Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: TV3 "Lawless Ireland" on LOI hooliganism tonight 9:00

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Seriously? Section O are about as dangerous as The Baby-sitter's Club. Some kid talk tough on their bebo page?

**** you ya bleedin balagalaga. We are well dangerous. We are gona rush yere firm and make ye all eat week out of date barnbrack... you guys aint seen nuthin yet.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    How do you prove its falsehood? Tesco couldn't sue me if I said a number of their customers were smackheads, alcoholics and paedophiles (which is almost certainly true), it's no different for a footballl club.
    It's not quite the same. If TV3 were to report that there are paedophiles preying on children in Tesco, drug addicts shooting up in the aisles and alcoholics starting trouble in their shops, I suspect they'd very quickly get sued into oblivion.

You may not have to prove it's false; it depends on how the law works. For instance, I understand that in libel cases the accused has to justify what he published. I'm not a lawyer, so I don't know exactly where the law lies in this situation.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    **** you ya bleedin balagalaga. We are well dangerous. We are gona rush yere firm and make ye all eat week out of date barnbrack... you guys aint seen nuthin yet.
    You guys up for another kick-about on the pitch at half time and a few pints in PV's afterwards?

47 Posts
    You guys up for another kick-about on the pitch at half time and a few pints in PV's afterwards?
    Oh way to go and make it ultra low violence John! And to answer your question than it could be a runner been a long time since the half time games.

291 Posts
    Lads this is a respectible hooligan forum, if you're going to be organising stuff like that could you keep it to the PMs please in case TV3 gets wind?

47 Posts
    Sorry

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thischarmingman View Post
    Lads this is a respectible hooligan forum, if you're going to be organising stuff like that could you keep it to the PMs please in case TV3 gets wind?
    Well, we could have a fight at PV's. It's a long way back to Dublin though, so we'll probably head off a bit early.

25 Posts
    I would say Saturday night in Finn Park will be lively. What sort of firm do Longford have these days? Naveney Street will be like a battleground
    Say nothin til ya hear more!

46 Posts
    TV3 has to the worst channel ever

Eircom League weekly was woeful, but that crap that was tonight was 10 times worse.

Can't believe TV3 made a show about hooliganism in the LoI I mean come on! I've been to a few matches down here and the worst I've seen is a few rowdy kids! I'd hate to see how TV3 would portray the Irish League in such a documentary!

I just got a chance to watch it there. Easily the funniest thing i have watched in ages!

Bebo, i say BEBO.....feckin B....E....B....O, i have no idea who would EVER make a show on hooliganism in the LoI when all the shyte comes from feckin BEBO. The end is absolutly hilarious..''If you have been affected by any of the issues in this programme, log onto tv3.ie/lawlessireland for more information''. I gotta ring them up and complain about fierce pains in my side and trouble breathing.

Then I have to ring up Con and the boy's over at MNS and tell them this one!
    Last edited by Boo_Boy; 10/03/2009 at 12:52 AM.

For a start you can begin to fear Section O. There must have been 6 of us there in the rain on last Saturday night. Although Ronnie B you have in the past actually tweaked the nose of a Pats troublemaker there.
    You bring the Barnbrack & ill bring some sour milk to pour on the area their standing on.
    I just sit down at the typewriter & start hittin the keys, just hittin the keys. Getting them in the right order though thats the trick, thats the trick.

Garth Merenghi

115 Posts
    I see 'Waterford Youths' shown on their list too, kind of stood out as it's a name I never heard tell of before.
    A quick google of links with bebo, and all that comes up is the underage football team! Love of Jesus!

(Just as a by-the-by, can't any of these no-marks spell? What the f**k is going on in our schools these days??!! )
    more bass

I dont think anyone would deny that there are elements in the league that we would rather didnt exist but unfortuantely this programme protrayed a world that simply doesn't exist. They opened the peiece with riots from Italy and various Championships then lead into ireland with BEBO pages. They had the fight at Hill16 but the next thing I saw before switching off was the Rovers lads on the dart (or Luas?) singing - yes singing (will someone please think of the children), admittingly it was about killing Bohs (or words to that effect) but so what , its football rivarly not knindregarden, they can sing abusive songs about their rivals, doesnt make them hooligans.

Overall a very very abd piece of research, embarrassing for TV3. I switched off when their last add break kicked. Dreadful cheap ass program.

222 Posts
    What an utterly pathetic show. Grainy cctv footage of kids play fighting and 'shocking' coverage of kids nicking a wheelie bin. And the majority of the eircom league stuff was taken from bebo. Did nobody in TV3 look at this and think 'this is really, really ****e we can't possibly broadcast this'? Even the traveller boxing match in the first programme in the series was very disappointing... one lad conceded after being floored just the once... I've seen better fights in the eircom League ! ;-) Oh no, I've just written a section for next week's Lawless Ireland!

I only saw a bit of it, and all I saw was riots in Italy, and then a pigs head, and shock horror, trotters on the pitch in Dalyer, and then some jazz bloke talking as if he was an expert - Nice.

I doubt anyone would've taken it seriously, I'd be more concerned about some of the pathetic phone in's like newstalk and liveline taking up the ball and running with it.

186 Posts
    What a crap production. The scenes reminded me more of a schoolyard - kids just running around the place in any old direction. A pathetic attempt to add a few viewing figures by TV3. And they way they made it out that because its on the internet it must be true, come on, loads of kids can make a website these days.

And I have to say from what I have heard from a few older lads, back in the 80s trouble was a lot more widespread then.
    Last edited by redobit; 10/03/2009 at 8:26 AM.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

231 Posts
    I`ve tried to post a few reasoned comments about journalistic standards in their comment box on the TV twee programme site, each time it has mysteriously crashed leaving only cringeworthy praise in the comments section. As the comments are ,in the most part, inarticulate drivel, I would suspect that top journalist Mr O Donavon and his crack research team are authors of said comments that made it through the web sites ecurity

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Salmon Coloured View Post
    For a start you can begin to fear Section O. There must have been 6 of us there in the rain on last Saturday night.
    And it took ye a while to head over and brave the elements - Section O, Lost without chairman Marty :-)
    Last edited by Ash; 10/03/2009 at 10:40 AM.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    I`ve tried to post a few reasoned comments about journalistic standards in their comment box on the TV twee programme site, each time it has mysteriously crashed leaving only cringeworthy praise in the comments section.
    I posted a comment for the craic, and got a message thanking me for my input and saying that a member of their team would upload the message in due course. Orwell would be proud. Imagine having that job. What sort of retard must it take to work in such blatant propoganda?

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast