Thread: The Damned United

46 Posts
    Anyone know when this is in cinemas? Seems to be in some now but not all.
    Shouldn't be long.It came out here on Friday last and has gone down very well in a town dominated by the presence of the Clough family. There is so much affection for the man and the family here that this has been such a huge event.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Bought the book yesterday - half way through it - yeah its good so far, wanted to read the book before i see the movie later this week

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Bought the book yesterday - half way through it - yeah its good so far, wanted to read the book before i see the movie later this week
    I've read the book and from what I can gather from the trailer and from what people say , the film is a lot different in tone to the book , book is a lot darker and is also written in a stream of consciousness which wouldn't be easy to translate to screen

335 Posts
    Finished, good book, and loved the way the two parallel stories meet in the end.
    Now for the movie

Nearly finished the book. I took it to Italy with me Tuesday and I have about 50 pages left so i'll try and finish it today.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

2,081 Posts
    Finished the book just in time for the movie and the feckin things doesn't seem to be in any Kerry cinemas.

Some amount of research went into the book in fairness. This would lead me to believe that Peace was trying to get it as accurate as possible. Of course Giles and the Cloughs weren't going to support is as Giles is slated and Clough himself comes off as a bit of a looper, not to mention a raging alcoholic. I'd like to hear an interview with Giles about it, read his piece in the paper alright but it's not that same.
    Last edited by DeLorean; 24/04/2009 at 4:19 PM.

335 Posts
    Melvin Bragg (isnt that his name?) did a very good extensive interview about a year and a bit ago on his ITV latenight culture show (that I cant remember at the mom)
    Might try and download it.....................its worth it

2,081 Posts
    Sound I'll take a look for it.

mms://ir1-c200.narrowstep.tv/mcp?psid=133648514&ref=0&chid=876&pid=3341&vid=876 54822&br=400&tid=2&brid=1026&fab=0

Compelling viewing.
    In Trap we trust

Is it worth the watch lads?

my link or the film
    In Trap we trust

I read another book about Clough, I forget the name but it was written by a press reporter for a local newspaper who was friendly with Clough and knew him better than most.

In the book Clough admitted that getting sacked from Leeds was the best thing ever to happen to him, he got a huge payout and since he was always worrying about money, it relieved that particular stress. He could now focus on football instead of money.

It probably helped him with Nottingham Forest later.

There is no odubt Clough was a genius taking two smallish clubs to the league championship and one to the European Cup twice with a lot of players who were regarded as has beens.

But he was also very arrogant and headstrong and could well have had a job with the big clubs or England except for that.

What he did with Nottingham Forest probably rivals anything Ferguson has done considering Ferguson has pretty much bought most of his titles.

Quote Originally Posted by Emmet7 View Post
    I read another book about Clough, I forget the name but it was written by a press reporter for a local newspaper who was friendly with Clough and knew him better than most.
    "Provided You Don't Kiss Me"

Great read. I read that and the Damned United one after the other.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    "Provided You Don't Kiss Me"

Great read. I read that and the Damned United one after the other.
    Was there contradictions between the two Dodge? which did you enjoy more?

Well the reporter was from Nottingham or working there anyway so he only got to know Clough once he was there. I think Provided You Don't Kiss me is a better book and seems to be more accurate as it has not been challenged by any of the family although it tells of much more drinking than Damned Utd. I thinkt the problem with the Damned Utd for the family was that it used evidence of Clough's behaviour in the 80s and put it at the time he was at Leeds and before that. THe family say this is not true but they do not deny the drinking in the 80s
    In Trap we trust

Not really any contradictions. The Damned utd doesn't mention forest at all, and "provided you don't kiss me" deals mainly with Forest (although there's a fair bit of overlap in the Derby stuff).

They're pretty hard to compare to be honest as "Damned" is "fiction" based on news reports and players bios etc and written in the first person (Clough is usually the narrator - sometimes Peter Taylor) whereas "Kiss" is a local journo's account of that time (including some personal stuff not really connected to Clough)

I did enjoy both emmensely though. I'd imagine that literary critics would praise "Damned" higher as its written beautifully and the writer uses some ingenious little concepts to get around the first person narrative. "Kiss" is a more like a traditional biography but again its well written and the subject is so interesting...

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Not really any contradictions. The Damned utd doesn't mention forest at all, and "provided you don't kiss me" deals mainly with Forest (although there's a fair bit of overlap in the Derby stuff).

They're pretty hard to compare to be honest as "Damned" is "fiction" based on news reports and players bios etc and written in the first person (Clough is usually the narrator - sometimes Peter Taylor) whereas "Kiss" is a local journo's account of that time (including some personal stuff not really connected to Clough)

I did enjoy both emmensely though. I'd imagine that literary critics would praise "Damned" higher as its written beautifully and the writer uses some ingenious little concepts to get around the first person narrative. "Kiss" is a more like a traditional biography but again its well written and the subject is so interesting...
    I must check it out. On finishing The Damned United I was thinkin to myself I'd love if it continued into the Forest yrs, so that might be a good substitute, thanks.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Well the reporter was from Nottingham or working there anyway so he only got to know Clough once he was there. I think Provided You Don't Kiss me is a better book and seems to be more accurate as it has not been challenged by any of the family although it tells of much more drinking than Damned Utd. I thinkt the problem with the Damned Utd for the family was that it used evidence of Clough's behaviour in the 80s and put it at the time he was at Leeds and before that. THe family say this is not true but they do not deny the drinking in the 80s
    Ya that seemed to be their biggest gripe with the book which probably suggests the rest wasn't a million miles off the mark.

214 Posts
    yep like Dodge I'd recommend 'provided you don't kiss me'. Excellent book. If I recall correctly I think the author's wife pressed him into writing the book. He had all these notes from his interviews over the years just lying dormant. I might start reading it again this weekend after spotting this thread.

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BarelyLegal View Post
    I must check it out. On finishing The Damned United I was thinkin to myself I'd love if it continued into the Forest yrs, so that might be a good substitute, thanks.
    thats exactly what i thought when i finished reading it too - a pity