Page 13 of 44 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast

Thread: Liverpool

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Noli you say that you dont think that Alonso will be as big a loss as the papers make him out to be because even though he was good last season he wasnt the 2 seasons before that..... does that not coincide with Liverpool improving last season on the previous 2 seasons? As I see it Alonsos form last season was a major influence on why Liverpool were so close in the end
    Yeah Xabi was good last year,but i dont think he was the sole reason for the improvement in the team, I think stats can be twisted and turned for the benefit of each side of the arguement, i think Xabi didnt score enough goals or get enough assists.15 goals in 138 isnt a great return for a midfielder

I think the team was more balanced last year with Riera adding width on the left,i know his form dipped mid season but he found his form again,players like yossi and dirk getting some vital goals also made the team stronger.

2,081 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noli View Post
    15 goals in 138 isnt a great return for a midfielder
    It's pretty normal for a holding midfielder though, which Benitez essentially turned him into. I agree with your point about stats being turned this way and that to suit arguments, like Lucas playing in Liverpool's best performances last season for example, but I think Alonso was a key player and will be missed. Ye don't have many players that can retain the ball, even Gerrard gives it away constantly, generally when trying to create something when it's not really on. I have a feeling that Liverpool are going to have a slow start to the season and improve but it depends on United and Chelsea's starts as to how difficult it will be for Liverpool to get back into it.

reder
    Liverpool are the favourites to win the league in many pundits eyes and I concur with caution. Up until the departure of Xabi, I most definitely would have agreed given the manner in which the team finished the league but 2 issues concern me.

The departure of Alonso is a massive blow. He was excellent last season and for me, a massive part of the improvement in league form. If Liverpool cant plug the gap resulting from his departure quickly, it will lead to a poor start to the season and unease/disenchantment will cloud Anfield pretty quickly. If this happens, its bye-bye title time.

One other thing that people tend not to mention is how different Liverpool performed when they were on top in the league compared with when they were chasing. Pre-Xmas and during the new year period, Liverpool had to chance to pull away from the chasing pack but failed to do so. However, during their brilliant run of form in the 2nd half of the season, they were playing catch-up and thus had far less pressure on them. If they get ahead this season, can they pull away if the chance presents itself?

Formerly: Rafa B
    39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DeLorean View Post
    It's pretty normal for a holding midfielder though, which Benitez essentially turned him into. I agree with your point about stats being turned this way and that to suit arguments, like Lucas playing in Liverpool's best performances last season for example, but I think Alonso was a key player and will be missed. Ye don't have many players that can retain the ball, even Gerrard gives it away constantly, generally when trying to create something when it's not really on. I have a feeling that Liverpool are going to have a slow start to the season and improve but it depends on United and Chelsea's starts as to how difficult it will be for Liverpool to get back into it.

Fair point about Lucas. Cost £6 million and classed as a flop. But as you say things can be turned around to suit whatever way you want. For example Berbaflop £30 million, Nani £18million. That's close on £50 million yet no
    return or dare i say criticism.

By the way Alonso was no more a holding player than Jan Molby was. His main role was to create chances and get the ball moving quickly to the wingers and forwards which to his credit he did last season extremely well. But lets not get carried away with ourselves he also played in all the draws we had that cost us the title. Was at 26 games last season and one for example stands out Stoke at home when when for all his passes sideways and forwards it was an attacking midfielder we needed that day breaking into the box. Suppose your right though it's easy to turn it to make it look the way you want. For example Alonso has all of a sudden become the hearbeat of the Liverpool side of last season and Owen is a goalscoring genius.
    Last edited by KK77; 12/08/2009 at 11:15 AM.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rafa B View Post
    For example Alonso has all of a sudden become the hearbeat of the Liverpool side of last season and Owen is a goalscoring genius.
    Both of those things have been said far and wide for quite a while now. Nothing sudden about them.

39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Both of those things have been said far and wide for quite a while now. Nothing sudden about them.
    I'd say a month is sudden enough. Now if they had been said over the last couple of seasons well then that would be different

2,081 Posts
    I always considered Alonso a key player for Liverpool, even in the couple of seasons when he was supposed to be playing badly. Is he more replacable than Gerrard or Torres...yes, will he still be difficult to replace...yes.

I've nothing against Lucas by the way, it suits me fine that he's been poor in my opinion so far. Of course he could come good. Look at Fletcher at United, I wanted him shot for a good 3+ seasons at United but he has developed into a very useful squad player.

I wouldn't bee too eager to jump to Berbatov's defence either as his attitude doesn't dererve defending, but he has undoubted quality and I'd be slow to write him off completely. As for Nani I thought he had a relatively good first season with United, contributing fairly heavily from the bench and being involved in a lot of goals. His form seemed to dip in a big way last season and was rarely used. This will be a big season for him.

Michael Owen has always been a goal scorer supreme. It's very difficult to know what level he's at right now but I delighted with the gamble, if you could even call it that. He always came across as a good honest lad as well so I hope it works out for him.

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by reder View Post
    . However, during their brilliant run of form in the 2nd half of the season, they were playing catch-up and thus had far less pressure on them. If they get ahead this season, can they pull away if the chance presents itself?
    A team rarely goes from 3rd to being champions the next year, in 91 leeds pipped utd to the title and they learnt there lesson the following year they won it, its all about learning to deal with the pressure and not "crack up" If they dont win it next year,id expect a clear out and maybe even rafa leaving. I still think there a player or two short,a player that can create a goal out of nothing and a second decent quality striker

Goal scoring midfielders

Was just checking some goal stats out there Essien has 11 goals in 102 games for Chelsea and in comparison Carrick has 9 goals in 102 games, thats not really a great return for midfielders is it? Scholes has 98 in 402 games which is much better

Fair point about Lucas. Cost £6 million and classed as a flop. But as you say things can be turned around to suit whatever way you want. For example Berbaflop £30 million, Nani £18million. That's close on £50 million yet no return or dare i say criticism.
    As a United fan and most United fans i know would say that they think Berbatov is a lazy b@stard and Nani is just not good enough. The only thing is that both players are members of a squad that won the League, League Cup and World Club Championships (or what ever its called).

As ive said pretty much every United fan i know has grately slated Brabatov and Nani but both players played their part in winning things last season so we have no reason to complain really.

Lucas clearly isn't as good as Alonso but at 6 million he is not bad value considering the money being spent on players these days. Give him another few seasons to prove himself i reckon.

2,081 Posts
    Was just checking some goal stats out there Essien has 11 goals in 102 games for Chelsea and in comparison Carrick has 9 goals in 102 games, thats not really a great return for midfielders is it? Scholes has 98 in 402 games which is much better
    That was pretty much my point about Alonso, comparable enough to those other holding midfielders ie.Carrick and to a lesser extent Essien. Scholes himself has dried up almost completely the last few year. His decent ststs come from the Keane days where he could get into the box without any limits. His role has been much more reserved the last few years. They're crazy comparisions I think, almost like comparing Makelele and Lampard.

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69 View Post
    Give him another few seasons to prove himself i reckon.
    You're very generous

39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69 View Post
    As a United fan and most United fans i know would say that they think Berbatov is a lazy b@stard and Nani is just not good enough. The only thing is that both players are members of a squad that won the League, League Cup and World Club Championships (or what ever its called).

As ive said pretty much every United fan i know has grately slated Brabatov and Nani but both players played their part in winning things last season so we have no reason to complain really.

Lucas clearly isn't as good as Alonso but at 6 million he is not bad value considering the money being spent on players these days. Give him another few seasons to prove himself i reckon.

A Utd fan giving a good opinion without trying to get a dig in. Good post!

2,081 Posts
    A Utd fan giving a good opinion without trying to get a dig in. Good post!
    Yeah that's cos he has a grasp on reality- Nani not good enough, Berbatov lazy. Lucas however ???

Sorry was that another one of those digs you were referring to. Ah shur you're well able, hardly a post goes by from your where we don't see two or three of these little pr!cks

39 Posts
    A team rarely goes from 3rd to being champions the next year, in 91 leeds pipped utd to the title and they learnt there lesson the following year they won it, its all about learning to deal with the pressure and not "crack up" If they dont win it next year,id expect a clear out and maybe even rafa leaving. I still think there a player or two short,a player that can create a goal out of nothing and a second decent quality striker
    Would like to see Silva brought in myself.

Silva

Hmm not convinced about silva,watch a lot of spanish football, he fades in and out,he would offer us something different,but he reminds me of Garcia, very lightweight and gives the ball away too easy for my liking. Doesnt score enough goals either,hes a good player, but the next big signing has to be the one to lift us to no 19 so its important we get it right.

39 Posts
    Hmm not convinced about silva,watch a lot of spanish football, he fades in and out,he would offer us something different,but he reminds me of Garcia, very lightweight and gives the ball away too easy for my liking. Doesnt score enough goals either,hes a good player, but the next big signing has to be the one to lift us to no 19 so its important we get it right.
    Think is Rafa's main target afaik. Would be happy myself if we got him.

Yeah i think he is rafas main target,skybet recently closed the betting on silva moving anywhere, but i wouldnt read to much into it. Theres no doubting silva would improve the squad with a bit more kwality.

Had to laugh at some of the sky sports pundits comments about the new season, how is Paul Merson still a pundit,he doesnt have a clue

Yeah i think he is rafas main target,skybet recently closed the betting on silva moving anywhere, but i wouldnt read to much into it. Theres no doubting silva would improve the squad with a bit more kwality.

Had to laugh at some of the sky sports pundits comments about the new season, how is Paul Merson still a pundit,he doesnt have a clue
    Does Rafa have another 25 million + to spend on players though? Silva would improve any squad in the Premier League, but i'd be surprised if he moved anywere this season.

I was just looking at your man Aquallani's (spelling) stats on Sky Sports earlier, seems you have spent an awful amount of money on a player who has missed so many games over the past 3 seasons, something like 60% of games have been missed through injury

From what ive heard from mates in Liverpool,there is money to spend,but just on the right player.

I wasnt aware that Aquilani had missed so many games, i work with a couple of italian lads and theyve told me he is a very very good player. I seen a couple of quotes from Aquilani saying that he has been assesed by the medical team and theyve gotten to the root of the problem and thats a weight off his mind. Once they get him fit hopefully he can stay that way.

2,081 Posts
    I still think there a player or two short,a player that can create a goal out of nothing and a second decent quality striker
    Any favourites in particular? (practical ones)

Page 13 of 44 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast