Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Dundalk fans

433 Posts
    Here we go again...
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

555 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    The attack happened 15mins after the game away from the ground and your trying to blame gufc !!!
    If these people hadn't tickets, I doubt they would have travelled from coast to coast.

What measures do Galway Utd take to make sure that the people they sell tickets to are not liable to cause trouble.

This was a sporting event organised by Galway Utd. The revenue and profits arising from the sale of tickets go to Galway Utd.

It is their responsibility.

However, if these were tickets supplied by Galway Utd to Dundalk FC for dispersal among their fans, then the responsibility resides solely with Dundalk FC.

Sorry what baloney. How can Galway police other clubs fans before they arrive in Galway. Catch yourself on young fella.

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    If these people hadn't tickets, I doubt they would have travelled from coast to coast.

What measures do Galway Utd take to make sure that the people they sell tickets to are not liable to cause trouble.

This was a sporting event organised by Galway Utd. The revenue and profits arising from the sale of tickets go to Galway Utd.

However, if these were tickets supplied by Galway Utd to Dundalk FC for dispersal among their fans, then the responsibility resides solely with Dundalk FC.
    Serously White Horse, you should really read all of the posts. There were 12 Gardai at the game plus hired professional security men and lots of trained volunter stewards. Nothing happened of note during the game (apart from Galway United winning the game!)

The violent incidents happened 15 minutes after the game was over. The incidents also happened on a public road and not in Terryland Park as you suggest. This is the responsibity of the Gardai. That's why the Gardai arrested the three.

Would you like for Galway United FC to bring these people (that you are calling "scumbags") home, read them a bedtime story and tuck them into bed?
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

147 Posts
    Lads, can we just get our facts right - there were, unfortunately, no arrests - according to today's Sentinel, the attackers had migled back with the Dundalk fans by the time the cops came on the scene. They are investigating but there were NO arrests
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts

Are u havin a laugh??
    Its really not that complicated!!!

How did these scumbags come by tickets for the game?

If they got them from Dundalk FC, the club needs to hold our hands up.

However, if they got them from Galway Utd, they need to accept repsonsibilty.
    Yes, you are correct. A number of scumbags from Dundalk approached Galway United with regards to tickets for Fridays game. Galway United were happy to sell tickets to the Dundalk fans who seemed intent on causing trouble. Then Jesus woke in his tiny crib and smelled the ****ing coffee.

are the worst in the league.3 arrested during tonights game .they also attacked galway fans away from the ground 3 fans had to receive medical treatment.
    2 weeks in a row people have been on here complaining about Dundalk fans, not a great start for them back in the Premier....

I can't understand why people are saying they are not Dundalk fans, they bloody well are Dundalk fans and there damaging you club, it's the same as when Bohs or Rovers fans start acting up, the big difference is that Bohs and Rovers have started to do something about it and don't let these guys into the ground. Even on away trips tyhey bring their own security and spot the guys and wont let them in.

My last experience of Dundalk fans wouldn't have been great, no violence but just a lot of scumbaggary, drunken louts and an unreal amount of drugs believe it or not. Now i know there obviously all not like that but they do give Dundalk a bad name

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Lads, can we just get our facts right - there were, unfortunately, no arrests - according to today's Sentinel, the attackers had migled back with the Dundalk fans by the time the cops came on the scene. They are investigating but there were NO arrests

There were Dundalk fans brought away from Terryland during the game thats where the confusion is coming from. As for White Horses comments manure is the best way to describe them.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

147 Posts
    Being 'brought away' from somewhere is a hell of a lot different to actually being arrested. It's a pity there were no arrests, and at this stage there probably won't be. To ensure it doesn't happen again in July, I'd agree with earlier suggestion to just ban Dundalk supporters from Terryland

1,552 Posts
    I don't see why there wouldn't be arrests even at this stage. There must be plenty of people on the bus those guys were on who know who caused the hassle, if the will was there to investigate from the Garda side and rid their club of scum from the point of view of those on the bus then it shouldn't be too difficult.

I'd agree with earlier suggestion to just ban Dundalk supporters from Terryland
    That's the most ridiculous thing I've read here yet. You'll be asking us to get approval notes from our mammies next.

75 Posts
    Being 'brought away' from somewhere is a hell of a lot different to actually being arrested. It's a pity there were no arrests, and at this stage there probably won't be. To ensure it doesn't happen again in July, I'd agree with earlier suggestion to just ban Dundalk supporters from Terryland
    You cant just ban all Dundalk Fans what is that going to solve.Both clubs and the FAI are working on this and im sure the Gardai are involved.

125 Posts
    I have to say when I heard the news on Saturday I was quite ashamed that some of our thugs made their way over to Galway to cause trouble and I feel for the guys who got a doing. I wanted to go to fridays game because Galway is a great away day and their supporters are decent blokes to say the least but i wasn't able to make it due to other commitments.

Dundalk fans: Lads we can't hide behind the "oh they are not real dundalk fans" excuse. You see half the clowns that head into the ground whose intentions is to look for trouble. Some of those guys are pure scum and all they ever do is ruin the image of the club. There is more decent dundalk fc supporters than them but they are ones who make the most noise and let the good name of our club be tarnished. We need to stand up to these *******s and make sure our reputation isn't further tarnished. I mean the supporters, the club and the stewards.

once again apologies to Galway supporters
    Long Live King Kenny

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by maroon ultra View Post
    Hold on a minute here, I was one of the three assaulted and no way did I or my mates go outside the ground looking for trouble or did anyone have a bottle of bud or block a bus. I will admit that one of my friends was drunk but I was not drunk or my other mate. Two Dundalk followed us down the Dyke Road, originally I thought they were Galway fans as they had no colours on and were walking towards the City Centre. They began provoking us and then spilled a drink or something over my friends head. They shoved my friend up against a wall and punched and kicked him and at that point me and my mate went to help. More Dundalk fans arrived on the scene and and next thing I knew all three of us were on the ground getting kicked and punched. The Dundalk bus was the other end of the ground so they had no reason to be there other than to cause trouble.
    My apologies I was just quoting a post that was on orielweb. The two lads that posted wouldn't normally post lies so i can only imagine that they must have mistaken your group for another.
    It was a cowardly attack no matter what and hopefully those involved will be punished. Is there cctv in or around the ground? Have you looked at bebo yet to see if you can find any of the scumbags that attacked you? There are a few schooligan bebo pages that i'm sure some of them must be members of.

Lastly while not trying to distance Dundalk FC from the actions of a few scumbags. What exactly would people like the club to do? A few posters were suggesting that Galway couldn't be expected to police Dundalk fans outside the ground but how can Dundalk FC stop a group of people booking a bus and going to an away game? The trouble happened outside the ground so even if we did bring stewards they would have done little good.
    I don't argue that we seem to have a scummy element that has attached itself to the club (which seems to have grown in recent seasons) but how
    can the club be held responsible for something that is outside a LOI ground and beyond their control?

Dundalk should ban these Scumbags from Oriel, They should provide other clubs with info on all the banned thugs. Dundalk fans should let these *****s know that their behaviour is not acceptable. If they are stopped from getting into grounds they might eventually give up.
    There was not a lot anyone could have done to prevent last Friday's attack but if theses thugs are prevented from entering grounds it might save others from a similar fate.
    It seems since that Green St movie came out more and more of these little ****s are turning up at LOI games. They need to be told that this is not England, we do things differently here. If they want to run around like British hooligans **** off over to Britain.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

75 Posts
    A lot of clubs including Bohs,Rovers,Cork and ourselves send members of our event teams to away games and liase with the other clubs event teams before we go so that the chances of troublemakers travelling is lessened.

All clubs bar Dundalk pre sell tickets on ticketmaster which gives less control to the clubs in stopping troublemakers buying tickets but we actually find its easier to control away fans inside the ground rather than letting them loose to do damage outside the ground or in town if we stop them.

In the end its down to the other Dundalk supporters to stand up to theses lads give their names to the club and the gardai and you will see once the ringleaders are dealt with the cowards tha hang out of them will dissappear.

Thanks to yourself and the other Dundalk Fans on here who have shown your disgust and not tried to defend the undefendable.

Every club has the potential to attract trouble makers and scum bags. We all like to go on about OUR club but when the proverbial hits the fan it becomes someone elses fault / problem. There is no point in blaming the clubs, the stewards, the guards etc.

Every supporter has a responsibility to help weed out the scum. If you are aware of any such trouble makers at an away fixture there is imo an obligation on you to inform the local stewards / gardai.

To the Dundalk supporters apologising, please don't, unless you were directly involved (which I doubt). If you want to show your regret try and identify those responsible and pass on their details to the club / guards.

Last week it was a few scumbags from Dundalk, the next time it could be any one of our clubs
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

147 Posts
    You cant just ban all Dundalk Fans what is that going to solve..
    It ewould solve the problem of United fans being attacked by them at the game in July. Why can't you ban them? Or at least ban them until Dundalk FC confirms to United that it has identified the people involved, and banned them from Oriel Park, from travelling on official supporters buses, and provides United with photos fo them. Until then, why can't you ban them??

75 Posts
    It ewould solve the problem of United fans being attacked by them at the game in July. Why can't you ban them? Or at least ban them until Dundalk FC confirms to United that it has identified the people involved, and banned them from Oriel Park, from travelling on official supporters buses, and provides United with photos fo them. Until then, why can't you ban them??
    Dundalk like ourselves dont have official buses. Nothing to stop any bunch of fans hiring a bus in any law I know of.

Page 8 of 11 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast