Page 23 of 24 FirstFirst ... 1321222324 LastLast

Thread: Italy V Republic of Ireland - Wednesday, 1st April 2009 - World Cup 2010 Q

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Thought we were very good at holding onto the ball yesterday, granted we were given a lot of space which wont happen in bulgaria, but i think with 2 wingers there as well we could have a good chance. I noticed when andrews was taken off he appeared to be doing a whole lot better than whelan but whelan really came into the game when gibson came on, so maybe there is something there that whelan is being told and we dont realise.....
    When any poor player is given space they can play well. You have to remember they were holding the ball mostly by passing it to the defenders, all very safe passes and nothing to risky, whereas Gibson tried adventurous passes - which were not always successful but very promising.

I agree with you on how Whelan came alive when Gibson came on, because I was originally gobsmacked when Andrews came off instead of Whelan, as Andrews was solid, and Whelan barely got his name mentioned by the commentators.
    "Do you know what the plural for Pussy is? ... it's Pussai! ... Jimmy tought me that"

geysir did you have that drink?!

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Celtic Fan View Post
    This match wasn't available in Scotland, can someone please send me a copy of the match on DVD....I'll pay for any cost's.

Cheer's.

I think there will be a copy available soon online as a download, looks like
    tetsujin1979 will be makin one available for download, he did a great one of the Bulgaria game, it will certaiinly be quicker and cheaper than a DVD - assuming you have broadband. If you have dial-up it woud probably take untill next Christmas, the last one was 1.6 gig.

http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=114555&page=5

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    It is on fbtz. Russian commentary though. How do you get a membership for irishtorrents?
    Can you not register?
    Is it closed for new members?
    I must have found the wormhole in the basement.

Then you need an invite.
    It's dead handy for Irish sports, recent and old, even considering it's
    slower than a McShane outstretched leg.

1,928 Posts
    geysir did you have that drink?!
    Thanks for asking Paul, actually I had 2, considering the occasion.
    The sacrifices we make

Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry View Post
    Better than usual and won a lot of frees to be fair, but his passing and touch leave a lot to be desired
    I actually admire his attitude so much. His interview before the game was class and the panel were scumbags to sneer at him. He's exciting

Passing Stats

Glenn Whelan 70 (89%)
    Richard Dunne 53 (96%)
    John O'Shea 52 (96%)
    Keith Andrews 46 (85%)
    Kevin Kilbane 44 (77%)
    Paul McShane 43 (98%)
    Robbie Keane 38 (87%)
    Darron Gibson 24 (92%)
    Shay Given 18 (100%)
    Caleb Folan 17 (94%)
    Stephen Hunt 16 (94%)
    Kevin Doyle 15 (73%)
    Andrew Keogh 7 (100%)
    Noel Hunt 6 (67%)
    Total 449 (90%)

Italy's highest was De Rossi with 41 passes and an 83% success rate.

Stats here:
    http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/footba...nd-249455.html

3,498 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Celtic Fan View Post
    This match wasn't available in Scotland, can someone please send me a copy of the match on DVD....I'll pay for any cost's.

Cheer's.
    http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p...0&postcount=94
    Enjoy
    Any problem, just PM me

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Richard Dunne 53 (96%)
    John O'Shea 52 (96%)
    [/url]
    Reminds me of the time Hansen & Lawrenson just passed it to themselves for about 5 minutes!

Great stats though, interesting.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Thanks for asking Paul, actually I had 2, considering the occasion.
    The sacrifices we make
    Thats ok geysir, well after all these years 2 would feel like 10 I would say!!! What was the tipple?

Reading back through everyones post from about page 7 to 13 during and just after the match was just brilliant to be honest, the natural reaction of all posters was top notch.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Did you see the look on Lippi's face in those last few mins of extra time? He like I thought we were going to get the win. Stephen Hunt was brilliant. Winning free kicks in dangerous positions. Playing Robbie Keane in between Doyle and the midfield was the master stroke for me. It made it easier for Andrews and Whelan and Keane brought them into the game from the first min. Very happy this morning. We can win this group. I am convinced we can win in Bulgaria.
    Couldn't agree more about playing Keane in that position, for the first time in a long time he made a significant contribution to overall play rather than chasing around like a headless chicken. This is the position he plays best for his club so Trap should continue to play him there for us too and if he can cut out the histrionics and diving too then he might finally consistently live up to his reputation.

This also creates a place for Folan up front and based on Saturdays performance he provides a threat we've been missing for some time.

I thought like many before that Trapp made decisions when he had to. Mc Shane can be blamed for the goal but I feel Andy Keogh was equally to blame. When they had a man sent off Mc Shane seemed to be the free man at right back and he was not making use of the space - he seemed to be afraid or something. I was very aware that our 4 across the middle were extremely weak entering this match but all of them stood up to the plate which just means we have more options when all are fit. Hunt was good and I think he is a bucket player at best usually.

Finally I might add that the craic in Bari was second to none and fair play to the locals for their hospitality - free buses to and from the match and the view from the stand was class. Bring on Sofia. Hope we are all considering the trip.

Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    I don't really think the whole 'top eight of nine runners up' thing is very fair to us. Montenegro is a brand new country and did not deserve to be a sixth seed. I would love it if we topped the group and Italy finished as the ninth best runner up. It would be a nice kick in the teeth for FIFA to have the defending world champions miss the World Cup.

If we are to win the group, we'll have to beat Italy in Dublin come October. They'd also have to drop points in two of their three matches against Bulgaria, Georgia and Cyprus. Not going to happen. We need help to avoid finishing ninth of nine runners up, mainly due to the Montenegro seeding issue.
    Not sure how you figure that, we're two points (12) behind Italy (14) with the same amount of games played. If we win our remaining 4 matches including the one against Italy then we finish top of the group on 24 points even if they win their other three remaining games which would mean they finish on 23 points.

Unlikely to happen perhaps but it's in our own hands at this stage as is the question of finishing ninth of nine runners up. The main reason we're eighth of nine at the moment (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_FI...d-placed_teams) is because Georgia are bottom (sixth) in our group and 6 of our points came against them but they're the only team we've played twice so wouldn't worry about it yet, still a long way to go.

214 Posts
    Thats ok geysir, well after all these years 2 would feel like 10 I would say!!! What was the tipple?

Reading back through everyones post from about page 7 to 13 during and just after the match was just brilliant to be honest, the natural reaction of all posters was top notch.
    Just done that now. Brings back good memories from Wednesday night!!!

1,928 Posts
    Not total abstinance

Just a (lenten) wait until the game is finished before having a drink.
    It's not even a superstition, just when a game makes me sick to the stomach it's better for me not to have any alcohol in there

Just reading through the thread now - an entertaining lunch break!! - the reactions on page 13 are classic!!

We certainly deserved to take something from that game and could well have nicked it at the death.

Folans introduction made a notable impact throughout the game - not just the last 10 minutes. He gave us a presence in the last third that I think we've been missing for a long time. This isn't just a reference to his stature -but his overall contribution was intelligent and resourceful at times. I think he has far more to his game than just a bean pole to provide knock downs.

McShane is an easy target at this stage - but it would be a mercy killing to drop him at this stage. The Italians actually dropped off McShane when he had possession as they regarded him as no threat.

If Finnan's injury woes continue we need to finally blood Foley in May or try Delap at right full. Either of these lads are a better option.

Despite the euphoria and no little relief of the result - we've still got it all to do to even secure second spot. This isn't negativity - its a dose of reality.

The Bulgaria away match is their cup final. They have to win and will be highly motivated to beat us.

Cyprus - as we know so well - is also a very difficult place to secure a result these days.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Bulgaria away is our cup final too. If we can get a result, we're odds on to finish second and we could even have a shot at topping the group. It's make or break for both teams in Sofia. If we lose, they'll be 2 points behind with a game in hand against Georgia at home. Yes, they still have Italy away which they could lose but I think we'll find it extremely difficult to beat Italy at home.

Regarding Wednesdays game, I think Trap got the subs spot on with the exception of Gibson. I thought Whelan was non existent while Andrews was performing well. Whelan should definitely have been withdrawn. With a bit more compusure in the final third, we could have won this game.

Our crossing from open play and set pieces was awful at times - Hunt played very well but his delivery is hit and miss. I've seen Whelan deliver some excellent balls for Stoke this season, why did he take no set pieces?

Doyle looked like his legs were gone and it was the right decision to take him off. His effort on Saturday must have really taken it out of him.

Does anyone think Keoghs confidence will be shot after being subbed that early? I agree with Traps decision but think it will badly effect his confidence. He made a mistake for their goal also.

Just returned this morning after 4 fantastic days in Italy which ranged from visiting the leaning tower of Pisa at 3am Tuesday night, to the craic in the square and onwards to the match.
    A fantastic performence in a game where we outplayed the World Champions.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Reminds me of the time Hansen & Lawrenson just passed it to themselves for about 5 minutes!

Great stats though, interesting.
    if theyare right and pirlo had the most and he finished at half time then we had almost double the possession they had....

just watching the italy match again(thanks tets) and listening to giles go on about how the irish midfielders never look to receive the ball from the backs(which is a very valid point and i think is why we miss s reid so much because when he is there he is always looking for the ball to take it and spray a pass) and oherlihy jumps in and goes well john do you think they are under instruction(pause silence)....or they just dont have a clue priceless.

Page 23 of 24 FirstFirst ... 1321222324 LastLast