Thumbs up Sligo Rovers 2 - 1 Bray Wanderers

Sligo Rovers 2 - 1 Bray Wanderers

Cretaro 4,46. Byrne 29.

At last we are on our way,I HOPE

Result is fantastic, does anyone know what the performance was like?
    Whats that comin' over the hill

It's the Monster,

The Cookie Monster!

Quote Originally Posted by Only1Rovers View Post
    Result is fantastic, does anyone know what the performance was like?
    We were the much better team tonight Raff's goals came from just outside the bo, second one the keeper was stranded and well away from his goal. Never stopped going forward and just as I said, if they could get the open goal it would give them the confidence to keep going. Bray had their own chance sn the last minutes, around the 85th minute Brush made a crucial and brilliant save. I hope this gives us the confidence and belief that we can get something out of this match. Raff could easily scored his hat-trick but was taken down in the box, no penalty though . Morrison,Raff (surely MOTM),Boco,keane,Ryan,Doherty,Holmes and Pers all had good games. I hope this is the start of proving Inside Man wrong about us ending up in a relegation battle .
    Coleman for Ireland

Great result for us, lets hope the boys get confidence from this.

The second half performance was very good, but despite all the pressure we failed to get a third goal. This left us nervousily defending for the last few minutes.

Both Cretaro's goals came from great play from Morrison. His ball for the second goal was superb. Brush's save in the second half was unreal. I don't know how he kept the ball out.

The performance both in terms of quality and committment was a lot higher than Saturday night, I hope they continue this on Friday in the Brandywell.
    "Overwhelmed"

Yes, yes and fcuking yes

Big improvement all around tonight. Poor conditions but we got stuck in and got a deserved result.

Cretaro is the man! Once again he comes good when it matters. Fair play to all the lads. Should be a good few travelling to Derry being Good Friday with nought else on and everything.

I'm delighted. Has brightened up my day

Hopefully I'll make it to Derry on Friday.

C'mon the Bit O'Red

Smile

yep. great result and the players answered my call to a man, showed great heart and commitment and played some superb football in the 2nd half. hopefully this shows them that they can do it when they put there minds to it. on a very bad night weatherwise and the pitch cutting up v. badly they showed great courage and there level of fitness is getting better. i thought all played well and sets us up nicely for friday. coke&carr were mightly relieved and fair play to those who came out to support the rovers yee are the real supporters. any way i'm very happy

First time in the Showgrounds this season. Forgot how much I missed the place.

Great to get 3 points. There's daylight between us and Drogheda now. Both of our goals were superbly well-worked. Morrison's ball for Raf's second was brilliant. The team was hungry and took the game to Bray. Credit also to Brush for that super save near the end. He surely earned his money there.

Having said that, and given that we have to face league leaders Derry on Friday, some points do need to be made. We were still sloppy at the back at times, and could've been a goal down even before Raf's first. Their goal was just a scramble from a free kick. Finally, that passage of play in the second half, where we were camped outside their box but NOBODY would take a shot, sums up a very irritating aspect of Cook's team. As the lads behind me said, they think they're Arsenal. We should have been, and had enough chances to be, 2 goals ahead by the 90th minute, yet we were hanging on at the end.

Bring 'em on, regardless. We'll give it a lash.

Great to hear we played better.

Although hard to believe, i actually thought this game was an away match, i was working today and even tried to get off early to travel to the game...but here was me, sittting in my place on the internet across town from the Showgies..and thinking Rovers were playing in Bray.

I feel so stupid.

About time Great win. We were poor in the first half,sloppy defending for the equaliser. The second half was by far the best we have played this season. After raf's second we seemed to grow in confidence. Passed the ball around very well and created a number of chances for once. Raf is unreal. He really has improved so much. I think it's fair to say he's one of the best players in the league. Does so much work and is so good with the ball at feet. All we had to do tonight was put the ball in behind the bray defence and he looked a threat.As said by others we should have scored a third. Feck we were lucky brush made that absolutely unbelievable save. That would have ruined our season imo as we have two tough games against derry and bohs and would have fallen of the pace. Ryan and O'grady controlled it around the middle,made a lot of tackles,especially Richie. Holmes and ventre were much better also. Finally morrison has delivered. He is quality but has been patchy up to tonight. He was brilliant though,at the heart of the two goals and did a number of other positive things. Not sure if it was wise of cookie to throw on tarpey and mcloughlin in a game like that,we seemed to be under a bit of pressure afterwards. Poor crowd,but hardly unsurprising given the weather and the champs league. Great to finally get the win and should give us the confidence to push on. Roll on the brandywell

Great result, could and should have had more goals aswell which would have taken away the slightly nervy ending. Almeida too will make a big difference in shoring up the defence when he's fully fit, it was a bit dodgy at times. I thought the lads played excellent overall though, some of the passing and movement was unreal especially with the way the pitch cut up because of the rain (cue dogs abuse again on MNS on Monday night about it, even though that kind of rain would cut up most pitches). Thought Raf should have had a stonewall penalty aswell in the second half, but the ref was far more competent than Alan Kelly was down in Galway.
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

It's unusual to mention the referee, but I agree he had a good game considering the conditions (bar the pen shout).
    "Overwhelmed"

Good result. But no point dwelling on it though. We must try to get 4 points out of the next 2 games. And we are capable of doing it. Alot of positives to take from it. Back playing some good football. Deserved it in the end. But have to say Bray deserved their goal, it was coming. Cook must have rallied them at half time and fair play, in the end it would have been devastating to not win that one.
    Like Roversfan i was baffled by some of the substitutions. Taking off O'Grady when we were in need to close the game out was weird(unless was he injured?). When Ross and Torpey came on we went under pressure and could have conceded, but that was some save by Brush! Unreal. I was sure it was in, then his arms just poped up and got to it hearts in mouths stuff.
    We'll get a point in Derry and beat Bohs at home now and we'll be cruising!

I thought that was stone wall penalty turned down as well. Any other views on it?

Great Result

Were Bray any cop?

Quote Originally Posted by red_away View Post
    Great Result

Were Bray any cop?
    They weren't bad, we were just better. They're a young side, but very enthusiastic. Their subs were out until kick-off, and all during h/t, kicking the ball around in the pouring rain. I thought it said a lot about them. Their no.9 did quite well up front, he'll be a decent player, I reckon.

They'll be fine as far as relegation goes. 7th or 8th I'd say.

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Midget Gem View Post
    Good result. But no point dwelling on it though. We must try to get 4 points out of the next 2 games. And we are capable of doing it. Alot of positives to take from it. Back playing some good football. Deserved it in the end. But have to say Bray deserved their goal, it was coming. Cook must have rallied them at half time and fair play, in the end it would have been devastating to not win that one.
    Like Roversfan i was baffled by some of the substitutions. Taking off O'Grady when we were in need to close the game out was weird(unless was he injured?). When Ross and Torpey came on we went under pressure and could have conceded, but that was some save by Brush! Unreal. I was sure it was in, then his arms just poped up and got to it hearts in mouths stuff.
    We'll get a point in Derry and beat Bohs at home now and we'll be cruising!

I thought that was stone wall penalty turned down as well. Any other views on it?
    We'll get stuffed in Derry like we usually do

They didn't beat us last year I think?

Good result. Defence stiil very sloppy Holmes doesn't seem to have much postitional sence and the whole team was in the box defending and bray managed to score giving away another bad goal. Still good preformance in the second half substitutions were very strange taking a big risk in such an important game.