Thread: The Wrong Trousers: Setanta 10pm tomorrow

89 Posts

The Wrong Trousers: Setanta 10pm tomorrow

Lads,

Just after seeing a trailer for the next of the "Sport Matters" series on Setanta.

The programme will focus on the League of Ireland and the "obsession with English football"

Short interview with Doolin etc in the trailer.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

70 Posts
    Nice to see you were ready to pounce on my mistake after less than 1 minute of it being up, rovers1!!

Should be a good if they show the league in a positive light - A nice change...

Quote Originally Posted by Buller View Post
    Nice to see you were ready to pounce on my mistake after less than 1 minute of it being up, rovers1!!
    ....what can i say!I learn from the pedantic so and so's on this thing!

Don't worry Buller, he made the same mistake himself. I had to tell him where it was

Looking forward to it, not something you see discussed that often on TV.

Don't worry Buller, he made the same mistake himself. I had to tell him where it was
    see what my second sentence meant

Is this show repeated at any point ? I'm out tomorrow night...

89 Posts
    Sunday evenings I think Steve.

Setanta Ireland only I reckon.

Quote Originally Posted by Buller View Post

Should be a good if they show the league in a positive light - A nice change...
    Betcha it won't. It'll be a few heads moaning about things and some people saying the league is on it's knees

There'll be no interviews with fans talking about the buzz they feel when their team wins a league or cup or promotion or a tie in Europe. There'll be no crowd shots of people going ballistic at a last minute winner.

There'll be very little positivity at all

Hope I'm wrong

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Betcha it won't. It'll be a few heads moaning about things and some people saying the league is on it's knees

There'll be no interviews with fans talking about the buzz they feel when their team wins a league or cup or promotion or a tie in Europe. There'll be no crowd shots of people going ballistic at a last minute winner.

Hope I'm wrong
    You're probably right. There'll also be loads of stuff about Drums, fellas with sharp haircuts and cigarettes on terraces, and how it was in the old days, to the tune of the Oul' Triangle or some such. That's what TV people think of when they think of League of Ireland, isn't it?

89 Posts
    Anyone watched any of the rest of the series?

Topics covered involved drinks sponsorship and the GAA, did the FAI squander the legacy of 1990, the rise of rugby in popularity etc etc.

They are usually interesting enough. The format will be a piece to camera on the issue and then back to the studio.

Yer man who used to be on Newstalk(can't remember his name) and there will normally be two or three guests. As with anything, the quality of the guests will be key.

Standard "Setanta heads" such as Eugene McGee, Emmett Byrne etc are normally rolled in at some point.

Can anyone rip this and get it online? I'm gonna miss it.

Should be worth a look anyways, and I'm not saying the League doesn't have its problems but the prog. will probably have the usual negative slant that most of the media seem to approach the League with unfortunately.
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mayo Red View Post
    Should be worth a look anyways, and I'm not saying the League doesn't have its problems but the prog. will probably have the usual negative slant that most of the media seem to approach the League with unfortunately.
    I saw the last episode and Gilroy said "in our next episode we will talk about why Ireland is 20 mins too close to England and how the LOI will never work" so make out from that what you will!!!

Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    I saw the last episode and Gilroy said "in our next episode we will talk about why Ireland is 20 mins too close to England and how the LOI will never work" so make out from that what you will!!!
    Cringeworthy TV to look forward to So!!
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    oh my god not Gilroy

70 Posts
    Please tell me you're joking! I just texted about 10 barstooling friends telling them it was on...
    This anti-LOI crap is really getting to me - it really is becoming pathetic.

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post

Hope I'm wrong
    Hope you're wrong too but can see it happening. Part of me dreads the thought of some Irish Celtic or Liverpool fan being interviewed about what it means to support their team and why they travel so far once a year to see them. And then part of me thinks, 'Damn it, let them look stupid, surely some of those watching will see the irony.'

Yeah, it'll never catch on: it's been 'never working' since 1921.
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 24/03/2009 at 8:47 PM.

Seem Ok so far but my breath is held

89 Posts
    Yer man Nugent was the lads who rocked the boat the Bohs AGM wasn't he?

291 Posts
    I think this looks good so far.....breath held though.