Thread: Rovers 0-1 Pats

Rovers 0-1 Pats

Rovers go down by 1 goal Rovers 0 Pats 1
    Moran 31
    Last edited by Bigone57; 21/03/2009 at 8:59 PM.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigone57 View Post
    Rovers go down by 1 goal Rovers 0 Pats 1
    Moran 31
    Look on the bright side, you werent at it. Its probably time to re-evaluate, not good enough for full time.
    Last edited by red bellied; 21/03/2009 at 9:17 PM.

Disgusted with that preformance. They look like a team that will be fighting relegation this year. The whole attitude was wrong. I said Pats were a brilliant bet tonight before hand. Now I'll give you another wee tip: Rovers to go down. Every other club has added to their squad but looking at ours, we are the only ones who have taken a step backwards. Name one player that is of good quality that Cook has brought in... there is none. Morrison some people will say but the lad is a one man team, he doesn't pass and alot of good opportunities are passed up when he doesn't pass, I now see why he never made it really.
    As for everthing, there really seems to be something missing this year, and im finding it hard to get to grips with, Im not sure what it is really but it does look like the committment is not there. The fitness of some of the players again is brutal.

They were booed off at full time and rightfully too. A loss against Galway and there will be heads rolling.

Inside Man, please p*ss off. You are nothing but a WUM.

The players were not booed off at full time. At least anyone that did boo them off needs their head examined. We're 3 games in. I've never seen such fickleness in my life.

We were bad but relegation fodder? You'd love that wouldn't you. Then you could have another moan.

But to re-iterate my point, you're a bit of a tool, don't bother posting cause no-one values your opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post

The players were not booed off at full time. At least anyone that did boo them off needs their head examined. We're 3 games in. I've never seen such fickleness in my life.
    There was a small bit of booing in the main stand towards full time.

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    There was a small bit of booing in the main stand towards full time.
    Wow. I'm shocked.

If that's our attitude We don't deserve a decent football team. FFS.

You obviously need your ears waxed because from were i was sitting they were clearly booed off. Of course I would only love to prove myself wrong. But Im just warning you for whats ahead, I've been following Rovers for over 40 years now and i know when there is trouble ahead, I've seen it all too often. But you my son do seem to be one of these young fella's with their heads in the clouds, never mind me getting mine examined.

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    We don't deserve a decent football team.
    Do we have one?

Absolutely terrible performance. Pat's look like nothing special and yet we were never gonna score. I can't see us get anything in Galway without Raf and Boco. Still too early to judge but if we're like this for the rest of the season then we're in for a long one.

Not a great performance but atleast it was better than against Shams, Holmes really made an improvement from that game aswell (in the first half anyways), I don't know why people are questioning the team after just 3 games because i'm sure everyones blue in the face saying the team needs time to gel together and we should judge after 9 games which is very true. In regards to boing at full time, I didnt here any, near the end there was a wee bit when they kept giving away the ball. I think the one thing Cook needs to sort out is free kicks, wasted far too many from good positions by just blasting them over. Lads lets not forget, it took us 5 games to win last season and look where we ended up.
    Coleman for Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by Inside Man View Post
    You obviously need your ears waxed because from were i was sitting they were clearly booed off.
    RW would have been in the blue stand
    and the amount of booing was so small i barely heard it from the press box.

Quote Originally Posted by Inside Man View Post
    You obviously need your ears waxed because from were i was sitting they were clearly booed off. Of course I would only love to prove myself wrong. But Im just warning you for whats ahead, I've been following Rovers for over 40 years now and i know when there is trouble ahead, I've seen it all too often. But you my son do seem to be one of these young fella's with their heads in the clouds, never mind me getting mine examined.
    Well as I said I did not hear and tbh I'm embarassed by the fact some people chose to boo them off. Absolutely ridiculous.

Don't lie, you'd love to be proven right, to be able to come onto a ****ty little internet forum and spout your rubbish from behind the safety of username.

As for head in the clouds? That would be expecting us to win the league or challenge for a title. Simple fact is that we're not good enough. But Perhaps you should get your head out of your arse and start being real. How does almost the exact same team go from European Place to relegation fodder in just 4 months? The players were all on drugs or something last year? Get real.

123 Posts
    Do we have one?

Absolutely terrible performance. Pat's look like nothing special and yet we were never gonna score. I can't see us get anything in Galway without Raf and Boco. Still too early to judge but if we're like this for the rest of the season then we're in for a long one.
    sligoman are cretaro and boco not available for our match on friday?

oshea will be missing for us. sorry for goin off topic.
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

Quote Originally Posted by Olander View Post
    sligoman are cretaro and boco not available for our match on friday?

oshea will be missing for us
    Cretaro's suspended and Benin are playing so I'm assuming Boco will be called up.

Very poor TEAM PERFORMANCE tonight....

Does Cook care anymore.. arguing back to a Old time Heckler instead of watching the game.. Cook still had his voice..very unusual ..............

Pats were CRAP also

only difference was a GOAL that they scored due to BRUTAL defensive play
    Last edited by prodsc; 22/03/2009 at 12:49 AM.

Very poor tbf, maybe even worse than shams? Very little urgency, which is dissapointing imo.

Personally I'm going to give them time.While I know it was frustrating, anybody who would boo the team off, 3 games into the season, on the back of last seasons performances, well they are just plain stupid.

Thought peers and keane did well, pats got very little change of them. Holmes also was improved but made a couple of errors. He's a good crosser of the ball. The free kicks in general were bad. For the goal cawley was let through to easily and they had two free men. Maybe it was just me but i thought parky did ok. Made a nuisance of himself and won quite a few headers. The thing is there wasn't anybody picking uo the loose ball that resulted. Cretaro and boco should have anticipated it better imo. Tbf pats were no better than us.

Before the goal we were passing it well and should without doubt have scored from cash's chance. It will be good to have doc back next week.

The crowd was poor,the rugby may have slightly affected it. We'll need a big crowd next week for what is a hugely important match.

O ya and well done for peers for at least acknowleding the fans in the jinks, the only bloody one.......

Thought we were comfortable winners. More composure in front of goal and we couldve had an easy night. Thought your back 4 were all over the place and never felt under threat

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Thought we were comfortable winners. More composure in front of goal and we couldve had an easy night. Thought your back 4 were all over the place and never felt under threat
    Maybe I'm being blinkered but I didn't think there was much between the 2 sides. Yes ye were ahead, but before and after the goal ye didn't do much imo(and I know we didn't either). V.good crowd down from ye though, fair play.

I hate it when fans boo their team it has always upset me and no matter what I would never do it .
    I do think it will be a close game next week as the form book go's out the window when it's a Derby so I will call it a 1-1 draw .

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Maybe I'm being blinkered but I didn't think there was much between the 2 sides. Yes ye were ahead, but before and after the goal ye didn't do much imo(and I know we didn't either). V.good crowd down from ye though, fair play.
    Of course you're blinkered and so am I. The truth is probably in the middle of us. We definitely had chances in the first half. Can only think of one for your self

Poor stuff and deserved nothing from the game in my view. Not sure if we had any players that even played ok out there, we seem to have a few half chances and that was it, nothing of real note in the second half ar Keane's header. Pats looked so comfortable through out the second half, if there had been a second goal i think it woul have been a second Pats goal.

We need Almeida back soon and that will help the defence. The midfield is a joke an absolute disgrace, with O'Grady unable to pass water. I would have serious issues with Cook and what he done with his limited funds in the pre-season. We allowed Gary Curran to leave, who we could have done with last night as we had only one central midfielder fit to start. With so many players out of contract last season we should have been able to wheel and deal a bit better than we did in the transfer market even working within a tight budget.

We have no shape or balance to the team at the moment which is so badly needed.
    Last edited by Rovers Maniac; 22/03/2009 at 12:03 PM.