Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2101112

Thread: Bohs accounts

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Anyway, since when were football chants taken seriously ?
    To be honest, I was talking about the mindset rather than the chant........
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

2,771 Posts
    Having made that comment, I think it's only fair to note that the comments of other posters had nothing to do with it. It's the almost identical route to destruction which prompted it. (Although I must admit that I have spotted a similarity between your note that the few Bohs fans on here are by no means representative of the fan base as a whole, and Shels fans' claims three years ago; while your logic may be sound in the direction you express it, it's no proof that Bohs fans on here aren't representative of the fans as a whole).
    Stu, if thats the way you want to see it then fair enough. I dont agree regarding the last sentence at all.

I think that there are important differences between the way things have panned out for Bohs and the way things capitulated for Shels. I am not trying to brush that comment off but i dont really have any desire to get into it here and now. The end result may very well be the same though i remain hopeful that it wont and i do believe that we are in a better situation to resolve it than Shelbourne were. It remains to be seen if we can resolve it though.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote from Gem on thebohs forum:

Most disappointed at the moment when there was a general acceptance from all present that we had worked the accounts to appear favourable to us rather than to completely accurately portray our financial situation.

It was put to the AGM, by a member from the floor that we could

A) Reject the accounts. Go back, redo them properly. But this would cause use to breach wage protocol. This would mean forefitting the title and incur a possible fine and points deduction.
    We would have an accurate set of accounts but would have to be held accountable for our dealings up to that point as a result

or we could

B) Pass the accounts. Keep the trophies and dolly accounts up to look favourable to us even when, in reality, they are not. But sure every other team in the league does it so we might as well do it to.

Option B was the clear winner. Sad day for me seeing the Bohs membership vote heavily in favour or not running our club on the straight and narrow.

We had the chance to hold the people who formulated the the plans for spending etc.. that led to these losses and less than spectacular set of accounts but we turned down the opportunity all for two pieces of silver
    DCFC

And yis really expect me to stop taking the **** out of these people when their club and membership continue to make a mockery of the league....ah sure we will leave them alone and let them use their league prize money that they conned to dolly up another set of accounts for this season ....tell all the bohs you know that youll never buy four in a row.

82 Posts
    If that was a true reflection of what was said (I'm dubious anyone on the Committee would admit the accounts are a work of fiction), the auditor who signed the accounts off should have his practicing certificate taken away.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    If that was a true reflection of what was said (I'm dubious anyone on the Committee would admit the accounts are a work of fiction), the auditor who signed the accounts off should have his practicing certificate taken away.
    The auditor was there and signed off on the accounts with an 'unqualified' opinion that the accounts were an accurate picture of the state of affairs last November, and that we could continue to trade. We've had worse opinions from auditors in the past. And no professional is going to put his career on the line in front of 300 people with a makey-up judgment.

Nor did anyone on the board say they were a work of fiction. (if you look at Gem's post quoted by pól- DCFC above you'll see he doesn't either).
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

1,104 Posts
    So has anything changed as a result of this AGM in terms of strategy then?. Are ye just continuing on and hoping for the best?. Not trying to have a go, just curious.

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    So has anything changed as a result of this AGM in terms of strategy then?. Are ye just continuing on and hoping for the best?. Not trying to have a go, just curious.
    A largely new board, with one significant survivor from the old regime. Without going into any more detail than I need to, I reckon the days of 'hoping for the best' are over.
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

1,104 Posts
    Fair enough. Hopefully the new board will learn from the mistakes of the old one.

Thats laughable if that was even alluded to re the accounts!...."sure hey lads it doesn't matter if they are accurate accounts, everyone else does it...sure we would have to hand back the trophies and prizwmoney otherwise!!"....frightening!

185 Posts
    1 Gerry Conway, there's only 1 Gerry Conway !!
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2101112