Hopefully there will be a few floaters and fans just turning up on the day to bring the numbers up.
Can see us bringing 5-6000. I really can. So extra seating should be put in. Or are there already plans too?
The main stand is tiny compared with our main stand in Flancare! I honestly doubt that the amount of fans ye had would fill over half the stand in Flancare!
The stand in Flancare holds 1,500!
Hopefully there will be a few floaters and fans just turning up on the day to bring the numbers up.
Can see us bringing 5-6000. I really can. So extra seating should be put in. Or are there already plans too?
There would probably be more than 4000 travelling from Sligo, added to that we've got a good few Dublin based supporters there too.
Coleman for Ireland
I've been going to FAI Cup semi finals for over thirty years, and yesterday's was the most depressing by some distance. I knew Fingal's support would be minimal, but the lack of support for Bray was shocking. Despite the six goals and a genuinely impressive performance by Fingal, it was like being in some kind of hell. No atmosphere at all. A thoroughly miserable affair in a hideous venue. Is it time to just shut down the league and start all over again? At times yesterday, I felt myself thinking just that.
At least Sligo Rovers will be in the final. They are, thankfully, from a genuine football town with a passionate manager and supporters. I'll certainly be cheering them along in the final. Sporting Fingal's presence in the league is still mystifying. There might be some sense in it of they played in Skerries or Balbriggan, but even that tenuous justification is lacking. They're another Dublin club (with almost no support) in a league already overcrowded with Dublin clubs.
Is it time to just shut down the league and start all over again? At times yesterday, I felt myself thinking just that.
Are you sure you have been paying attention to the league for the last few years?
It had nothing to do with whether we had 100 more or not. Im questioning the reasons why some shels fans troll all the time, thats all. You where doing it last week and he is doing it this week. Nice try though
I just love how everybody keeps going on about how we have no fans and yet we compare favourable with the other teams in this division. I see only one person mentions the terrible away support Bray had. No offence to Bray but it wasnt great considering they are not that far away and it was a Semi final. Dont see people slating them. As iv said on numerous occasions in the past 2 years, we are trying to grow a support which doesnt happen over night. I love how fans of a club like shels consistantly slate us for having an average of aproximately 300 less per game than them. 2 years for us to average 600 and over a hundred years for shels to average 300 more. How proud you all must be.
Anyway we are in the final and I cant wait. Going to be a great day out for the club and hopefully a good game for the nuetral to watch. All the best to sligo for the final. We owe yous one for knocking us out of the league cup![]()
Last edited by Lamper.sffc; 26/10/2009 at 3:09 PM.
I am merely pointing out the flaw in your argument. And I didn't single out either team. Just questioning were you are coming from is all. You had a go at another post for a guesstimate but supplied one of your own as a response. Then you have a go because it's from a Shels fan.
Doesn't matter about the size of the gate according to Fingal fans so don't get so wound up about somebody talking about the crowd at one of your games. Accept it for what it is.
We all do!
No smileys this time...bored of them already.....
(ah well. There is always one)
Im just happy that Sporting Fingal is in the minds of you all, good or bad.
If Sporting pulled out of the league you would have nothing to talk about as you dont talk much about your own clubs. Only Rovers and Bohs fans post something of interest the rest of you just post petty snide comments every day, every week not just about Fingal.
Have a word ladies, us Fingal fans know that our crowds could be far better so tell us something we dont know.
Sure he has contradicted himself later in the post. Ridiculous.
Lets redefine what it means to heal
Only 42 tickets were bought by SF supporters for the replay match against Rovers in Tallaght in the last round. They're not noted for travelling especially when they have to pay in.
A transient, horrible, fantastic dream,
Wherein is nothing yet all things do seem:
From which we're wakened by a friendly nudge
Of our bedfellow Death, and cry: "O fudge!"
Ambrose Bierce
im laughing mate cos there was at tops 500 ppl there not 1200. I realize your club is new and it will take time to build a support hence me saying yourselves and shels should merge all the time. wasnt slangging ur club bud but feel free to poke fun at my less wealth one then yourselves.
I think we had something like 7000 up in Lansdowne Road in 2003 so I'd say Sligo could definitely bring something like that if they're given the tickets.
The last time sligo brought 5-7000 to dublin was during the farmers protest when there was tractors everywhere![]()
This is getting ridiculous. I think you missunderstood what I meant when talking about the crowds and also last week when i said about the smileys. Thats fine.
Lets stop the stupidity now. I can literally feel myself losing brain cells having this arguement.
Im sure waterford will have a great crowd tomorrow. One that is befitting the mighty shels. Yous will bring about 2 to 3 hundred, tell us it was 5 and then all high five on the way home
Lets get back on topic please.