Thread: Bohemians?

Bohemians?

Not trying to stir things(seriously) but what's the deal with bohs? Even thought the players took a cut, they have signed a few more and don't seem to have cut back that much. Where are they getting the money from? Do they still have someone pumping in money? Where did they get the money to pay off connor? Have they appealed against the court ruling about dalymount or did they have to pay up? If they manage to avoid financial problems they should win the league with a good bit to spare. I kinda fancied derry a few weeks ago but bohs have added the likes of shelley,keegan and ndo so there is no reason that derry, who haven't improved from last year(the opposite actually - lost McCourt,McGinn,McHugh off the top of my head and don't have a big squad) should be able to keep up with them. The thing is, it just seems like a time bomb to me. How did the FAI approve their budget? When news of the court case about dalymount came out, their fans were giving out crap saying how badly the directors had lied to them. Things seem to have gone very quiet though. And why did the CEO(McDaid?) leave so shortly after arriving? I wonder.......

231 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Not trying to stir things(seriously) but what's the deal with bohs? Even thought the players took a cut, they have signed a few more and don't seem to have cut back that much. Where are they getting the money from? Do they still have someone pumping in money? Where did they get the money to pay off connor? Have they appealed against the court ruling about dalymount or did they have to pay up? If they manage to avoid financial problems they should win the league with a good bit to spare. I kinda fancied derry a few weeks ago but bohs have added the likes of shelley,keegan and ndo so there is no reason that derry, who haven't improved from last year(the opposite actually - lost McCourt,McGinn,McHugh off the top of my head and don't have a big squad) should be able to keep up with them. The thing is, it just seems like a time bomb to me. How did the FAI approve their budget? When news of the court case about dalymount came out, their fans were giving out crap saying how badly the directors had lied to them. Things seem to have gone very quiet though. And why did the CEO(McDaid?) leave so shortly after arriving? I wonder.......
    Why oh why indeed. This is a wind-up...... right?

57 Posts
    I thought the pathetic Sligo fans obsession with Bohs would have stopped when their Messiah Seanie "I know Steve Bruce" Connor left the club.

Obviously not...
    Kom Igen, FCK...

thought the pathetic Sligo fans obsession with Bohs would have stopped when their Messiah Seanie "I know Steve Bruce" Connor left the club.

Obviously not...
    I think it's time that the pathetic obsession so many LOI supporters have with where other clubs are getting all their money from and how they got their
    budget approaved
    and just concentrated on helping out with their own club's finances.

Sorry, that should have read...

thought the pathetic Sligo fans obsession with Bohs would have stopped when their Messiah Seanie "I know Steve Bruce" Connor left the club.

Obviously not...
    I think it's time that the pathetic obsession so many LOI supporters have with where other clubs are getting all their money from and how they got their budget approaved and just concentrated on helping out with their own club's finances.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Redie View Post
    Sorry, that should have read...

I think it's time that the pathetic obsession so many LOI supporters have with where other clubs are getting all their money from and how they got their budget approaved and just concentrated on helping out with their own club's finances.
    You can just click on the "edit" button to edit the original post you know.

57 Posts
    Redie - you're a breath of fresh air around here - sorely needed too...
    Kom Igen, FCK...

1,553 Posts
    I think it is quite healthy that many LOI fans take an interest in the general financial health of the league's clubs. And it's perfectly possible to do so while helping out at one's own club. Indeed in many cases the work put into their own club is what makes people look around the league to see what's going on.

Every time a club hits serious trouble it damages the reputation of the league and makes sponsorship etc that bit harder to acquire. Also, there is the question of whether everyone is on a level playing field with regard to the regulation of the clubs.

It's all very well saying people should mind there own business- but let's be honest here, the vast majority of predictions of meltdown on this forum have proved to be accurate.

3,491 Posts
    You're just obsessed and/or bitter, Mr T.

Bohs have a budget, they will qualify for the group stages of the CL as budgeted and the two Gerries will be heroes once again. Sure they've the best interests of the club at heart, and probably saved it from going out of business at some stage in the past.

Always amuses me how fans of clubs almost always shirk away from any negative talk about their club, even when it's so blatantly obvious how much trouble they're in.

even when it's so blatantly obvious how much trouble they're in.
    ah sure we're all grand, dont know where you get that idea from!

1,553 Posts
    You're just obsessed and/or bitter, Mr T.

Bohs have a budget, they will qualify for the group stages of the CL as budgeted and the two Gerries will be heroes once again. Sure they've the best interests of the club at heart, and probably saved it from going out of business at some stage in the past.

Always amuses me how fans of clubs almost always shirk away from any negative talk about their club, even when it's so blatantly obvious how much trouble they're in.
    Quit your jibber jabber. If you call me obsessed one more time I'll introduce you to my friend PAIN.

Quote Originally Posted by Dalymountrower View Post
    Why oh why indeed. This is a wind-up...... right?
    But 2 months ago ye were dead and buried and know ye have a massive squad again.
    FAI giving ye handouts like Drogs?
    Tommy No Bobs

I think our budget includes us winning the league, a cup and getting through at least one round in Europe. Oh yeah, it also includes a projection of increased attendances...

Quote Originally Posted by niallsparky View Post
    I think our budget includes us winning the league, a cup and getting through at least one round in Europe. Oh yeah, it also includes a projection of increased attendances...
    With ye're prices in the middle of the current economic climate.
    Tommy No Bobs

57 Posts
    Ah sure - if the worst comes to the worst - we'll simply follow the Cork Footballing Model - we'll simply fold the club and reform under an entirely different name several times.

Bohemian Hibernians
    Phibsborough Celtic

etc.
    Kom Igen, FCK...

1,553 Posts
    The FAI will crap all over you if you try to pull a stunt like that. They don't tolerate any messing around, especially not this year.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Ah sure - if the worst comes to the worst - we'll simply follow the Cork Footballing Model - we'll simply fold the club and reform under an entirely different name several times.
    You'd want to sell Dalymount to yet another company to do that.

288 Posts
    Well said Mr A. Also, the attack on Rovers Fan was unwarranted. His curiosity is perfectly understandable.

Honest to God I was only asking a few bloody questions. Don't see how i'm obsessed with bohs, find me 3 posts I have ever made in the past that would lead someone to believe. I rarely commented on other teams financial problems. Also to think that 5 minute post could hinder me helping my own club.

It's absoulutely amazing how easily people get annoyed on this site. And when others smell blood they join in fot the sake of it. Grow up ffs.

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Even thought the players took a cut.......

Is it not more a case that the players took a wage deferral than a wage cut?