no much hard facts and stats....

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by walshek View Post
    biggest joke of the year.
    Thats what I heard at the time, correct me if I'm wrong.

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sprah1 View Post
    The question raised was, did the illegal players play in any of the 5 matches prior to June 7th against Conn. Surely the league have checked this??or have they?? Simple question of looking at the match cards...if something is brought to the leagues attention they have a duty to check back and confirm legality in previous matches....or do the clubs they played have to query? The league should confirm that these players only played in ONE match..
    as i say .... it only covers the game they were caught in ...... i aware they have play in all the games at the start of the season ......

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    as i say .... it only covers the game they were caught in ...... i aware they have play in all the games at the start of the season ......

well if that is the cases all team should object and ger there points back. should the mayo league not have taken this on board

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    Thats what I heard at the time, correct me if I'm wrong.

From what we heard, pitch deemed unplayable as Charlestown felt some of the lines weren't fully visible after a heavy shower.....

Angry Charlestown saga......

well if that is the cases all team should object and ger there points back. should the mayo league not have taken this on board
    Am I right in saying that the Mayo League only investigated Charlestown on 1 game only even though they had already played Cross Celtic, Moy Villa, Swinford & Ballina United before the Conn Rangers game?? Surely if Charlestown had been bold against Conn Rangers it would be a fair assumption(and before you say it I know what assumption's do!)that they would have been bold in the other 4 games. Surely the Mayo League should have had a look at the match cards for the other 4 games while they were at it, if only to satisfy everyone's curiosity. Sounds like another little mess swept under the carpet. Is there anything the other teams can do or is the matter dead and buried now??

as Charlestownhave reached the semis of the Mayo Cup has anyone questioned there earlier rounds and if these sligo players played in any of these rounds. would be interesting to find out because if they did Moy Villa should go straight to the final.

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by etoo View Post
    as Charlestownhave reached the semis of the Mayo Cup has anyone questioned there earlier rounds and if these sligo players played in any of these rounds. would be interesting to find out because if they did Moy Villa should go straight to the final.
    why moy villa - draw is not done yet .......

Was told last night that Charlestown got Moy Villa, Swinford playing Manulla.but that could have being just pub talk, so draw prob not made yet. Strange how Murphsjewels is staying away from the topic now though, more interested in the super league forum. wonder if these players did play in the earlier round and if so whoever they do get in the next round should get a bye or get Achill get back in

lads all team that played againist charlestown should send in offical letter to mayo league. fair is fair to all. 6 point for a total of 15 is not good form. also not fair on team that played by the offical rulling. no team has the right to break rules and get away with it

Would have to agree with you. With only 8 points separating the top 7 teams in Div 2 I think Charlestown have gotten away very lightly. Fair play to Conn Rangers on getting 3 points, but Charlestown played Cross Celtic, Moy Villa, Ballina United & Swinford before they played Conn Rangers. Then there is the bigger picture of League, McDonnell Cup & Mayo Cup games that Charlestown were involved in during the same period. For this saga to have dragged on for over 2 months and for the Mayo League to investigate just ONE match card is ridiculous. All teams would have been at a disadvantage playing against illegal players during that period. We were due to play a Cup game against Swinford on a Thursday night but due to players being on holiday and lads working away we could not fulfill the fixture. We informed the Mayo League, Swinford and the referee the day before and we were still fined 2 or 3 hundred euro.
    In hindsight would we not have been better off adopting the Charlestown model of problem solving, and borrowing players registered to neighbouring clubs and travelling to Swinford and fulfilling the fixture, thus saving ourselves the fine. It shows that when you try and do the right thing, you get no reward. Did Charlestown get a fine aswell as the points deduction?

I think the real winners in all of this are Charlestown, they got away very lightly in my opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Phoenix View Post
    Would have to agree with you. With only 8 points separating the top 7 teams in Div 2 I think Charlestown have gotten away very lightly. Fair play to Conn Rangers on getting 3 points, but Charlestown played Cross Celtic, Moy Villa, Ballina United & Swinford before they played Conn Rangers. Then there is the bigger picture of League, McDonnell Cup & Mayo Cup games that Charlestown were involved in during the same period. For this saga to have dragged on for over 2 months and for the Mayo League to investigate just ONE match card is ridiculous. All teams would have been at a disadvantage playing against illegal players during that period. We were due to play a Cup game against Swinford on a Thursday night but due to players being on holiday and lads working away we could not fulfill the fixture. We informed the Mayo League, Swinford and the referee the day before and we were still fined 2 or 3 hundred euro.
    In hindsight would we not have been better off adopting the Charlestown model of problem solving, and borrowing players registered to neighbouring clubs and travelling to Swinford and fulfilling the fixture, thus saving ourselves the fine. It shows that when you try and do the right thing, you get no reward. Did Charlestown get a fine aswell as the points deduction?

I think the real winners in all of this are Charlestown, they got away very lightly in my opinion.

totally agree with yeah. if any team can afford to take a 3 point hit then it worth it. rules are there to be followed by all and it is up to the mayo league to monitor them etc. fines are been thrown out of crap and a charlestown get away with putting out illigal players. this is a total insult to all in the league. they should have all point taken off them full stop.

Murph is very quite in all this. If he dosent show up by tomorrow i suggest we boycott entertaining him in future

sorry if uv missed us lads we have been busy trainin somethin ye might try to beat us instead of tryin to get our points taken off us. p.s save your money on stamps writin to the mayo league.....

Quote Originally Posted by murphs jewels View Post
    sorry if uv missed us lads we have been busy trainin somethin ye might try to beat us instead of tryin to get our points taken off us. p.s save your money on stamps writin to the mayo league.....

well mister murphy. what was the offical outcome on the illigal players? was it 6 points or more. seen no outline of this in any of the email sent out by mayo league

Well done Murph. A 3 day training session. Ye must be seriously fit. Just one question; if yer squad is THAT fit and THAT good why "borrow" players who are registered to other teams? You really seem to miss the point. You see, Mr Murph, other teams DO train hard, other teams DO make sacrifices on work & personal lives, but yet other teams try to live by the rules; and you know if we get beaten FAIRLY & SQUARELY, then we shake the other teams hand after the game and say Well Done, and actually mean it. And then we hit the training pitch again the following week and try and better ourselves and eradicate the mistakes from the week before.

What's the Charlestown method of bettering the team??? Well Mr Murph, I think we all know the answer to that question, don't we.

not a lot of answers there!!

Guys, any fixtures for next weekend? Is there any chance some of the Sunday games will be moved due to GAA match?

Page 26 of 40 FirstFirst ... 16242526272836 ... LastLast