Page 23 of 97 FirstFirst ... 1321222324253373 ... LastLast

Thread: 2009 attendances

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    And the worst part was that they only moved you from the Connaught Street side because they'd just sold it to a bloke down the pub.
    They sold the ground twice!

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    The FAI should mandate that official figures be published by clubs. Was anything like this suggested at the fans' forum ?
    The FAI get the official figures every weekend from the clubs.

They should be collated and published on an updated 'league table' every week on the official loi.ie website.
    A transient, horrible, fantastic dream,
    Wherein is nothing yet all things do seem:
    From which we're wakened by a friendly nudge
    Of our bedfellow Death, and cry: "O fudge!"

Ambrose Bierce

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Buile Shuibhne View Post

They should be collated and published on an updated 'league table' every week on the official loi.ie website.
    I think the deadline is actually before full time in the game.

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    I think the deadline is actually before full time in the game.
    Deadline is the next working day at 4pm

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Buile Shuibhne View Post

Yep. But they say they're not authorised to release them or some such bull. I'd say there's clubs that don't bother.

Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    'A' Championship Attendances over the weekend:
    Tullamore v Derry City 230
    FC Carlow v Cork City 166
    Where'd you get those from?

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Bruce View Post
    I don’t understand the secret either. The LOI have significantly higher crowds than the Irish League, yet we publish our rather embarrassing attendances.

But this is the only way you can really judge what way the trend is going.

Even we have started to release official crowd figures this season (well one of the two home games, the 3,667 v Drogs), never saw that before, so no reason why all other clubs cant.

Re IPL, must be the biggest range in crowds in any top flight in europe, from 7,000 for Glentoran v Linfield to 134 and 194 in Lisburn and Newry. Amazing
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

122 Posts
    Yep. But they say they're not authorised to release them or some such bull. I'd say there's clubs that don't bother.

Where'd you get those from?
    http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p...8&postcount=16

http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p...&postcount=198

It doesn't matter when the ****ing deadline is.

Once the FAI publish the figures every week - whether it be Mon morning or Tuesday afternoon or whenever?
    A transient, horrible, fantastic dream,
    Wherein is nothing yet all things do seem:
    From which we're wakened by a friendly nudge
    Of our bedfellow Death, and cry: "O fudge!"

Ambrose Bierce

Don't see the fascination with attendances. We can all see the crowds are rubbish, does the actual figure really matter? Seems to be more of a ****ing contest for some here than anythign else (not everyone of course)

Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    'A' Championship Attendances over the weekend:
    Tullamore v Derry City 230
    FC Carlow v Cork City 166
    Do they charge into matches? Funny how Tullamore get more to a game than UCD. Fair play to them.

231 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Poor form by Bohs on Friday.

Half the away fans put on the open terrace when raining. Then they were mo ved to the Jodi before Bohs stopped all away fans from getting food at half time. Never seen a single incident between home & away fans in the Jodi so Bohs decision had no merit. Not exactly a way of boosting attendances.
    It was ****ing rain, all of you were allowed into the Jodi, despite having paid 5 Euro less for the Connacht side, we are complete *******s alright.
    No idea why you werent allowed down at half time and provided with free hot food, what were we thinking?
    I saw about 6 of your burbery capped fans coming from the chipper before half time which caused only unrestrained mirth from the Bohs fans, so no problems as far as I could see. Unfortunately it seems to have been a colours only ban. Were you allowed in the bar afterwards?

2,771 Posts
    the Big Bad Bohs B@stards strike again...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Inside Man View Post
    Do they charge into matches? Funny how Tullamore get more to a game than UCD. Fair play to them.
    Dundalk are charging €5 in anyway.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    It was ****ing rain, all of you were allowed into the Jodi, despite having paid 5 Euro less for the Connacht side, we are complete *******s alright.
    No idea why you werent allowed down at half time and provided with free hot food, what were we thinking?
    I saw about 6 of your burbery capped fans coming from the chipper before half time which caused only unrestrained mirth from the Bohs fans, so no problems as far as I could see. Unfortunately it seems to have been a colours only ban. Were you allowed in the bar afterwards?
    You're right. There could be no detrimental effects to standing in the ****ing rain for 2 hours and then spending 4-5 hours in the soaking wet clothes on the way home...

You only allowed us into the Jodi because of complaints from RTE, if you'd any choice you wouldnt have and your own stupidity cost you the 5 euro from each person.

There was no reason at all bar acting like asses not to leave us into the Jodi straight away, exactly like you have 90% of the times we've been to Dalymount. It's not like their wasn't enough room. You're board thought they'd be smart by throwing away fans in a crumbling uncovered stand for now reason at all and it backfired, the only result being it costing ye money.

Another stellar job done by your board

Quote Originally Posted by dublinwanderer View Post
    how can a reporter estimate the size of the crowd by sitting in one stand, which means he can only see one stand clearly? defo more than that....
    Doesn't stop everyone else in this thread in fairness.

Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    Were you allowed in the bar afterwards?
    Yeah. I forget how much the refurbishments cost (don't have accounts handy) but they are looking well.

BTW I went into the stand & paid my money there. No chance I was going to stand in the rain ban or no ban.

Quote Originally Posted by dublinwanderer View Post
    how can a reporter estimate the size of the crowd by sitting in one stand, which means he can only see one stand clearly? defo more than that....
    I get the estimates by looking around the crowd. I have legs, I'm able to walk around the ground and check the crowd. From the pressbox I can see the entirety of the covered stand and those standing up at the bowling alley end. To check the stand on the DART side all I have to do is walk down to the wall and have a quick look around.

My estimates are probably off, but I don't see why you get so upset. Until Bray announce official attendances, we'll never know what the real attendance is.

I've never said my estimates are official but I admit I do round down a bit because eyes do deceive. For instance, the Drogs Bray match on 13 March. All guesses (including yours) were over a thousand.
    Quote Originally Posted by dublinwanderer
    i would have said max 1500 in drogheda on friday
    Quote Originally Posted by CelticTiger
    Drogs v Bray around 1,500
    Quote Originally Posted by WindmillWarrior
    A little more i would have said. 1750 approx!
    Yet, the official attendance was under a thousand.
    Quote Originally Posted by WindmillWarrior
    got official att for Drogs v Bray and its a pathetic 900
    In short, don't bother giving out about my guesses if your's aren't any better.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

399 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Don't see the fascination with attendances. We can all see the crowds are rubbish, does the actual figure really matter? Seems to be more of a ****ing contest for some here than anythign else (not everyone of course)
    I think its very important to have attendances monitored here. How else could we see if any changes in pattern are taking place. We can hardly rely on the paper media.

I wouldnt be fascinated, but I`d safely say the better the attendance the more healthier the club.

As said many times before, it would make life so much easier if all 22 reported exact figures.
    Last edited by oriel; 06/04/2009 at 9:09 PM.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    The Liverpool game killed any possible attendence, along with Munster v Leinster.
    You mean the game wasn't moved because of the Rugby?! That's a disgrace, where's the consistency?
    Who Cares?!

222 Posts
    Sorry if this has been dealt with before, but is there not a licencing obligation on clubs to provide match tickets these days? None at Sligo on Saturday anyway.

Page 23 of 97 FirstFirst ... 1321222324253373 ... LastLast