outbid us too. He was looking for 10,000 signing on fee. Very serious money. Especially considering you have O'callaghan and o'Flynn
According to a post on the Rovers Ultras board, we've outbid $h€l$ to sign Fenn. Now that would be a good 'un![]()
outbid us too. He was looking for 10,000 signing on fee. Very serious money. Especially considering you have O'callaghan and o'Flynn
and SPA have nothingOriginally posted by Dodge
Very serious money. Especially considering you have O'callaghan and o'Flynn
REBEL ARMY
there was a thread about Fenn a few days ago, and people said they were not yet convinced by his quality, that his spurs past was what he was living on. I dunno, haven't seen enough of him yet. The most pleasing thing for me here, is that for the first time i can remember, CCFC are putting their money where their mouth is and really making a go of it. When was the last time we outbid a Dublin club, if ever?! I hope it works out. This is not just a signing IMO, its a statement of intentOriginally posted by Dodge
Lads we are going to be bying this and that on the papers for the next 3 months so don't get in to this to much. Just sit back and look who Pat brings in.
Let's get it going for this year the away support.
remember Liam BLOB O'BrienOriginally posted by Éanna
The most pleasing thing for me here, is that for the first time i can remember, CCFC are putting their money where their mouth is and really making a go of it. When was the last time we outbid a Dublin club, if ever?! I hope it works out. This is not just a signing IMO, its a statement of intent
i thought at the time great an ex irish international player played at high level of football, cud only be great for city.. WRONG .. result total disaster
Fenn on the other hand has played with wwaaaaaahurford already this season and done well .. so moving to a bigger and better club like the rebel army as long as we get the same commitement , shud hopefully be ok as a signing
I think signing rivaldo wud be a good statement on intent but wud probably result in a doubling of the price of a fish supper in lennox's ... its all swings and roundabouts i guess![]()
did we outbid anyone to sign BLOB?! I dunno, as i said anyways, its a statement of intent in my eyes
duno at the time who was interested in him
twas merely saying on the statement of intent thing
false dawns and all that.. most of us thought BLOB wud be a gud signing but were proved wrong
agree though that Fenn wud be a positive signing esp if the [SIZE=1]big club[/SIZE] and the money club are looking at him also..
think the GOC re-signing on the pitch at halftime those weeks ago was another great statement of intent..
onwards on upwards from here on in i think![]()
Last edited by James; 02/12/2003 at 3:49 PM.
Georgie quit?!Originally posted by James
GOC resigning on the pitch at halftime those weeks ago![]()
yeah, all these propaganda coups stink of Dolan. Lets just hope they have the desired effect!
pedantic langaar![]()
Lennox has made good decisions so far so i don't doubt he will use money wisely in the close season.
10k a decent signing on fee nonetheless. Also depends on when player starts getting paid weekly wage... 10K worth a lot more outside the pale too...
I still expect big chances to the CCFC squad over the close season.
OPENING RAMBLE: Please don't take this the wrong way, it might sound like I'm having a go but honestly I'm not, nor was it my intention
The signing of Fenn may be a statement but a statement of what? Are Cork signing him for big money just to gazump the Dub clubs? Now from I've seen he looks a terrific player and I've no doubt he'll be an asset to your club but is he really worth that money? I'd love Pats to sign him but not at the cost relayed to me (the 10,000 per season signing fee, I didn't hear the wages) Now its great if Cork can afford this but surely it could be better spent elsewhere. If you signed Fenn purely to outbid the dub clubs, maybe they just rate him less than you do?
By no means can we afford that money but have no doubts that Shels can and if the right player comes along they'll spend it
Fair points dodge, but i definately think brian lennox knows what hes doing with hisd money and will only spend the right amount for a player and definately wont be held for ransom by anyone
Exactly. Let's just wait and see what happens. Personally, i think he'd be good and i agree that it's one over on the Dubs, but for now, just trust Brian.Originally posted by James
Fair points dodge, but i definately think brian lennox knows what hes doing with hisd money and will only spend the right amount for a player and definately wont be held for ransom by anyone
Lennox knows what he's doing with his money alright no doubt about it.He wouldn't splash the cash unless he was really getting his value for money or Dolan assured him he was getting it.
Have ya ever gone in the lennox's when Brian was there and asked for a burger.The young fellas would always throw in a few chips with the burger.Do ya think old money bags lennox will throw a few scraps to a poor unfortunate city fan,ha,no chance.
The man is tight as a whore her first night on the job![]()
Anyway only messing before ye all start ranting on at me about our beloved chairman.I'm serious bout the chips though,mean c**t
as [SIZE=0.5]big [/SIZE] as this maybe
Lennox might know what he's doing but he's not want to get carried away with himself.
Clubs are falling into the debt trap all over the world waaay too easily at the minute.
Well if he needs to cut corners to get together the 10,000 needed for rejigging the squad you can do without your scabby extra chips.Originally posted by DolansWaistcoat
Have ya ever gone in the lennox's when Brian was there and asked for a burger.The young fellas would always throw in a few chips with the burger.Do ya think old money bags lennox will throw a few scraps to a poor unfortunate city fan,ha,no chance.
The man is tight as a whore her first night on the job![]()
And he can start charging ya for salt and sauce as well.![]()
Hate to burst people's bubble on this point ( much and all as I would like to see Fenn coming "west along the road" ) but no one has been signed, and no one will be signed until January.
Also, I would rather wait until we hear something from the Club than speculate on gossip from such sources as the "Rovers Ulta's website".
For God sake Spillane is more reliable than them.![]()
Irish by birth,
Cork by the grace of God.
I dunno about that Spoel Nilliane has had a few clángers in his time .............Originally posted by Counting Crow
For God sake Spillane is more reliable than them.![]()
But yeah ... i rather wait and see what the club say on this.
I also think we should be setting our sights a bit higher aswell. Fenn is OK but he didn't set the place alight either.
Someone said earlier that we dont need anymore squad players, what we need are players who will come up with the goods. There cant be any messin' about next year.