Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Rovers v Galway

Quote Originally Posted by roversforever View Post
    I don't like all the criticism of cashie here...he's going through a rough patch and he needs support. To all those that are saying he should take people on etc have you ever played the game?if you did you'd know its a confidence issue with the lad at the minute. If a winger is low on confidence he'll always look to go back and keep things simple. Give him a couple of games and the confidence will come.I think myself he's better used as an impact sub anyway,i wouldn't have him starting when everybody is fit but he's not as bad a player as people here are making out he is.
    I agree it could be a confidence thing, but he needs his manager's encouragement to do the positive things and have a go at defenders. He has to accept that it won't always come off but if he doesn't try then he will never regain confidence.

We can't afford to have have two players on the one side unwilling to attack. It is no wonder we are struggling to score.
    "Overwhelmed"

I read here that some of ye reckon Ryan is one of the 'finest' players we have had in awhile...

What are ye snorting?

He has no drive, goes missing constantly, is purely left sided, his passes that ye talk about are 10 yard passes..

Has Ryan ever split a defense? Drove at a team? No.

Anto Murphy player centre mid 3-4 times last season, was brilliat, Chris Turner was generally a class player, Hughes a mile ahead of Ryan..

Need to come around to yerselfs lads..he is decent, no better that that

Quote Originally Posted by Shedzer View Post
    I read here that some of ye reckon Ryan is one of the 'finest' players we have had in awhile...

What are ye snorting?

He has no drive, goes missing constantly, is purely left sided, his passes that ye talk about are 10 yard passes..

Anto Murphy player centre mid 3-4 times last season, was brilliat, Chris Turner was generally a class player, Hughes a mile ahead of Ryan..

Ryan plays like Pirlo. He sits there and distributes the ball. He's not going to make runs into the box, he needs other players to do that. He can't split a defence because we have nobody making any runs at all. O'Grady doesn't get into the box, which is a problem. Hughes did it loads in 2007, and look how many goals he got. He'd work well with Ryan, IMO.

Bit off topic but nice display again from the lads I couldn't make out what the banner said but the crowd cover was class

Quote Originally Posted by Shedzer View Post

What are ye snorting?

All different sort of players with different qualities.

Did you not see Ryan's pass to Keane on friday night in the second half, when Keane stumbled an attempt of a cross. We could and should have made more of it. Ryan does one of those rare things - he keeps possession for the team.

The only reason he seems to go missing is because of our tactic of long kick outs from Brush, by-passing centre midfield.
    "Overwhelmed"

Quote Originally Posted by Red Star View Post
    Bit off topic but nice display again from the lads I couldn't make out what the banner said but the crowd cover was class
    the full banner said "Sligo Rovers Football Club, The Pride Of Connacht"....dont think it went as well as planned. One of the lads made it. Its too good not to try and use it again.

the only reason he seems to go missing is because of our tactic of long kick outs from Brush, by-passing centre midfield. ____

Indeed!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Well Red View Post
    How many games is Boco missing, just one?
    Looks like it for now..June might be different

6/6 v Sudan
    20/6 v Mali

The weather conditions took a lot from the game alright, but both sides were fairly evenly matched with us being down to the bare bones and all and Galway missing O'Shea. After Ventre was sent off it changed the game and a point was a decent return. I thought both sendings off were harsh aswell, it's no coincidence that Alan Kelly has to make himself the centre of attention for every live tv game that he does.

Was in the new stand with my Galway Utd supporting mate and his kids, last time I'll do that!! Because of that I got out a small bit earlier probably than the rest of ye, was there any trouble walking back up the Dyke Road to the bus or anything? No big deal I'd say in the end, but when I was passing there were a load of pimply faced teenagers gathered together and on about waiting there for the Rovers fans etc, my mate's daughter said she saw a few of them picking up stones??
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

Quote Originally Posted by Mayo Red View Post
    No big deal I'd say in the end, but when I was passing there were a load of pimply faced teenagers gathered together and on about waiting there for the Rovers fans etc, my mate's daughter said she saw a few of them picking up stones??
    Yea i saw them actually,there was a good gang of them alrite but think they were more the sort that were trying to look hard without having the balls to do anything!

Quote Originally Posted by roversforever View Post
    Yea i saw them actually,there was a good gang of them alrite but think they were more the sort that were trying to look hard without having the balls to do anything!
    Ya, that's the impression I got too, sort of if their Mothers knew what they were at, they'd run them all home stuff!!! There's no place for that sort of crap though at a football game, no matter what the rivalry is.
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

Quote Originally Posted by prodsc View Post
    the only reason he seems to go missing is because of our tactic of long kick outs from Brush, by-passing centre midfield. ____

Indeed!!!
    yes we play a lot of high balls up to god knows who as when raf and ram are up front thye are too small and parkhouse has yet to show what he is made off
    but his timing of his jump is way off

Quote Originally Posted by roversman View Post
    yes we play a lot of high balls up to god knows who as when raf and ram are up front thye are too small and parkhouse has yet to show what he is made off
    but his timing of his jump is way off

Thats if he bothers to jump at all!!

Quote Originally Posted by dong2008 View Post
    [/B]
    Thats if he bothers to jump at all!!
    glad someone else thinks the same so true

Three games into the season lads.........let's calm down and see how things go over the next five.

Took five games last season before our first win.

Knee jerk reactions does no one anygood least of all OUR PLAYERS at OUR CLUB.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123