Page 10 of 29 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast

Thread: Man U

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    Not immediately but give him a few years.
    how many more years !!!!!.. he has been around the preimership long enough now and still playing with one of the so-called weaker teams why have utd / chelsea / arsenal / liverpool not shown any intrest so far

" football is a simple game "

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    Lee Cattermole would be a great signing for Man Utd in my opinion. Sunderland have apparently lodged a bid for him and seeing as Fergie is always keen on looking at players for the future I would like to see him hijack the bid.
    Since he broke in to the Middlesbrough team when he was 17 and onwards to Wigan he has been very impressive and to me he looks like a replacemnt for Roy Keane.
    Please God tell me you're taking the ****....

Exclamation

rambler14 must be Lee Cattermole's agent.

In the sports news that Fergie has come out and said Man U will not be buying anymore players.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    I hate when people tout some obscure player as the next big thing just to make it look like they know loads when in reality they haven't a clue what they are on about.
    I hate when people tout a 1 legged, paceless, gutless wonder as the next big thing just because alex ferguson has signed him, when in reality you haven't a clue what you're on about :-)

Give me cattermerole over owen any day - i would be in shock if united win the league this season with the squad they have at the moment. They have sold two of their three most potent strikers and ferguson has replaced them with michael owen!!

Lads, theres a reason that hull, stoke, etc. were after owen - thats his level now at best. Did anybody actually watch owen this season??

I honestly can't say own is anywhere near what united have in reserve at the moment in wellbeck and macheda. So, united will be starting rooney and berba up front - Rooney is a superb player when on form, but berbatov!! Give me strength..

I honestly can't say own is anywhere near what united have in reserve at the moment in wellbeck and macheda. So, united will be starting rooney and berba up front - Rooney is a superb player when on form, but berbatov!! Give me strength..[/QUOTE]

Maybe Macheda will get a run in the team next year. I can see Fergie starting with Berbatov and Rooney but eventually losing patience and giving Macheda a chance. He should have done all he could to keep Tevez happy last year and got rid of Berbatov.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by coast boy View Post
    He should have done all he could to keep Tevez.
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/archives/.../eykfidojeycw/

If you believe this, he apparently did.

I think Owen is a masterstroke (and I'm no Utd fan) he will be used sparingly, whereas at a Stoke, Hull etc he would have to play every week, he works well with Rooney and will compliment Berbatov in a good blend of Pace & Guile.
    It's undoubtedly a risk but Fergie has done it before with Bland (when it didn't work) and Larrson when it did.
    If I was a Utd fan I'd be more concerned about the centre of midfield, it looks seriously lightweight compared to the other skyballbig4.

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/archives/.../eykfidojeycw/

If you believe this, he apparently did.
    If Ferguson had played him more regulary than that lazy berbatov h*re he would of stayed
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cfdh_edmundo View Post
    I think if he drops down and plays at a lower level (something like the Dutch league, Championship in England or SPL) then he would thrive much in the way Ronaldo now is looking like a good player at Corinthians back in Brazil
    So basically you're saying it's easier to score goals at a lower level, think that's a given. Surely Owen should only be credited for wanting to play at the highest level he can.

Quote Originally Posted by coast boy View Post
    Its amazing all the United fans saying what a good bit of business it is by ferguson. If he had signed for Chelsea or Arsenal they would be slating it
    But why would United fans be happy if they thought Owen was going to turn out to be useless, that makes no sense.

Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    If I was a Utd fan I'd be more concerned about the centre of midfield, it looks seriously lightweight compared to the other skyballbig4.
    Agreed.

Quote Originally Posted by Neish View Post
    If Ferguson had played him more regulary than that lazy berbatov h*re he would of stayed
    He played in 2 less games than Berbatov and match going United fans would rate Berbatov higher than Tevez

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    match going United fans would rate Berbatov higher than Tevez
    Didn't sound like that from watching on TV. For most of the season Berbatov was ahead of Tevez in the pecking order. He was injured for a while and Tevez caught up on games a bit.

84 Posts
    He played in 2 less games than Berbatov and match going United fans would rate Berbatov higher than Tevez
    Well after seeing the response he got when he was subbed off in his last game at Old Trafford(vs Arsenal if memory serves) I belive he was a lot more favoured than. Berbatov. Tevez gives 100% in every game he plays, if the ball isn't in Berbatov's imediate area he doesn't seem bothered
    Last edited by Neish; 14/07/2009 at 9:59 PM.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Well after seeing the response he got when he was subbed off in his last game at Old Trafford(vs Arsenal if memory serves) I belive he was a lot more favoured than Berbatov
    Doesn't mean the fans didn't think that Berbatov performed better (which they did).

84 Posts
    Doesn't mean the fans didn't think that Berbatov performed better (which they did).
    Granted Berbatov's scoring rate per game played was higher then Tevez's, but that kinda happens when one player rarely ventures out side the attacking half of the pitch and the other run up and down the pitch all day. Tevez would probably of scored a lot more if he just hung around in the last 3rd of the pitch like Berbatov

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    In the sports news that Fergie has come out and said Man U will not be buying anymore players.
    Yeah, heard that too, and I only hope Fergie is up to his old tricks with the media because as endabob1 said...

Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    I'd be more concerned about the centre of midfield, it looks seriously lightweight compared to the other skyballbig4.
    we really need a midfielder as was so obvious in the Champions League final when Xavi and Iniesta made it look like they were playing in a school playground.
    If I were a real sadist (and I've been known to be at times), I'd put in a bid for Alonso. I rate the guy highly and think he's better than Carrick. P1ss of those scousers no end.
    Although I don't think he'll stay in the Premier League.
    C'mon Fergie spend some of that 80 million!!!
    Esse Quam Videri

2,081 Posts
    match going United fans would rate Berbatov higher than Tevez
    How do ye draw these conclusions and why is the match goers opinion so much more valuable than the couch potato when all of United's games are televised now? If anything I have a better feel for a match when seeing it on TV (depending on where I'm seated in the stadium of course). You do miss the off the ball stuff on TV but in the case of Berbatov you're missing zero unlike Tevez.

130 Posts
    Is he going to play with City much more than he did at United?? With adebayor, robinho, santa cruz, bellamy, caicedo, chances are he might not.

I see Stewart Downing is on his way to Villa, wonder does this pave the way for a move for Ashley Young to United as the rumour was at the wkd. Would be a fantastic signing for united.

2,081 Posts
    Is he going to play with City much more than he did at United?? With adebayor, robinho, santa cruz, bellamy, caicedo, chances are he might not.
    It'll be interesting anyway. I'd rate Tevez much higher than all of those guys to be honest but he'll have to try to keep the rest happy. Presume Robinho will just be played on the left, Wright-Phillips on the right with one from Adebayor/Santa Cruz and one from Tevez/Bellamy up front. Bellamy may play out right instead of Wright-Phillips as well I suppose. Presume the likes of Caicedo can forget about it from here on. Makes me wonder as well why they wanted to keep Daniel Sturridge so badly when he couldn't even get in their more modest line up last year, although he does look a really good prospect.

I see Stewart Downing is on his way to Villa, wonder does this pave the way for a move for Ashley Young to United as the rumour was at the wkd. Would be a fantastic signing for united.
    Or will Villa try to transform him into a cental midfielder as a replacement for Barry. Don't think it'll really work if they do as his main attribute is his pace going down the left and getting good balls in. Himself and Young both need to be played on the left really so you might be onto something alright.

Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    How do ye draw these conclusions and why is the match goers opinion so much more valuable than the couch potato when all of United's games are televised now?
    Because they see the whole game, not just what TV shows, and they're also paying in week in week out - a crap player has more of an impact on them than someone who's just pressed remote. They're also less swayed by what people in the media say, and appreciate more than running around a lot which is what seems to be the main arguement for Tevez.

Page 10 of 29 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast