Thread: The Wrong Trousers: Setanta 10pm tomorrow

89 Posts
    Quality, get a cut in at the GAA, Bertie and all the rest in as well.......

Fitzmaurice and Nugent are doing a good job in defending the vanguard here.
    Last edited by MariborKev; 24/03/2009 at 9:22 PM.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

291 Posts
    Fitzmaurice doing a good job- he sounds like an amalgam of Foot.ie.

Sounds strange to hear all these arguments and opinions of the LOI being aired on TV, I'm only used to reading them online.

Very good segmant , thought the two boys came across well

Preaching to the converted with this show I feel. Ah well - better than nowt.

101 Posts
    I wish I had Setanta..

Anyone able to stick this online at some point?
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Something tells me that those two guys are posters on here. The host Daire whats-his-name is certainly putting it up to them. Whether it is due to his journo skills or because of his rugby allegiences I'm not sure.

Good show though. Sadly, I can't see it teaching the barstoolers the error of their ways.

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Something tells me that those two guys are posters on here.
    My thoughts exactly.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maynard View Post
    What would you rather, another problem just having an ill informed rant about the game here?

I thought the segment on Drogheda & Cork showcased the good points about the League. Passionate fans etc etc

Quote Originally Posted by Maynard View Post
    What do you want , i give up some loi fans just love the pariah tag

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor View Post
    What would you rather, another problem just having an ill informed rant about the game here?

I thought the segment on Drogheda & Cork showcased the good points about the League. Passionate fans etc etc
    Golden all-seater stadiums with free veggie burgers for all. But that's just me

Just saying that the ay's will say "ay" and the nay's will say "nay" I reckon.
    Fair play to them for doing the show. But show me a barstooler who has been sold on the LOI with a rational argument and I'll show you a figment of our collective imaginations.

89 Posts
    Yer man must have been dreaming up that Nick Leeson questions for ages.........

291 Posts
    Pity this isn't on RTE.

291 Posts
    Nick Leeson talking about the lack of toilets at EL grounds...Galway had 3 portaloos between around 1500 of our fans for the cup semi-final last year.

I'm glad the interviewer is asking quite tough questions, each interviewee is coping well so far. At first I didn't lke his style but it was important those questions be faced and faced they were.

EDIT:

We could be playing Foot.ie bingo here- tick these phrases off as they're mentioned:

Celtic

Bertie Ahern's English allegiances

Event junkie

GAA attendances

Premiership

Facilities

Barstoolers

Etc...
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 24/03/2009 at 9:59 PM.

89 Posts
    Helps when you have boys who know their stuff.

Fitzmaurice, Nugent, Leeson and Smith were all over the facts. Walker was the weakest guest, as he has been out of the country for so long....

Enjoyed it , thought the host was a bit of a ****

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Wasn't bad at all. I'd say the amount of people who actually watched it is tiny though. It's a shame because it made some very valid points.

The host was tough, but he asked questions that most "barstoolers" would have asked which was pretty much what was needed.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

Good show overall. Good to see stuff like this on tv and for once, it wasn't painting the league in a bad light.
    Quote Originally Posted by Maribor View Post
    as he has been out of the country for so long....
    As you could tell by his accent

Quote Originally Posted by Tis-smeee View Post
    Enjoyed it , thought the host was a bit of a ****
    He's a rugby head. Next weeks show will be right up his street. Although, to be fair to him, he gave the topic airtime. I'm sure he has some sort of sway in what goes on his show.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Hope I'm wrong
    Didn't see it all but from the little I did see, I was completely wrong. I despise Fitzmaurice but he held his own tonight.

Can't ask for more than fairness in shows like that and it certainly was that.

Just watching this now. God I feel old after watching them young lads and lassies on the Drogs bus!