Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Post

Limerick Post

Hi all, Has anyone noticed in recent weeks the utter drivel been written in the Post about Limerick FC.Nothing but negative garbage. Not surprising when it comes not long after the announcement of the rival Independant as LFC main sponser. I would like to thank Neil Delaney for an excellent response which the Post printed in this weeks edition.
    I urge everyone here to email the journalist at the post who seems to have a vendetta against our club.Please dont be nasty as he will probably use it against us,so lets just let him know about all the positive aspects of our great club.
    He can be contacted at donn@limerickpost.ie
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

Ive been reading the write ups in the post recently and they have been ****ing me off too. Glad to read what Neil sent in, no suprise though that the post didn't actually respond to his letter by saying they where in fact taking quotes out of context and writing things without anything to back them up. If you where to go by the post write ups recently there is no way you'd go to a Limerick FC match. Making out that Limerick FC is in a bad state and that plans to move into the Markets Field are now over. They basically have said there is no hope for Limerick FC at the moment.

Fair play Neil, your response was perfect, it surely put his pathetic ill informed write ups back in their place. Unless you have all the facts don't write about things you don't know or at least make some effort to find out the facts first. Last year the Post where all about Limerick and saying go out and buy the home jersey instead of united or liverpools third kits but this season all of a sudden they are dragging Limerick FC through the mud as far as i can see.

Finally, Im not the only one. That donn guy writes utter bullsh!t. If it does not have an oval ball (ie Munster or Irish Rugby its gonna be somet negative). That guy is so biased towards rugby that he should not be allowed to be a sports journalist. He claimed he goes to the matches, not once have I seen him attend a match so the rubbish he writes must be based on match reports. HE REALLY ****ES ME OFF. gonna stop now before i say too much!!!!!
    Limerick Till I Die - I know I am, Im Sure I am......
    Keep the Red Flag Flying high!
    Keep the Blue Flag Flying high!

Donn isnt a bad guy lads and has always pushed limerick fc in most of his writings. however as previously mentioned we now have a rival sponsor so id say he has been instructed by his superiors on that. but lets mention live 95 in their blatent biggotry to the club. Last years sponsor, have launched attacks on both NOC and DD when MK resigned thus bringing the club into bad press teritory. On st paddys day Leo and some limerick volenteers were giving it loads in the parade. Behind the Limerick FC lot was the impressive float of Limerick Live 95 (an old jeep with six girls walking behind it) at the viewing stand all groups were identified by the announcer (catriona Tierney of live 95) and the group was announce and greated. leo let a band go first......paused and approched the stand. Cathriona Tierney...."look who we have now....its live 95 fm wow look at that jeep and those girls" she totally ignored leo (who let the dignataries knwo who he and limerick fc were by pointing to the crest) i would like to point out that the jeep was over 100 yards behind leo and her ignoring him was blatant and amateur. for those of you who dont know we are co sponsored by spin south west radio station

Goes to show you Gael how small minded this town is. Not to expect too much from the Post or Live95 for this season.what ever you say about Donn being a good guy he really dos'nt have to take a totally negative approach all the time.Better no articles in the post than the tripe he's putting out now.Still i think we should let him know that Limerick FC has a strong and vibrant support locally.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

Let's flip it over then and see the Independent and Spin South West get behind their newest investment!

I'm glad someone else has seen this. I noticed this a few weeks ago even before the Limerick Independent was announced as the main sponsor. I said it to a few people and they all said it was strange that the articles about Limerick FC were very different this year. Sad that they have to write negative things because their rival newspaper is a sponsor of the club.
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

27 Posts

lads gael is spot on there with everything,i am amazed at 95FM,the guy who does the soccer slot is a disgrace and is certainly bordering on legal proceedings given the statements he has made recently.twice last week he announced the club were trying to persuade MK back..

who's this Mike Aherne or Liam Aherne??don't say Len Dineen now because everyone knows he's dotinghave you ever heard him trying to pronounce Spanish or Italian players namespriceless

Quote Originally Posted by oscar View Post
    have you ever heard him trying to pronounce Spanish or Italian players namespriceless
    'Ronaldio scored on his daybu against a-jax' of course despite not being able to commentate on two flys walking up a wall he was able to get his son the job as his 'assistant' a fcuking nobody from old crescent!

As for Donn and the post, at least they printed Neills letter. (well wrote btw)

I just happened to stumble across an old fanzine last night in the back of a drawer, from 2004 season. Our own Mr. Beacom had a page long rant in it about the Limerick Leader, allegedly they copied reports out of the fanzine and passed them off as their own in the paper. Trev raised the issue with them so they stopped printing anything to do with the club!
    Not much ever changes in this town does it
    LTID

Ah the good old 'o wafflesey' days of the leader

Quote Originally Posted by Voice of Reason View Post
    Let's flip it over then and see the Independent and Spin South West get behind their newest investment!
    Lets try go with this and contact our 2 new media sponsers and ask them to promote our club more.
    Limerickindependant.com
    spinsouthwest.com

Lads can ye stop being so quick to jump down the throats of the media. Yes alot of what they say can be taken the wrong way and i saw that article too and you have to respect opinions, you don't have to get all defensive about the club everytime somebody says something negative. There is such a thing as constructive criticism and if people took on board other peoples assessments it may help them improve. For what it is worth i think the media give senior soccer a very fair assessment in this city and i don't agree with what you say about the Leader or Live95fm, i am a keen follower of all sports and i think both provide a very balanced view. I don't know much about the independent but maybe as sponsors could someone from the club maybe write a piece in it every week informing them of what is going on at the club and promote what they need to. I thought at the match tonight the penalty shoot out was a great idea and maybe if fans who go to the games got a chance at half time it would be a bit of craic.

Senior Blue,
    While i respect your input, if we the supporters dont challenge the media bias who will? All we're lookin for is a balanced view.Why does the post deem it neccessary to print only doom and gloom about our club when as Niall pointed out in his printed letter there are so many positive things to say.What worries me is that those who are not regular supporters of the club will see only negativity IF they only read and hear the stance taken by the Post and Live95FM.These are the people we need to start coming to the games.
    As originaly stated this seems at odd from the positive support they gave us last year.Nothing much has changed(except the club is a lot more stable) apart from the fact that we have 2 new media sponsers.
    All arguments welcome!

i just don't get why you say the post, the leader and the radio are negative, i read them both and listen to the soccer on the radio and i never feel this way about their coverage. Their jobs are to keep us up to date, its not to say everything is rosy in the garden every week, wouldn't that be misleading their followers. What i am saying is it feels like certain people on this forum can't take anything negative being said, and in many respects its not negative, its merely stating whats going on but i do see where you are coming from by saying the person who isn't going to the games and hear negative things might form an opinion to not go to games. I just think there are a handful of people on this forum that are overprotective of the club and it will never get stronger if it cannot take criticism, good or bad

Did you read the Post on the 28thFeb.It led with the headline ' Homeless and managerless,yes Hopeless? not yet!'. He compared the club to the Dream Team program on Sky tv for all its antics and off the field activities which is a gross exaggeration . He say's the club is self destructing,untrue.He claims the move to the Markets Field is dead,untrue,there's much to be done but its very much a work in progress.he claims that jack McCarthy has stopped funding,again untrue. He joked that the club has had more comebacks than Elvis, while its true it should be appauded that so many people are willing to give so much to keep senior soccer alive in Limerick.I could go on with other reports but i'm not going to support that rag anymore. Why did it take a member of the public to put forward the positive aspects of our club.
    All i'm asking is for a balanced approach to reporting senior football in Limerick no more or less.

First I would like to say that I disagreed with most of Donn's article and well done to Neil with his response, but this is not typical of the guy. Like gael said he has been positive in the past and pushed for good publicity for the club. He's obviously been misinformed of late and Neil has set the record straight imo, so to say it's down to a rival paper being a sponser is conspiracy theories gone mad, put down the Dan Brown book lads.
    I agree that his first love is rugby, that's obvious but he's given other sports good coverage as well.
    And I've seen him in Jackman at a match, not writing at the time mind you but still there.
    And lets face it he did print Neil's letter, he didn't have to and he's done it before when people criticised his articles..... he's even put in some of mine.
    I'm sure he's the type of guy who will admit when he's wrong and be more balanced in future, don't be so harsh.
    Esse Quam Videri

matter of opinion

I thought Donns article was excellent.
    I am surprised that foot.ie have allowed some of the posts here to stand seen as some of them are bordering on being libelous.
    It goes to show that there is indeed bias as you have pointed out.
    Wake up and smell the coffee.
    Last edited by Bonovox; 22/03/2009 at 2:47 PM. Reason: .............

from your previous posts this one dos'nt surprise me.As long as people are knocking Limerick Fc your quite happy but once someone comes to their defence its automatically wrong and libelous. Please elaborate on your libelous claims.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast