes to the whole squad for rising from the ashes of this and putting themselves in a position to earn promotion. Could have wished for easier opposition on the final day but we will aproach the game in good form and hope that we get the result we are looking for.

how is everyones pitches holdin up with the weather?weather will have to improve tomorrow or our game will be off for sure. Wonder could a neutral venue be arranged if its not playable cause season gone on to long as it is...

Quote Originally Posted by purplemonkeydis View Post
    well murph and back n the game, i presume im talking to 1 person here. your constant complaining has really been hilarious all season
    What an idiotic comment.... How can i be complaining all season? I only joined 2 weeks ago. You must not read to good either...

Besides that rubbish any predictions for this weekend?

I fancy Moy Villa to win without breaking to much sweat same as Conn Rangers and will have to agree with couch potato that the Charlestown v Claremorris game has draw written all over it.

back in the game could be from chaffpool:-) are u the informer to conn by any chance?????

if you had some common sense you would realise I was talking to murphs jewels even if ye are the same person

Wasnt complainin was just makin a point we were deducted 6 points so it should be same for Villa but thats not their fault its that dodgy rule book the Mayo League have that seems to change when it suits them.We well passed complainin now jst lookin forward to match the weekend the pitch is dry as a bone now so as long as the weather stays decent atal tomorow the match will go ahead.

all messing aside lads we are promissed a ****er of a weekend. http://www.met.ie/ but would guss if ref shows the game will be fourced through

646 Posts
    Best of luck to Charlestown, Conn Rangers, Claremorris and Moy Villa at the weekend. Hopefully the best two teams finish top of the pile (Char and Conn imo, but if Clarmorris join the party then they'll deserve it).

Snugboro will do their best to put a fly in the ointment, though I imagine the majority of us will be on the beer for the Ireland-France game but you can hardly blame us. For the two teams that don't make it, see you next year....playoff pending.

Thanks for good luck wishes dont blame ye for goin drinkin cause we would definately be doin the same:-)

Whats the pitch like in belaghy murphs??? will the game go ahead

Foot.ie! division 2 super sunday

this is the day what's everyone's thoughts on the final round of matches. moy villa to win league, conn rangers and claremorris b (hopefully) in a play off for second i think. it will be interesting if snugboro b or ballina utd can take the lead first but good luck to all the teams today
    moy villa v snug b= home
    conn ran v ballina utd= home
    charlestown v claremorris b= away
    glenisland v swinford b= home

next weekend then.conn rangers v charlestown.lookin forward 2 it already

Page 37 of 40 FirstFirst ... 273536373839 ... LastLast