rambler14 must be Lee Cattermole's agent.
In the sports news that Fergie has come out and said Man U will not be buying anymore players.
I hate when people tout a 1 legged, paceless, gutless wonder as the next big thing just because alex ferguson has signed him, when in reality you haven't a clue what you're on about :-)
Give me cattermerole over owen any day - i would be in shock if united win the league this season with the squad they have at the moment. They have sold two of their three most potent strikers and ferguson has replaced them with michael owen!!
Lads, theres a reason that hull, stoke, etc. were after owen - thats his level now at best. Did anybody actually watch owen this season??
I honestly can't say own is anywhere near what united have in reserve at the moment in wellbeck and macheda. So, united will be starting rooney and berba up front - Rooney is a superb player when on form, but berbatov!! Give me strength..
I honestly can't say own is anywhere near what united have in reserve at the moment in wellbeck and macheda. So, united will be starting rooney and berba up front - Rooney is a superb player when on form, but berbatov!! Give me strength..[/QUOTE]
Maybe Macheda will get a run in the team next year. I can see Fergie starting with Berbatov and Rooney but eventually losing patience and giving Macheda a chance. He should have done all he could to keep Tevez happy last year and got rid of Berbatov.
http://www.breakingnews.ie/archives/.../eykfidojeycw/
If you believe this, he apparently did.
I think Owen is a masterstroke (and I'm no Utd fan) he will be used sparingly, whereas at a Stoke, Hull etc he would have to play every week, he works well with Rooney and will compliment Berbatov in a good blend of Pace & Guile.
It's undoubtedly a risk but Fergie has done it before with Bland (when it didn't work) and Larrson when it did.
If I was a Utd fan I'd be more concerned about the centre of midfield, it looks seriously lightweight compared to the other skyballbig4.
54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
Following Harps Home & Away
https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC
So basically you're saying it's easier to score goals at a lower level, think that's a given. Surely Owen should only be credited for wanting to play at the highest level he can.
But why would United fans be happy if they thought Owen was going to turn out to be useless, that makes no sense.
Agreed.
Well after seeing the response he got when he was subbed off in his last game at Old Trafford(vs Arsenal if memory serves) I belive he was a lot more favoured than. Berbatov. Tevez gives 100% in every game he plays, if the ball isn't in Berbatov's imediate area he doesn't seem bothered
Last edited by Neish; 14/07/2009 at 9:59 PM.
Granted Berbatov's scoring rate per game played was higher then Tevez's, but that kinda happens when one player rarely ventures out side the attacking half of the pitch and the other run up and down the pitch all day. Tevez would probably of scored a lot more if he just hung around in the last 3rd of the pitch like Berbatov
Yeah, heard that too, and I only hope Fergie is up to his old tricks with the media because as endabob1 said...
we really need a midfielder as was so obvious in the Champions League final when Xavi and Iniesta made it look like they were playing in a school playground.
If I were a real sadist (and I've been known to be at times), I'd put in a bid for Alonso. I rate the guy highly and think he's better than Carrick. P1ss of those scousers no end.
Although I don't think he'll stay in the Premier League.
C'mon Fergie spend some of that 80 million!!!
Esse Quam Videri
How do ye draw these conclusions and why is the match goers opinion so much more valuable than the couch potato when all of United's games are televised now? If anything I have a better feel for a match when seeing it on TV (depending on where I'm seated in the stadium of course). You do miss the off the ball stuff on TV but in the case of Berbatov you're missing zero unlike Tevez.
Is he going to play with City much more than he did at United?? With adebayor, robinho, santa cruz, bellamy, caicedo, chances are he might not.
I see Stewart Downing is on his way to Villa, wonder does this pave the way for a move for Ashley Young to United as the rumour was at the wkd. Would be a fantastic signing for united.
It'll be interesting anyway. I'd rate Tevez much higher than all of those guys to be honest but he'll have to try to keep the rest happy. Presume Robinho will just be played on the left, Wright-Phillips on the right with one from Adebayor/Santa Cruz and one from Tevez/Bellamy up front. Bellamy may play out right instead of Wright-Phillips as well I suppose. Presume the likes of Caicedo can forget about it from here on. Makes me wonder as well why they wanted to keep Daniel Sturridge so badly when he couldn't even get in their more modest line up last year, although he does look a really good prospect.
Or will Villa try to transform him into a cental midfielder as a replacement for Barry. Don't think it'll really work if they do as his main attribute is his pace going down the left and getting good balls in. Himself and Young both need to be played on the left really so you might be onto something alright.
Because they see the whole game, not just what TV shows, and they're also paying in week in week out - a crap player has more of an impact on them than someone who's just pressed remote. They're also less swayed by what people in the media say, and appreciate more than running around a lot which is what seems to be the main arguement for Tevez.