Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: TV3 "Lawless Ireland" on LOI hooliganism tonight 9:00

555 Posts

TV3 "Lawless Ireland" on LOI hooliganism tonight 9:00

TV3 are doing their bit to promote the League Of Ireland.

Tonights "Lawless Ireland" features hooliganism at League Of Ireland. The producer was just interviewed on the Tom Dunne show on Newstalk (what a great sponsor ). He recalled one sinsiter incident at a Boms/Shams game where a man was attachked with an umbrella!

http://www.tv3.ie/article.php?articl...locID=1.65.321

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Same as you so...

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Who said they had to promote the league?

At least in the LOI we keep our violence outside the grounds unlike other sports in this country.

Well its if anything like their previous episodes it will be made up mostly of grainy youtube footage & an idiotic narrator who tries to sensationalise every scene by showing footage in slow motion.

Its been poorly made & produced. No attempt at an in depth analysis of any topic. With shows like this, its no wonder TV3 don't do very much home made productions.

89 Posts
    Looking forward to their episode involving thick GAA playing scumbags knocking the sh** out of each other off the ball, before getting 'ticked' by Father Ó'Mhallamhgaú for conduct unbecoming of a son of Erin.

At least it's something to watch after MNS tonight.

Could watch Scrubs either. Tough choice.

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Looking forward to their episode involving thick GAA playing scumbags knocking the sh** out of each other off the ball, before getting 'ticked' by Father Ó'Mhallamhgaú for conduct unbecoming of a son of Erin.
    Jayzus - some people have major chips on their shoulders! Just because a poor quality tabloid TV station makes a poor quality tabloid television programme about soccer hooligans it's all the GAA's fault. Good man and sure Croker's a kip aswell.

I think it's quite legitimate to make comparisons on how different sports are treated. The GAA are the last remaining untouchable in Ireland, after their bedfellows in the Catholic Church have fallen from grace for their abuses of the young people of Ireland.

Does any body watch TV3 anyway?

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CJTheGull View Post
    Jayzus - some people have major chips on their shoulders! Just because a poor quality tabloid TV station makes a poor quality tabloid television programme about soccer hooligans it's all the GAA's fault. Good man and sure Croker's a kip aswell.
    Just imagine the uproar if someone made a similarly overblown tabloid programme about the far more real, widespread and dangerous problem of violence at GAA games. TV3 wouldn't dare to take them on. If you want to talk about Lawless Ireland its ridiculous to focus on the tiny number of football "hooligans" when you consider the violence on show at GAA matches.

I think it's quite legitimate to make comparisons on how different sports are treated. The GAA are the last remaining untouchable in Ireland, after their bedfellows in the Catholic Church have fallen from grace for their abuses of the young people of Ireland.
    +1

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Just imagine the uproar if someone made a similarly overblown tabloid programme about the far more real, widespread and dangerous problem of violence at GAA games. TV3 wouldn't dare to take them on. If you want to talk about Lawless Ireland its ridiculous to focus on the tiny number of football "hooligans" when you consider the violence on show at GAA matches.

Do you not remember the "uproar" when one of the Sundays did a piece on the behaviour on Hill 16 when the Dubs were playing. The amount of coke snorted etc........

Cue indignation from those in Jones' Road at the temerity of these journalists.......
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Hmm, theres a new show on FX too.

Tough choice, badly produced TV3 show or a CBS produced show.

What will i choose...

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    At least it's something to watch after MNS tonight.

Could watch Scrubs either. Tough choice.
    Has to be Scrubs, it's a new episode tonight
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    I worry about what some of ye watch on TV, Monday night at 9 is America's Next Top Model time . Lawless Ireland will be recorded and laughed at later, if the couple of episodes I've seen already are anything to go by, the dog fighting where they kept repeating a clip of a fight from the Phillipines or somewhere was a farce.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

You lads are WAYYYYYY over reacting to this programme.

I mean, it is TV3 FFS! will be watched by a few thousands skangers and knackers at most who will have forgotton how shocked they were by midnight. It is aimed at the people and retarded journalists (99% of them) who are getting vaginal smears (even the males) because it took Jade Goody to make them realise that cancer is bad. This programme is made by morons for morons and will be aired and forgotton almost instantly.

Look at the promo...they do not even have enough footage of LOI thugs to fill and entire programme. That's how much of a problem it is...

Watch it and laugh.
    Last edited by Boh_So_Good; 09/03/2009 at 11:59 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Boo_Boy View Post
    Hmm, theres a new show on FX too.

Tough choice, badly produced TV3 show or a CBS produced show.

What will i choose...
    Read a book?

On a side issue can a dundalk fan explain why they started up a "we are the mujahadeen" chant. Seems pointless

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    I worry about what some of ye watch on TV, Monday night at 9 is America's Next Top Model time .
    Most sensible post I've seen on here in a long time

This man knows

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wexfordned View Post
    On a side issue can a dundalk fan explain why they started up a "we are the mujahadeen" chant. Seems pointless
    It's a chant that dates back to the 1980s. It does seem a bit pointless to me too.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wexfordned View Post
    Used to be an away chant from Irish fans abroad. Haven't heard it for many years. no idea why we chanted it.

Quote Originally Posted by Boh_So_Good View Post
    Read a book?
    I rather wait for the movie.

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast