Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Thread: MNS 9th March

147 Posts
    Connor comes across as a bit of a clown but you can't deny he left both Bohs and Sligo in far better poisitions than they were when he joined thye clubs. He brought a hell of a lot of talent to Bohs so deserves some of the credit for building last year's awesome team.
    Also agree that Fenlon comes acorss well-balanced - he has a chip on both shoulders. He just seems to be a nasty little man with a major attitude problem, maybe it was just his dislike for Connor or whatever, but while people criticise Connor for his reaction to the penalty that was not give, Fernlon deserves some stick for his display of 'small man syndrome'
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

21 Posts
    What did Fenlon say?

All I heard was him saying that he didn't care what SC thinks - which to me is just cutting through the bull & trying to get on with the interview about the match - respect for that IMO

Did I miss some thing else?

I thought the show was good, tbh. Having one less match makes things easier, more time for dissection of the games. I do have to agree that Galway weren't given the credit they seemed to deserve for their victory from Rico or Johnny. Jay O'Shea, though - what a player this kid is!
    Also a bit disappointed to see that they're continuing with their tradition from last season, the tradition of always putting the Sligo Rovers game last.

Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    Also a bit disappointed to see that they're continuing with their tradition from last season, the tradition of always putting the Sligo Rovers game last.
    Of course Brian you mean when Rovers are playing at home. Don't worry whenever we play up in Dublin we'll probably be higher up on the undercard.

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    agreed

nutsy is an odious *****!
    Is this fact or are you just giving an opinion from an interview.Have you ever met Pat ? Had a conversation with him?
    Or is it just a matter of oh look he said something on the telly he's an odious *****!.....either way he's a top manager.(Don't reply about his sting with Derry because that was different circumstances)
    Tommy No Bobs

Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    Have you even met the guy?- I did actually at a supporters meeting last month and I found the man quite interesting. I actually shook his hand and wish him and all the best and his reply was that he wouldn't let Dundalk Fc down over the season.

I don't think Connor showed a lack of respect and professionalism by being sent to stand. we are all only human, Mulvenna was taking down by your player and the ref turned the other way. Since bohs scored every 50-50 ball seemed to of gone bohs way. I would of rather seen an animated Connor on the touchline telling the 4th official that it was a disgrace than a clueless manager who doesn't know what to do. Maybe Mr Connor should take a leaf out of fenlon book in talking to the 4th official

Anyway Mr Connor's time at bohs or sligo doesn't interest me. That is past, he is manager of dundalk fc and I will judge him only on those games.
    Of course he was nice to you,you're a dundalk fan...you pay his wages. I knew the man personally and i can tell you he is everything the rovers and bohs fans say about him and worse. The man is only in it for himself and he'll leave ye at teh drop of a hat if it suits him. And i don't agree with anybody who tries to say he's a good manager. The best players he signed for us were sourced by our scout gerry cassidy. Seanie was given a big budget and had some cracking players to get us out of the 1st division. That team had players such as faz,conor o' grady and john o' hara and to be honest he never got the best out of some of the players we had. Faz didn't look a good player under him because he played him out of position...he was constantly on the left wing where he was wasted. Chrissy turner was another that didn't shine until he left because seanie liked to bypass the midfield,long ball up to daz mansaram and no plan B. And this is all before we get into his man management skills,he drove raf cretaro and gerry carr out of the club,two rovers legends who are now both back at the club and doing great jobs for us. And i don't agree that he left us in a better position than when he started.Ok our league position was better but he demolished our youth structure and spent a lot of money on these players that gerry cassidy sourced and then when he was leaving he ripped the heart out of our team by offering our best players double their money to sign for bohs. There's plenty more stories i could go into to some up the personality of the man but they're not football related so i won't talk about them. All i say is dundalk fans.listen to what people are saying...anybody who has ever had any dealings with him has nothing good to say about him...do ye really think we're all wrong???

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by roversforever View Post
    Of course he was nice to you,you're a dundalk fan...you pay his wages. I knew the man personally and i can tell you he is everything the rovers and bohs fans say about him and worse. The man is only in it for himself and he'll leave ye at teh drop of a hat if it suits him. And i don't agree with anybody who tries to say he's a good manager. The best players he signed for us were sourced by our scout gerry cassidy. Seanie was given a big budget and had some cracking players to get us out of the 1st division. That team had players such as faz,conor o' grady and john o' hara and to be honest he never got the best out of some of the players we had. Faz didn't look a good player under him because he played him out of position...he was constantly on the left wing where he was wasted. Chrissy turner was another that didn't shine until he left because seanie liked to bypass the midfield,long ball up to daz mansaram and no plan B. And this is all before we get into his man management skills,he drove raf cretaro and gerry carr out of the club,two rovers legends who are now both back at the club and doing great jobs for us. And i don't agree that he left us in a better position than when he started.Ok our league position was better but he demolished our youth structure and spent a lot of money on these players that gerry cassidy sourced and then when he was leaving he ripped the heart out of our team by offering our best players double their money to sign for bohs. There's plenty more stories i could go into to some up the personality of the man but they're not football related so i won't talk about them. All i say is dundalk fans.listen to what people are saying...anybody who has ever had any dealings with him has nothing good to say about him...do ye really think we're all wrong???
    ...and breathe...

Quote Originally Posted by corkboy360 View Post
    Is this fact or are you just giving an opinion from an interview.Have you ever met Pat ? Had a conversation with him?
    Or is it just a matter of oh look he said something on the telly he's an odious *****!...
    Maybe its based on countless interviews he has given, and watching him concuct himself on the sideline at countless games? How do you know how the previous poster formed his opinion?

..either way he's a top manager.(Don't reply about his sting with Derry because that was different circumstances)
    The different circumstances being that he didn't have as much €€€€€€ to spend maybe?

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Maybe its based on countless interviews he has given, and watching him concuct himself on the sideline at countless games? How do you know how the previous poster formed his opinion?
    Away from the game he might be a complete gentleman you dont know he's a right ***** just because of soccer based interviews or how he "concuts"(whatever that is) himself on the sideline.

The different circumstances being that he didn't have as much €€€€€€ to spend maybe?
    He traveled there every day Not the same thing if i was a chairman of a club the manager of my team would have to live in the city.
    Tommy No Bobs

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by roversforever View Post
    Your saying he left Sligo Rovers in a worse state than he found them?
    where did you finish that season, 5th in the Premier League and before he found you, Sligo where makeweights in the first. Get over yourself.
    And no I don't think Sligo & Bohs fans are wrong I just think you are very selctive in your past memories
    Long Live King Kenny

He traveled there every day ...CORKBOY360.....
    Oh no he didn't!!!....he is a spoofer who could only sign Kyle Moran and Karl Bermingham not to mention Peter Hynes as his strikeforce cos he couldn't attract any players as he didnt have the funds available to him at Derry.....cue Owen Heary who paved his passage into Dalymount by sticking the knife in Connors back......... Nutsy went back to Dublin to his huge budget and in turn couldn't but win the League!! (reports that Jason Byrne came back from Cardiff on similar wages to what he had at Ninian Park!!!)..........THE BIG CLUB eh??

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    Connor came across as a complete c*nt.
    I enjoyed Connors bit of "banter" with the bohs fans, he's obviously as mad as a hatter but it gave me a good chuckle none the less.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

How did this thread end up about only Sean Connor?

238 Posts
    Or is it just a matter of oh look he said something on the telly he's an odious *****!.....either way he's a top manager.(Don't reply about his sting with Derry because that was different circumstances)

The only season Nutsy didn't have the biggest budget in the league was when he was at Derry, its no surprise to see how well he done there. A typical ch€qu€ book manager, Kenny, Rico, Dolan and Cook much better managers.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brianw82 View Post
    How did this thread end up about only Sean Connor?
    Thats harsh, its about Nutsy the arrogant too

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    The only season Nutsy didn't have the biggest budget in the league was when he was at Derry.
    Rubbish, in fact last year he only had the 4th biggest budget...

Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    Your saying he left Sligo Rovers in a worse state than he found them?
    where did you finish that season, 5th in the Premier League and before he found you, Sligo where makeweights in the first. Get over yourself.
    And no I don't think Sligo & Bohs fans are wrong I just think you are very selctive in your past memories
    What he's trying to say is the state of the club he left it in, which I can understand.

Differentiate between first team and club. The first team was in a good position immediately(5th in the league, good cup run) after he left, however as was said the youth structure was destroyed and still hasn't been recovered to this day and he then proceeded to sign the heart of our team during the close season. Not to mention the amount of players that he fell out with and people involved with the club too.

1,550 Posts
    What's all this about Fenlon not doing well at Derry?

I thought he did a superb job there.

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    What he's trying to say is the state of the club he left it in, which I can understand.

Differentiate between first team and club. The first team was in a good position immediately(5th in the league, good cup run) after he left, however as was said the youth structure was destroyed and still hasn't been recovered to this day and he then proceeded to sign the heart of our team during the close season. Not to mention the amount of players that he fell out with and people involved with the club too.
    Sorry guys but I just cannot agree with this train of thought. Sligo Rovers, both team and club were unquestionably in a better state when Sean Connor left us than they were when he came to the club.

I need to be convinced that he and he alone was responsible for destroying whatever youth structure existed at the club when he arrived - and I do not recall any fantastic youth structure at the Showgrounds in recent times - and I also need to be convinced that it is in the job description of the first team manager to have any input into the club's youth structure, be it positive or negative.

I am glad that he left the club when he did and that not only have we fully recovered from his abrupt and ill-mannered departure but we have progressed even further and for me Sean Connor is now history and totally irrelevant to our club. MOVE ON LADS!

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    What's all this about Fenlon not doing well at Derry?

I thought he did a superb job there.
    Wahey!

It took that to get me to delurk after a year long absence from foot!

If Fenlon had've been given more time I think he could have turned it round at Derry. There's no way he was ever going to match up to Stephen though. One of my worst memories of DCFC and our fans is when Cork gave us a drubbing at the Brandywell. The amount of abuse Fenlon was getting was a disgrace, including stuff about him being a 'wee orange *******'. Mind you, since he's went to Bohs I hate the wee fecker. But that's to be expected. I can't bloody stand most of the managers in this league, bar the likes of Paul Cook and Pete Mahon.
    DCFC

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast