Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Pat Scully is new manager

Quote Originally Posted by eduardo View Post
    So what happens when a job comes up in a few months with one of the bigs clubs in Dublin can any of ye honestly say that Pat wont be tempted to take it the club will be left in chaos again
    Quote Originally Posted by eduardo View Post
    all im saying is that rather than going into this with blind optimism and believe me as a regular supporter of Limerick I hope scully works out we should be wary of a manger who obviously wants to work at higher level and who could easily clear off taking the good young talent that kerley put together last season withn him . having an opinion different to yours dosent make me a moaner hopefully im not proved right
    Whats your point?
    That Scully will leave Limerick is guaranteed, whether thats in 3 months or 3 years. Same as every other manager at every other club will eventually leave.
    Its what happens in the interim that matters. The club will survive post-Scully, and there's a very good chance that he'll raise the profile of the club in the meantime giving us a taste of success and increasing the support base.

You need to learn to enjoy the good times while they last my friend, we'll all be dead in 100 years
    LTID

Does anyone know if he will be bringing in his own backroom staff or be using the likes of Paul O Donnell and Mike Shields?

Id say they will have to take a step back,scully will bring in hes own people have no doubt is there a 20s league.

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    we'll all be dead in 100 years
    Speak for yourself Kev.

Quote Originally Posted by trueview6 View Post
    is there a 20s league.
    Yes.

Id say they will have to take a step back,scully will bring in hes own people have no doubt is there a 20s league.
    And an A League....Limerick in this again this year??

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    And an A League....Limerick in this again this year??
    Nope.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    Nope.
    not a bad thing Limerick not in the A league because its an added expense and not that big a squad as it is. the U20's gives good competitive football to the young lads comin through

Sharkfish whats wrong with the junior forums
    Its full of posts that start with 'I heard' and 'I was told' and. whats with list of players? We'll keep Wayne, Paddy and Tommy you can have the rest
    Greatest of respect for the Whites though.

How is Martin Deady getting on with ye ?
    " YOU NEVER WIN ANYTHING WIT KIDS "

STEP FORWARD COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIVISION CHAMPS 2007

what a great appointment for Limerick FC
    the club is moving in the right direction
    good man Jack and best of luck against Shels friday night lads

Quote Originally Posted by Boroman View Post
    what a great appointment for Limerick FC
    the club is moving in the right direction
    good man Jack and best of luck against Shels friday night lads
    Is there any truth shane o hanlon is going too be scullys adviser.

Don't know....is there any truth that Jack McCarthy lll is playing in goals tonight??

IMO i dont think there is a better manager around to take us to the premier... he led shamrocks rovers there, brought killkenny from nearly extintion at the time to new heights... his managerial skills are arguably perfect for a club like ours...
    If we had him in january and he built up hes squad of players i would have no doubts we would be a serious contender for promotion.. My fingers are crossed that we do a top 3-4 finish and he takes us up next season. My only reason for thinkin we wont do it this year is only coz of the fact that he inherited sum1 elses squad. Then again if we can do wel to june and he gets hes own players in then il get excited

Maybe I'm wrong but I dont see him bringing in a raft of new players, not this season anyway. We already have a lot of Limericks best players (although there are a few more around in various junior clubs) and they're playing for the right reasons (i.e. they're getting paid a pittance but theyre playing for pride and because they want to be involved with Limerick).

They are paid so little because the clubs income is very low as we only get crowds of 600 twice a month. That wont change overnight, and I cant imagine that Scully would be able to bring other players from outside because the money isnt there for them (personally I dont want a team of Dubs, we have enough talent in our own region).
    LTID

I think you have to be positive about Pat Scullys appointment. He is a high profile manager who will attract better quality players to the club. He has proved himself in Div 1 and was given too little time with Rovers in my opinion. I can see him taking you into the shake up for promotion. Best of luck with him.

Quote Originally Posted by KevB76 View Post
    Maybe I'm wrong but I dont see him bringing in a raft of new players, not this season anyway. We already have a lot of Limericks best players (although there are a few more around in various junior clubs) and they're playing for the right reasons (i.e. they're getting paid a pittance but theyre playing for pride and because they want to be involved with Limerick).

They are paid so little because the clubs income is very low as we only get crowds of 600 twice a month. That wont change overnight, and I cant imagine that Scully would be able to bring other players from outside because the money isnt there for them (personally I dont want a team of Dubs, we have enough talent in our own region).
    i wouldn't like to see a team of dubs playing in limerick jersey's but i have to say pat scully is a great appointment for limerick and some experienced players form other parts of the country including dublin would do no harm, I'm delighted though good luck to scully and the lads for the season

27 Posts

lads this slagging off ...juniorballers...is getting a bit tedious,give it a rest.scully is a good choice high profile and a good record.as regards wages there is a sugar daddy imo who,s backing this which is great cause we got a manager who with this squad should have us challenging for promotion.yes there is a chance scully might be tempted else where if a vacancy turns up but for now have no doubt he will give his all.scully as his previous record shows wont be afraid to crack the whip so if players are not doing what he expects we will see new faces,probably loan signings,however the squad is there for him to mould as he sees fit.can we go up....yes we can.

Did Pat take over team duties tonight? If he did, from those who were at the game, how did he fare?
    Esse Quam Videri

will pat live in limerick lads?

Dave Cambell was in the dugout with Pat Scully last night. Scully lives in Naas Co Kildare and its a one hour forty min drive so not too bad.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast