Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: League Director gives two fingers to First Division

Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    While his point is valid, it's the sort of thing you discuss with mates in the pub not in an interview. More amateur hour stuff. Fran you're a tit.
    I think its far more than that - this is the guy who is in charge of the league of Ireland and he is basically saying that over 54% of those clubs under his tenure are not worth talking about!

And I don't agree with his view - Monaghan United is as important to the League of Ireland as Cork City and given the carry on of some Premier Clubs over the past few years, some of the First Division clubs should be the ones to be held up as shining examples of good business practice in our league.

Last season, the final quarter of the season was far more exciting on the field in the First Division than the Premier where the league was won nearly 3 months before the end and the focus was on clubs surviving

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mediahack View Post
    if clubs want to be on TV they should get into the Premier Division.!!!!
    is that the advice the director of the league gave to the clubs last year who nearly when bellyup.

now we know where these clubs got there sound advice tw*t
    Last edited by passerrby; 27/02/2009 at 12:50 PM.
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    While his point is valid, it's the sort of thing you discuss with mates in the pub not in an interview. More amateur hour stuff. Fran you're a tit.
    Exactly. In the 1st Division we know it is not like watching Brazil but we a) like it, b) hope more come and watch it and c) hope it gets to a better standard. What has his statement done to help? Tool

Boh so good - i gather from your attitude that you support a premier team? I hope your never in the 1st div cause you'd never survive.All clubs should be treated equally and as has been said in another post a lot of the Div 1 clubs have behaved better than most.
    Get off your high horse.We all want the league to prosper.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

47 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Boh_So_Good View Post
    BRAVO

One of the things which has always been fundementally wrong with Irish society is we reward failure and superficial victim complexes which serve only to create a pointless level playing field of averageness for all. Thus the cream of the crop in terms of Irish talent across all sectors of society have a ball and chain made up of parish pumps and the isolated connected to their feet dragging them back. O'Socialism.

There is a Parish Pump mindset among the First Div Clubs were they are somehow not getting the respect they should. Firstly, the only aim of a First Division Club should to do their best not to be one anymore. That's it.

People who take issue Fran Gavin's refreshingly honest comments are the same people who have us building Western Rail Corridors between villages in the West of Ireland while the Dublin Rail DART/Communter system is bursting at the seams...the same mentality which has every passenger into Knock Airport being susidised by the taxpayers for 290 Euro each so people in the rural Mayo can feel loved...the same reason why cities like Cork and Limerick remain underdeveloped while villages in Roscommon like Boyle have the best of everything and are still ****holes...the same reason we pour billions into the Irish language while our schools turn out kids who have appalling English language and grammar skill.

We have to get over this mindset in this country, especially LOI football if we are to move anything in this country forward. The days of rewarding failure has to end, well said Fran Gavin - should be running the country, let alone the LOI.

Even for you this is one of your finest works of steaming ****. Typical ****ing dub.
    Last edited by RonnieB; 27/02/2009 at 1:03 PM.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

1,552 Posts
    Once again the idea that the first division is important to the league seems to entirely escape people, while at certain clubs the instinct to pull up the ladder after themselves seems to reign supreme. The first should not get equal coverage- but some coverage of the top games would be a good start. The health of the first division is fundamental to the health of the league.

Boh_So_Good's rant was absolutely superb from a supporter of the Anglo Irish Bank of Irish football.

I agree with Fran

Totally unprofessional statement from a person that is paid to promote the LOI!!!!!!!

1,552 Posts
    What would anyone expect from that idiot?

One of the things which has always been fundementally wrong with Irish society is we reward failure and superficial victim complexes which serve only to create a pointless level playing field of averageness for all. Thus the cream of the crop in terms of Irish talent across all sectors of society have a ball and chain made up of parish pumps and the isolated connected to their feet dragging them back. O'Socialism.

There is a Parish Pump mindset among the First Div Clubs were they are somehow not getting the respect they should. Firstly, the only aim of a First Division Club should to do their best not to be one anymore. That's it.

People who take issue Fran Gavin's
    refreshingly honest comments
    are the same people who have us building Western Rail Corridors between villages in the West of Ireland while the Dublin Rail DART/Communter system is bursting at the seams...the same mentality which has every passenger into Knock Airport being susidised by the taxpayers for 290 Euro each so people in the rural Mayo can feel loved...the same reason why cities like Cork and Limerick remain underdeveloped while villages in Roscommon like Boyle have the best of everything and are still ****holes...the same reason we pour billions into the Irish language while our schools turn out kids who have appalling English language and grammar skill.

We have to get over this mindset in this country, especially LOI football if we are to move anything in this country forward. The days of rewarding failure has to end, well said Fran Gavin - should be running the country, let alone the LOI.
    Are you serious?

Look where capitalism has taken the Irish Economy? There are holistc benifits in all of the examples you quote ref Knock and Riailways and cann't be quantified this year or next year in terms of profit. You obviously reside in or around the pale and probably close to phibsboro, which is a kip by the way due to the local community being too wrapped up in themselves to give a toss about what you have been doing up there and the legacy you have left the next generation. Don't blame the culchies for you guys not managing your planning laws properly

And the billons on Irish language......... Cop on. Fran Gavin was wrong,as an ATFC season ticket holder. There is F all between the last four in the premier and the first four in the first, as you guys will find out next year when you don't receive your Premier licence for being bust!

Some people need to come back to reality. Gavin was referring to TV coverage where you want to bring your best games to a new audience.

I woudn't want Monaghan v Athlone (just using as an example) on TV so what hope a non LOI fan.
    Last edited by pete; 27/02/2009 at 1:39 PM.

1,552 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Some people need to come back to reality. Gavin was referring to TV coverage where you want to bring your best games to a new audience.

I woudn't want Monaghan v Athlone on TV so waht hope a non LOI fan.
    And again another straw man is set up to be knocked down.

What people are asking for is a few goals to be shown on MNS from top games, not regular live matches from D1.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I woudn't want Monaghan v Athlone on TV so waht hope a non LOI fan.
    I don't want Exeter City v Woking on either, but Setanta will show it anyway.

That statement from an FAI league official is a resigning issue imo for bringing the game into disrepute. Every game should be covered in the league every week. If they cut the talking and analysis out of MNS, they'd easily fit the other 6 games in.

You can bet that Serie B, 2. Bundesliga, Ligue 2, and Liga Segunda are covered every week by tv stations in their countries. The football mightn't be world-class, the stadiums mightn't be full, but the principle is the crux of the issue.

Considering that every nook and cranny GAA-game is covered every week by RTE, the least they can do, is show 6 more LOI games a week.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

123 Posts
    it must be great to be yous eh..bohs so good

well said mypost
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

238 Posts
    The interview doesn't exactly help First Division clubs sell add boards around their ground.
    Fran Gavin, you sir should be the one who has to stand in the middle of the ring during Mr.A's illegal monkey knife fights. Now THAT really would produce a large crowd.

BRAVO

People who take issue Fran Gavin's refreshingly honest comments are the same people who have us building Western Rail Corridors between villages in the West of Ireland while the Dublin Rail DART/Communter system is bursting at the seams...the same mentality which has every passenger into Knock Airport being susidised by the taxpayers for 290 Euro each so people in the rural Mayo can feel loved...the same reason why cities like Cork and Limerick remain underdeveloped while villages in Roscommon like Boyle have the best of everything and are still ****holes...the same reason we pour billions into the Irish language while our schools turn out kids who have appalling English language and grammar skill.

Grammer?? Like the night on the news when the dublin girl was going to the shop for " A package of Kwips"

Your very bitter about the west?? Did you lose out to a more educated culchie who didnt drop out of school at 10 to shoot up gear pick pocket people on the overcrowded dart?

Proof please?
    Are you Fran Gavin ? I have never seen you together so clearly you are the same person
    DB Cooper is alive !

186 Posts
    BRAVO

People who take issue Fran Gavin's refreshingly honest comments are the same people who have us building Western Rail Corridors between villages in the West of Ireland while the Dublin Rail DART/Communter system is bursting at the seams
    For me to travel to Limerick by train I have to go to Dublin first. How would you like it if you wanted to go to Cork and you had to travel to Sligo first. Whats a country without infrastructure?

Fran may in essence be right, but he should have kept it to himself.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post

That statement from an FAI league official is a resigning issue imo for bringing the game into disrepute. Every game should be covered in the league every week. If they cut the talking and analysis out of MNS, they'd easily fit the other 6 games in.

You can bet that Serie B, 2. Bundesliga, Ligue 2, and Liga Segunda are covered every week by tv stations in their countries. The football mightn't be world-class, the stadiums mightn't be full, but the principle is the crux of the issue.

Considering that every nook and cranny GAA-game is covered every week by RTE, the least they can do, is show 6 more LOI games a week.
    Absolutely right - he should go over something like this!

I am not advocating live games from the FD each week but if the FAI cares about irish football then the FD is as important as the PD in terms of its position in football - it is the second tier and therefore deserves far more than the token 45 secs it got any week last year on MNS.

And when it gets exciting at the top as happened last season it should merit at least a highlights/goals package! Goals at any level are exciting!
    Last edited by mediahack; 27/02/2009 at 2:55 PM. Reason: Spelling

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    True. But you are not comparing like with like. Do they show Conference North or South games? The 1st division is already subsidised by the Premier - the winner this year gets 66k which is more than 4th place in the Premier.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast