Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Big Mick Wolves team - Irish players

Quote Originally Posted by The Legend View Post
    oh yeah? you think he'd be able to get a certain cork fella that wont play back to the team
    I am sure he'd be happy to consider any cork fella who actually said he wanted to play for Ireland.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

1,928 Posts
    Correction - any cork fella who actually said he wanted to play for Ireland and would turn up.

253 Posts
    Happy for Mick- as mentioned wouldn't mind him managing us again at some point.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post
    Happy for Mick- as mentioned wouldn't mind him managing us again at some point.
    There's an old cliche in football: "never go back". Seldom works to be honest, and why would he? People spitting at him and banging at the window of the bus he was on because of the S thing. Hounded out.

Hope Wolves do well in the top flight but we won't see him managing his country again. The thought of the Panel with their knives out for him once again has put me off my breakfast.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

2,796 Posts
    Delighted for Mick & the Irish lads at Wolves, not to mention Manc Irish Wolf. Well done all. It seems like Keogh had a good game yesterday, making SEB's goal for him. Nice to see Keogh being instrumental getting them over the finish line.

Second time Mick has got promoted (in all likelihood twice winning that division) - a great feat given that he has done so both times on limited finance and through intelligent buying. Not a blemish free season - there was a colossal wobble that they survived only because everyone else had a colossal wobble too!

In the past Mick has been very fair and very loyal to those who have done well for him. I think Wolves will need reinforcements and I think he's going to have to be tough on some of those who may not be up to the task. I hope, like MIW suggested, that Mick makes moves for the likes of O'Dea, Garvan etc. but I think some wise old heads will be needed.

Congrats to Mick, Wardy, Foley and Andy Keogh.

And I'd definetly have Mick McCarthy back. It does actually work, look at Fatih Terim for Turkey.

192 Posts
    Delighted for Mick. Given the limited finances available at Wolves this is a tremendous achievment.

It is depressing that the promotion merits only a very cursory mention in the Irish media compared with Sunderland's promotion two years ago.

Whatever the rights and wrongs of the Saipan issue it is a shame that people seem to regard McCarthy as a "second class" Irishman of some kind. To me, he was one of the most passionate players and managers we have ever had (although he'd admit himself he was never the most skillful player in the world).

I still have the video of the interview he gave after the defeat to Italy in 1990 (still sweating in his kit). He was raging and continued to repeat that "we should have won this whole bloody tournament". No one Irish player has a monopoly on having that "winning mentality".

Hope Wolves stay up next season and that Mick gets the credit he's due.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    I still have the video of the interview he gave after the defeat to Italy in 1990 (still sweating in his kit). He was raging and continued to repeat that "we should have won this whole bloody tournament". No one Irish player has a monopoly on having that "winning mentality".
    Never saw that footage and would love to watch it: any idea if it's accessible online anywhere? 1990 was three years before my love affair with footy began so sadly most of that tournament passed me by in my childish ignorance...

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TerryPhelan View Post
    Never saw that footage and would love to watch it: any idea if it's accessible online anywhere? 1990 was three years before my love affair with footy began so sadly most of that tournament passed me by in my childish ignorance...
    I don't think I've ever seen it on TV other than the night of the game itself. I have a box full of VHS tapes back in Dublin covering most of the games from 1986 to 2002. I know The Worm has a thread here about converting old tapes into digital format and that is something I would like to do at some point. I'll be back in Dublin for the two home games in October so I'll see if I can dig out some of the original footage and transfer it.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

20 Posts
    Yeah, that sounds like something we could all enjoy if somehow an enterprising chap managed to put it onto youTube

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Not a blemish free season - there was a colossal wobble that they survived only because everyone else had a colossal wobble too!
    I'd say Mick had the hardest wobble to handle and the bigger task to keep Wolves on track.

Despite the wobble, Wolves's overall points gained already would have won the championship in previous years in a canter.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    happy for the Irish lads at Wolves but I still cant manage to wish McCarthy well. Didnt like him before Saipan and cant stand him since
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Absolutely buzzing after the win yesterday and can't wait for a chance to see us battling against the great and the good of the Premier League.

Fair play to Mick, he's remained calm all the way through and has created a great platform for future development. Appreciate that he's not every man's cup of tea - but credit where it's due.

Quality performance yesterday with exceptional performances from Foley, Ward & Keogh, the latter effectively winning us the game with his determined running and selfless assist.

As mentioned previously definitely think that Foley will handle the step up comfortably and providing Keogh can maintain his confidence and bulks up a bit am hopeful that he can make a positive contribution and continue his development into a useful asset for Ireland. Similarly Wardy has potential - as a recent convert to left back he has a bit to learn - however he has all the right attributes and as an attacking left back is well suited in the modern game (Patrick Evra showed the transition from striker to full back is not impossible and McCarthy has likened Ward to Kilbane in his adabtability and ability to learn, who ultimately defied the odds) - if the jump up comes to soon for him, I'd be happy to see him loaned out for a year to hone his skills and considering that his development this year has been nothing short of amazing would not put it past him to keep on improving.

Obviously need to buy big in the summer, but the difference being this time that Mick has Steve Morgan's reported £500 million wealth to call upon, rather than the £6 million he had at Sunderland. Expect us to have a few experienced heads on board come August.

Appreciate that these are opinions of a mere mortal formed from watching them week in, week out, rather than someone with the omniscient insight of YoungIrish (Re-read your last post and ask yourself 2 questions: a) Do I sound arrogant? and b) Do I sound foolish? - both of which on reflection will probably be concluded with a Yes). Possibly rose-tinted but hopeful all the same.

Up the Wolves.
    Last edited by Manc Irish Wolf; 20/04/2009 at 1:13 AM.

60 Posts
    Delighted for Big Mick. Hopefully he gets the financial backing he needs to strengthen the team. Hope the Irish lads are not discarded. I really hope Keogh makes in. I think he is a player who deserves success by his sheer determination and effort. Foley will not doubt make it, not sure about Ward though. Reckon Gleeson will be moved on for his own good.

I don't envy Mick his task. The Wolves crowd can be a very impatient lot.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    happy for the Irish lads at Wolves but I still cant manage to wish McCarthy well. Didnt like him before Saipan and cant stand him since

harsh, i was never a fan of him when he was in charge (mostly due to some bizarre selections pre-Saipan) but have to say I'm delighted for him and the Irish lads at Wolves

He seems like a decent chap and a very good manager at championship level (yet to prove himself in the prem) and I hope they manage to consolidate their position in the prem next year...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I'd say Mick had the hardest wobble
    If it's hard surely it's not wobbly?

1,928 Posts

I suppose it's way too late for me to do an edit.
    I walked into that one.

Well done Mick Mac!! Hopefully you can show all the doubters that you're a top draw manager. If you had the backing that Keane had we'd be looking at a European spot rather that a relagation fight. Well done to Wardy. Some badly need money for the coffers at Dalymount. I'm glad Wolves are back not just because of all the current Irish players and ex-Sunderland and Bohs players. Wolves are a big club and big clubs deserve to be in the Premier League.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SunderlandBohs View Post
    Well done Mick Mac!! Hopefully you can show all the doubters that you're a top draw manager. If you had the backing that Keane had we'd be looking at a European spot rather that a relagation fight. Well done to Wardy. Some badly need money for the coffers at Dalymount. I'm glad Wolves are back not just because of all the current Irish players and ex-Sunderland and Bohs players. Wolves are a big club and big clubs deserve to be in the Premier League.
    I know Scunthrope received £150,000 bonus when Keogh and Wolves got promoted. How much do Bohs stand to make out of it (Ward)?
    Always look on the bright side of life

Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    I know Scunthrope received £150,000 bonus when Keogh and Wolves got promoted. How much do Bohs stand to make out of it (Ward)?
    Not 100% sure. I know the fee had a few add on fees. I think promotion was one of them. Can't imagine it to be a massive fee. It's something I'll have to looking to.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast