Page 21 of 24 FirstFirst ... 111920212223 ... LastLast

Thread: Italy V Republic of Ireland - Wednesday, 1st April 2009 - World Cup 2010 Q

Good battling performance & fair play to them for keeping going to the end.

O'Shea finally starting to show some leadership in an Ireland shirt. Stephen Hunt also did well although he would be better off staying on his feet rather than falling over theatrically everytime an opposition player tries to tackle him.

Real lack of pace out wide seemed to be a problem last night. McGeady and Duff missed for that.

Right hand side was a big problem last night & Ireland where lucky with the red card as it stopped them from using that channel. McShane is a liability. He is an average centre half & as a right back wouldn't get a game for Bohs.

Keogh looked totally out of his depth & his ball control for a professional footballer is appaling.

A draw in Sofia should be enough to secure 2nd place in the group

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RogerMilla View Post
    lads anyone else think noel hunt scored ??
    I thought it looked like that when I saw the first or second replay alright.

2,796 Posts
    RTE did an interesting analysis of our CM last night, showing clips of neither player showing for the ball when a CB or FB had the ball, and neither being particurly keen to support in attack either. Keeping the shape was far more important. Last night was a different story though, Whelan, Andrews and Gibson constantly looking for it and using it well, bringing others into the game.

I still thought set pieces were poor again.

We got a bit of luck for the goal as far as I can remember: we had possession inside their half but an Italian guy was injured. After the dropped ball it was quite fairly played back to Shay insted of deep for a goal kick or a throw and it was the resulting kick that was flicked on for the goal.

1,928 Posts
    That's not luck, that's part a football game.
    Those clips were from the Bulgaria game I think.

CM was the second biggest plus last night, totally different tempo right from the ko.
    It's obvious that Trap wanted more mobility along with shape (therefore he wouldn't consider Carsley any game anytime).
    First plus for Trap last night was tactically taking full advantage of the extra man, preempting Lippi as if Trap knew exactly what Lippi and the Italian team would do next.

Great result was delighted for robbie it would have been greatest result ever if he'd of popped that shinner in.

For a team supposedly working on set pieces all week they were terrible, duffer and a (fit) McGeady would have had a field day.

As it was Hunt had a great game if we hadnt of went one up so early against the bulgars I think Hunt would have been very effective running at them as defending and patience is definately not his forte.....

Still think Italy have pole position wrapped up, a result in Sofia is a must for us to get to the playoffs where we'll get Norn Iron in the draw

Group 8 14 Oct 2009
    Italy 22
    ROI 19
    Bul 16

49 Posts
    robbie must have got it from his celebration, if hunt had then keano would have said after. has to be robbies.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeNiro View Post
    I think that game would have suited Stephen Reid, he's a much better version of Gibson, but also has Andrew's robust qualities. When is he due back does anyone know? Is the Bulgaria away game too soon for him?

Apparently he's on track to be fit for pre season, so we'll have him back for italy at home at least

Quote Originally Posted by smasher View Post
    Italian defence was uneasy all night mainly because of Hunt , culminating in Grosso's yellow card. Stephen will lose the ball and some of his crosses were not up to scratch but the plusses far outweigh the less positive and was probably our Man of the Match last pm
    Agree with that totally. If you could sum up all that was good and a bit of what was bad, it would be "Stephen Hunt" Certainly agree for MOTM.

Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    robbie must have got it from his celebration, if hunt had then keano would have said after. has to be robbies.
    “I saw the ball coming down and Caleb (Folan) getting the knock down,” said the Reading striker. “Robbie was there and we both went for it but I got a toe to it and it went in. I went one way to celebrate and Robbie went the other after him (Folan).

“Eventually I had to join in with them but I was on top of Robbie shouting down at him: “It’s my goal, it’s my goal,” and he was there just laughing.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...243863582.html
    Together with all our hearts.

49 Posts
    surely robbie would have mentioned it.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Scram
    Great result, great spirit, but can't ignore the luckiness!
    We can ignore the "luckiness", until the end of the campaign.

We came for a point, we got it. Doesn't matter how we got it. If we fail to qualify, then we can say we didn't do this right, and we didn't do that right.

89 Posts
    Haha, looks like Brian Kerr has made a bit of a name for himself in Italy.

Gazzetta Dello Sport's headline about the game is
    "Now in Ireland believe they can finish first", the sub being (thanks to an awful online translation) "The Irish newspapers receive with favor (but also with a bit of sorrow) the draw against Italy: “The march towards the South Africa continues”. Praise is given to captain Keane, appreciation for Trapattoni. But as usual Brian Kerr attacks the trainer: “Game orrendo”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nNbJa...eature=related

loved the Irish fans going wild.

Must say I think you many be right about the goal it may have been Hunt

3,498 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    He's making a bit of a name for himself here too. Not a particularly good one either.
    Here's his review of the game: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...243863590.html
    Bitter, bitter man.

Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    surely robbie would have mentioned it.
    By the same token - surely Noel would not have said what he did say?
    Together with all our hearts.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post

Gazzetta Dello Sport's headline about the game is
    "Now in Ireland believe they can finish first", the sub being (thanks to an awful online translation) "The Irish newspapers receive with favor (but also with a bit of sorrow) the draw against Italy: “The march towards the South Africa continues”. Praise is given to captain Keane, appreciation for Trapattoni. But as usual Brian Kerr attacks the trainer: “Game orrendo”

They go on to laugh at Kerr staking claims for players like Morisson, Reid and Carsley and say "But at this point he knows himself, even if the Irish gained a most improbable World Cup trophy in South Africa, with the Trap in the dugout Kerr would have always something to complain about.

49 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fergalr View Post
    By the same token - surely Noel would not have said what he did say?
    hmmm ya, bit strange though given the way robbie celebrated if he didnt touch it, u know. plus he was credideted with it so its his now. anyway it went in thats all that matters.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernian View Post
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nNbJa...eature=related

loved the Irish fans going wild.

Must say I think you many be right about the goal it may have been Hunt
    'Gola! Di Robbie Keane a!' There could be a song in that somewhere.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

161 Posts
    Did you see the look on Lippi's face in those last few mins of extra time? He like I thought we were going to get the win. Stephen Hunt was brilliant. Winning free kicks in dangerous positions. Playing Robbie Keane in between Doyle and the midfield was the master stroke for me. It made it easier for Andrews and Whelan and Keane brought them into the game from the first min. Very happy this morning. We can win this group. I am convinced we can win in Bulgaria.

21 Posts
    I've watched it a few times and I agree with you RogerMilla - Noel Hunt got it!!!

Page 21 of 24 FirstFirst ... 111920212223 ... LastLast