It means 'Victory through Knowledge'.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Victory through Superiority
    I'm a 23yr old right-handed heterosexual who drinks milk and likes democracy. - dcfcsteve knows me well

Punta Arenas, Puerto Montt & everywhere in between
    37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hoops_R_Us View Post
    Any photos of the ground? What are the facilities like?
    Thread bump because still no answers??? Any Carlow lads able to help??
    might have some luck enquiring here http://carlowsoccer.forummotion.com/...adium-t159.htm
    "U've figured how to work the Google on the internet machine"

it means 'victory through knowledge' ... fair play holidaysong ... ... the 'se' stands for 'south east' ... the club evolved from the south east academy and south east fc ... the idea was (and still is) to keep players in the education system while continuing to play in the south east, but at a higher level ... we entered various tournaments and travelled to the UK on a number of occasions to play professional academy teams ... a little bit of history for ye ...

Gonna head to my first game probably on the 3rd May against Shamrock Rovers. Have to have a bit of pride in my local team. Pity they play in Ballon, most awkward place in Carlow to get for me

Quote Originally Posted by carloz View Post
    Gonna head to my first game probably on the 3rd May against Shamrock Rovers. Have to have a bit of pride in my local team. Pity they play in Ballon, most awkward place in Carlow to get for me
    Why where are you coming from?
    Ciao

Quote Originally Posted by carloz View Post
    I wouldn't go there on May 3rd if I was you. The Rovers game is on this Sunday at 3.00 in Ballon, wherever that is (hinting for directions!)

Quote Originally Posted by WexCar View Post
    might have some luck enquiring here http://carlowsoccer.forummotion.com/...adium-t159.htm
    Thanks for that.

108 Posts
    I wouldn't go there on May 3rd if I was you. The Rovers game is on this Sunday at 3.00 in Ballon, wherever that is (hinting for directions!)
    Travel (Km)

and then
    to take total (Km)
    0.0 Start out at Tallaght,Dublin Uncl. 0.0

0.0 At roundabout take the 3rd exit onto Belgard Square South Uncl. 0.0

0.2 Turn left onto Tallaght Pass - N81 N81 0.2

0.1 At traffic signals turn right onto Belgard Road - R113 R113 0.4

0.0 At traffic signals turn right onto Tallaght Pass - N81 N81 0.4

0.7 At traffic signals continue forward onto Tallaght Pass - N81 N81 1.0

3.2 At traffic signals continue forward onto Blessington Road - N81 (signposted Blessington, Saggart) N81 4.2

0.3 Continue forward onto the N81 (signposted Blessington) N81 4.5

4.9 Continue forward onto Blessington Road - N81 Entering Brittas N81 9.4

8.9 Continue forward onto Dublin Road - N81 Entering Blessington N81 18.3

1.6 At roundabout take the 2nd exit onto The Close - N81 N81 19.9

29.5 Bear right onto Mill Street - N81 Entering Baltinglass N81 49.4

6.7 Bear left on the N81 N81 56.2

0.8 Continue forward onto the N81 Entering Rathvilly N81 56.9

9.4 Continue forward onto Dublin Road - N81 Entering Tullow N81 66.3

0.7 Cross River Slaney N81 67.0

0.1 Bear left onto Abbey Street - N81 (signposted Enniscorthy) N81 67.1

8.0 At T-junction turn right onto the N80 (signposted Carlow) N80 75.1

1.5 Continue forward onto Main Street - N80 Entering Ballon N80 76.6

0.3 Turn left onto Main Street Uncl. 76.9

0.1 Bear left onto Ballon Hill Uncl. 77.0

0.0 Finish at Ballon,Carlow Uncl. 77.1
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Topman View Post
    This season as far as I know they will be playing out of Burrin Celtic FC, Ballon. The Village of Ballon is on the Wexford Road when heading out from Carlow Town before Bunclody
    Thanks Topman, was just about to come on and post a question on this.
    So 'The Valley' is Burrin Celtic's ground then? On the Carlow league site they have it down just as Fenagh Road, so I wasn't sure.
    I see there's a direction to 'turn right at the primary school in Ballon'. Is that as you come from the Carlow side or the Tullow side?
    more bass

If your travelling into Ballon from Carlow Town you will take a right opposite the Primary School in the Village.

"The Valley" is indeed on the Fenagh Road out of the Village
    Ciao

115 Posts
    Good stuff, ta very much!
    The least I can do is add another post to your 'traffic for the carlow forum' campaign.
    more bass

115 Posts
    Feck we made hard work of that!
    Your lads put it right up to us though Topman.

Were you at it? Need to know who your number 12 was (and when he came on for that matter!) if you could tell me, he came on to the left wing.
    more bass

Shane Clarke ... 80mins

115 Posts
    Thanks FCC!
    more bass

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    Travel (Km)

and then
    to take total (Km)
    0.0 Start out at Tallaght,Dublin Uncl. 0.0

0.0 At roundabout take the 3rd exit onto Belgard Square South Uncl. 0.0

0.2 Turn left onto Tallaght Pass - N81 N81 0.2

0.1 At traffic signals turn right onto Belgard Road - R113 R113 0.4

0.0 At traffic signals turn right onto Tallaght Pass - N81 N81 0.4

0.7 At traffic signals continue forward onto Tallaght Pass - N81 N81 1.0

3.2 At traffic signals continue forward onto Blessington Road - N81 (signposted Blessington, Saggart) N81 4.2

0.3 Continue forward onto the N81 (signposted Blessington) N81 4.5

4.9 Continue forward onto Blessington Road - N81 Entering Brittas N81 9.4

8.9 Continue forward onto Dublin Road - N81 Entering Blessington N81 18.3

1.6 At roundabout take the 2nd exit onto The Close - N81 N81 19.9

29.5 Bear right onto Mill Street - N81 Entering Baltinglass N81 49.4

6.7 Bear left on the N81 N81 56.2

0.8 Continue forward onto the N81 Entering Rathvilly N81 56.9

9.4 Continue forward onto Dublin Road - N81 Entering Tullow N81 66.3

0.7 Cross River Slaney N81 67.0

0.1 Bear left onto Abbey Street - N81 (signposted Enniscorthy) N81 67.1

8.0 At T-junction turn right onto the N80 (signposted Carlow) N80 75.1

1.5 Continue forward onto Main Street - N80 Entering Ballon N80 76.6

0.3 Turn left onto Main Street Uncl. 76.9

0.1 Bear left onto Ballon Hill Uncl. 77.0

0.0 Finish at Ballon,Carlow Uncl. 77.1
    Coming from Dublin on Sunday.

Bearing in mind the new motorways is this still the best way to go? The N81 is an awful road. Thinking of taking the motorway to Carlow and then go to Ballon from there.

Any advice?
    Limerick FC Més que un club

33 Posts
    Yes that's a possible route. Naas Road, M7 then Kilcullen exit for M9 to Carlow town. Take N80 direction Bunclody/ Enniscorthy.
    It's a free country ('cept to the Toll Routes).

As someone who grew up near the Blessington Road, I will say that you're missing out.

I have a groundhopper question?
    The trend in England is to make a separate visit to a shared stadium for each of the home teams of that Stadium.
    So if a club uses two venues regularly, is it only proper for a groundhopper to have to visit both venues before that club can be marked off the list?
    FC Carlow and maybe Mervue Utd. fall into this category.
    Last edited by HarpoJoyce; 27/07/2010 at 9:54 PM. Reason: photos didn't link proper
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    Yes that's a possible route. Naas Road, M7 then Kilcullen exit for M9 to Carlow town. Take N80 direction Bunclody/ Enniscorthy.
    It's a free country ('cept to the Toll Routes).

As someone who grew up near the Blessington Road, I will say that you're missing out.

I have a groundhopper question?
    The trend in England is to make a separate visit to a shared stadium for each of the home teams of that Stadium.
    So if a club uses two venues regularly, is it only proper for a groundhopper to have to visit both venues before that club can be marked off the list?
    FC Carlow and maybe Mervue Utd. fall into this category.
    Did the Blessington route to Tullow for our u20s a couple of years back. Think I will take the main road to Carlow this time.

Not sure re the groundhopper thing, I suppose it is up to the individual. While I
    like seeing new grounds I don't go into the whole thing of photos etc to prove I was there.

Hi Guys,
    I'm new to the site.
    Best way to Ballon from Dublin is the new motorway. M7, M9, take the turn off for Carlow south and Wexford. Head for Wexford and turn right at the school in Ballon. Less than an hour from Dublin now
    Who's the opposition tomorrow? I haven't seen the fixtures.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mickos View Post
    Hi Guys,
    I'm new to the site.
    Best way to Ballon from Dublin is the new motorway. M7, M9, take the turn off for Carlow south and Wexford. Head for Wexford and turn right at the school in Ballon. Less than an hour from Dublin now
    Who's the opposition tomorrow? I haven't seen the fixtures.
    You are playing Limerick. will be leaving shortly via the new motorway. Thanks for the directions.