Page 15 of 24 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 ... LastLast

Thread: Italy V Republic of Ireland - Wednesday, 1st April 2009 - World Cup 2010 Q

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Well that goal certaintly cheered me up!!
    Was feeling pretty sick before that I could not see us getting a goal.
    That's one to remember.

My voice is hoarse.

Good result, although could easily have won it with that performance. Ireland need more performances like that, not the crap Trap has had them playing. Stephen Hunt should start anymore too, better than Duff.

What a dirty shower of players Italy are.
    Quote Originally Posted by cavan_fan View Post
    Man of the Match was Cannavaro however (pity he got over that injury)
    He shouldn't have even been playing, should have been sent off Vs. Montenegro on Saturday.

230 Posts
    I may get slated for this, but I thought Stephen Hunt played brilliantly.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish View Post
    I don't know about the brilliant label but he gave it everything he had and more, full blooded to the final whistle.

Stephen Hunt was superb.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    You won't get slated by me, he may not be a throughbred but he certainly gives his all and has moments of great skill.
    He's a proper football player, always up for the game.

20 Posts
    Oh looks lads, Dunphy's off on one. A "Drunken Gambler" apparently is Trappatoni.

65 Posts
    Dunphy talking rubbish on rte, Taking keogh off was the right decision, Folan done well when he came on,
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Best performance in a long long time.
    God i hate Dunphy more and more every time i happen to hear him now, i can last about 30 seconds listening to him.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes to his friends

253 Posts
    He showed more moral courage than anybody else on the pitch. Willing to take on his marker at every opportunity.

No way he can be dropped from the starting lineup after this.

I also thought Folan was absolutely fantastic. Hurts me to say it but he should take Doyle's place in the starting lineup.

Doyle is a better player, but Folan complements Robbie better and gets the best out of him.

Aha- fair play to the lads

were back

great result but some miss by noel hunt off one of the last corners, think it went right through his legs....

89 Posts
    Would someone please take Dunphy outside and shoot him.

Last week it was Trap never makes a change, this week he makes three changes to switch his system and personnel and apprently he's just 'gambling'.
    He's never seen Noel Hunt play eh Eamo? Yet Eamo would never accuse Trap of not seeing Doyle and Stephen Hunt.
    "Cannavaro is gone (as a player)"
    "Trappatoni should get down on his hands and thank the fact that he's working with these players"

You can not "liberate" Keith f**king Andrews and Glenn Whelan against the World Champions, away to the World Champs! (unless you are playing 10 men )

Great performance by Ireland, Trap showed that when he doesn't make changes he gets results, and when he makes the change...he gets results. Italy defended fantastically, we kept going but I couldn't see it coming.

We are going to South Africa

EDIT: Now Eamo thinks Italy lose to Outer Mongolia and such teams at home. Unbeaten in a decade at home actually Eamon.
    Last edited by Jicked; 01/04/2009 at 9:00 PM.

I'd say Dunphy's rant was changed by the goal, he must be gutted, the subs and the tactics worked brilliant, I heard him before the game reminiscing on how great things were under Charlton.
    Jesus wept, does he think we cant remember back that far?
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes to his friends

1,928 Posts
    Trap used the extra man well, with the switches after half time.
    Dunphy is talking through his hole
    He outfoxed Lippi and used the advantage well.

Cannavaro was holding him

20 Posts
    Dunphy lets the blood and wine get to his head. I think he's slurring his words a little, the man's a fool.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by amaccann View Post
    Oh looks lads, Dunphy's off on one. A "Drunken Gambler" apparently is Trappatoni.
    Dunphy's spot here!

For the first time ever I was relaxed about watching an Ireland match. No expectations, no pressure. And what happens. Hopefully the bonus will be Trap will now be more ready to shake things up a bit. McShane is a god.

Page 15 of 24 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 ... LastLast