lads the f.a are losin it.. tevez scores from dodgy penalty award to equalize for city he then procedes to taunt poor old gary neville who responds by only showing him the score using hand signals !!! should tevez not be charged for running to celebrate his 2nd goal in front of utd benchmust admit though it was enjoyable to watch
" football is a simple game "
Immense player Tevez really is. His attitude, work-rate the fella is immense and add to that he knows were the net is.
What can the FA do realistically? He hardly walked over to Neville and taunted him. Ok everyone knows what he was doing but hard to prove. Anyway Neville deserved it if you ask me. He should have kept his mouth shut in the first place. Tevez could ask him does he think the money he earns at Utd has been justified of late. Horrible little man but a great player in his day but that day is long gone imo.
Yeah he's day is pretty much gone, the fact that he's about 5th/6th choice right back with everybody available would certainly indicate that. The whole thing is a non-issue really. It should make for a great 2nd Leg, City have been pretty ordinary on their travels this season but played reasonably well at OT in September. Was surprised with the strength of United's team last night, Ferguson didn't keep his promise after the Q/F win. He might have felt that City winning a trophy this early in their new era could be the catalyst for greater things, easing the pressure on their players significantly. Either that or he sees it as their best chance of a trophy this season!![]()
Last edited by DeLorean; 20/01/2010 at 3:19 PM.
I don't understand what your syaing about Neville keeping his mouth shut when Tevez couldn't keep his shut for the last year in relation to Man Utd.
He was in the press consistently over the last year about Ferguson and United.
If I was Neville I would have done the exact same thing.
If you watch the replay of his celebrations he was gesturing to the United fans behind the goal.
Which surely means he should be in trouble for inciting the United fans and then after his second running to the United bench.
If your looking for a horrible little man look no further than the gloriously behaved Craig Bellamy.
With his razor sharp elbows
fantastic ability to lift his feet off the ground in a tackle-
Incredible balance
Fantastic command of the English language.
To top it all off he is a professional golfer.
Some of the tackles he put in on Valencia last night and got away with were incredible.
"Joe Jordan is off to watch Young Boys tomorrow" Ian Darke
Ferguson and Utd exactly not Neville. Nothing to do with Neville. Anyway i seem to remember Utd fans backing him and lets be frank who could blame him fighting his corner last May sitting on the bench while Berbatov was playing all the time. Think about it now seriously Tevez is everything that's good about a proper pro on the pitch.
He was gesturing to his right running back the Utd fans were to the left hand side in the corner. He was not gesturing to them i can assure you.
I would imagine they have better chances of winning trophies other than the Carling Cup this season. I think once it was City he was always going to play a strong side throw in the Leeds defeat and it was definite but i feel he would have done it regardless of the Leeds result. Imo Utd will turn them over in the second leg.
Well I would have thought with the way they are playing that the Carling Cup would be their best bet. Hard to see them winning the Champions League on current form and Chelsea are in pole position in the League, also Arsenal will probably jump into 2nd tonight. You're probably right that the strong team was because it was City, probably out of repect to the United fans more than anything else. Hard to call the 2nd Leg but if United have Vidic and/or Ferdinand back I would make them favorites alright. The reactions of Tevez and Neville are nothing topics as far as I'm concerned.
The very reason he was sitting on the bench was that he opened his mouth in January and kept at it till the end of the season.
He is the Manchester United club captain, has been since the Roy Keane era, if that doesn't give you a right to speak about certain things then what does?
Anyhow he said Tevez is a good player?
No-one is saying he is not a good player. Of course United should have kept him but United are flat broke.
Ok Carlos I take your word for it....
"Joe Jordan is off to watch Young Boys tomorrow" Ian Darke
If I were Tevez I would have been insulted by comments like that from a player that was very average for the majority of his career
Neville on the other hand was just trying to score more brownie points with the Old Trafford faithful, most of whom would admit that United should have forked out 25m for Tevez. One can but assume that United simply don't have that kind of money these days when wondering why they didn't, especially after losing Ronaldo and replacing him with Valencia
From United's latest released financial information. Quite technical but gives an idea of the eye watering sums they are paying on their debt.
And he still wasn't worth the feckin money regardless! His United career gets better the longer it goes on since he played for them...
[QUOTE=jebus;1309665]If I were Tevez I would have been insulted by comments like that from a player that was very average for the majority of his career
neville not the most likeable player but would have to disagree about him being average for majority of his career was utd & england regular right back for numerous years and in his day was a top player . oh and if tevez happens to win as much trophies as neville during the rest of his career then he can feel insulted at players coments![]()
" football is a simple game "
World Club Cup with both a Latin American (Boca 2003) and European Team (Man Utd last year) - that's a pretty rare achievment, I'm trying to think of another player who has done it and cant. Won the Libertadores and Sudamericana Cups with Boca (like winning the CL and UEFA Cup) in 2003 as well as the 2003-4 Apertura (Argentine domestic league). Captained Corinthians of Sao Paolo to the Brazilian league championship in 2005 and voted the best player in Brazil - the last time a non-Brazilian got that award was getting on for 30 years ago - although you could argue Petkovic was unlucky not to win it in the late 90s early 2000s.
At Man Utd, two premier leagues, one CL, one league cup. At international level runner up in the Copa America and gold medal at the 2004 Olympics...
Gary Neville's only played and won things at one club, he's never tested himself in another country / continent.
It's a bit relative to talk about the value of money, is any sportsman worth that sort of money? But in the context of Berbatov's £30m odd million in 2008 and with Ibrahimovic costing over double Tevez (EUR 66m) this summer, I think Tevez's price was pretty much the market rate, perhaps even slightly better value. Additionally he had already played well and settled into the team (certainly pre-Berbatov) so there wasnt such a big risk in signing him (he was already an established player at Old Trafford).
For whatever reason Ferguson seemed to stick with Berbatov, once Tevez was not assured of a fair crack at the first team his departure, in a world cup season, was highly likely.
tevez never wanted to stay, he had the choice to tell his owner to **** off, and sign for utd for free, but he chose to stay with this person for some unknown reason and that person got 50mill just cause tevez is hes friend,
plus i dont think tevez is worth 50mill, utd had already given his owner 20mill, and he wanted another 30, for someone acting illegally he got a lot of money,
the facts are that the shieks have more money than the americans, always have and always will, and itll show over the next few years,
i personally think utd are fairly well equipped for this crisis, more so than any other club, but the question is whats the glazers end game, do they plan on selling the club, or just milk it till its dry, and leave the mess for someone else to clean up,
Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.