Thread: Office antics

46 Posts

Office antics

Bit of a strange one this but as I am a bit of a prankster about work I have exhausted most of my tricks around the place. From moving desks around the place to changing phones and setting up repetitive tasks on people's computers or stealing the office christmas tree and messing up decorations. I'm not a fan of prank calls because you can get a serious call and think its a prank but it doesn't stop me anyhow.

So I'm looking for a few fresh ones on this. Because work is a bit crazy at the minute so I don't find the time to get planning. Any ideas.

Brendan

3,490 Posts
    Sellotape on the phone usually works once (tape the bit under the receiver, so it keeps ringing after you pick it up).

Quoting years at random since 1975

Angry

Quote Originally Posted by Harpsbear View Post
    Bit of a strange one this but as I am a bit of a prankster about work I have exhausted most of my tricks around the place. From moving desks around the place to changing phones and setting up repetitive tasks on people's computers or stealing the office christmas tree and messing up decorations. I'm not a fan of prank calls because you can get a serious call and think its a prank but it doesn't stop me anyhow.

So I'm looking for a few fresh ones on this. Because work is a bit crazy at the minute so I don't find the time to get planning. Any ideas.
    Brendan
    Try working instead of messing about, there is enough people unemployed and would love to have a job

Quote Originally Posted by prince20 View Post
    Try working instead of messing about, there is enough people unemployed and would love to have a job
    With your cheery disposition you'll retire in the same position!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

230 Posts
    Little bit of black shoe polish on the earpiece of the phone. Tends to work better on Caucasian folks mind you...
    Last edited by strangeirish; 19/02/2009 at 1:37 PM.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Quote Originally Posted by prince20 View Post
    Well if you're out of work I'm currently casting for my latest play at the Drama School.
    We're looking for a Queen and I think you'd be perfect!

112 Posts
    That's strange, a Wacky Prank Calls advert just above this very thread. Strange!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

521 Posts
    Leave him off lads, he has a point. Back on topic though, please. Here's my contribution:

http://www.thinkgeek.com/gadgets/electronic/b278/

Quote Originally Posted by Pauro 76 View Post
    That's strange, a Wacky Prank Calls advert just above this very thread. Strange!
    They parse the pages and deliver appropriate ads. That's why I use them, it's the best of a bad lot.

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts

Brendan
    if you have ever watched the american office you'll see some crackers...like inserting a weight every day into someones handset so it steadily gets heavier and then one day taking them all out so they lift it fast and slap themselves in the head....of hiding someones mobile above the tiles in the roof and ringing it...
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shannonman View Post
    ....of hiding someones mobile above the tiles in the roof and ringing it...
    I like taking someone's mobile and taping it to the underside of their desk or chair and then ringing it.

Another old favourite is the poppoing and switching around of keys on the keyboard, the less obvious ones like switcking N with M...CLASS
    You show me a good loser and I'll show you a loser - Vince Lombardi

521 Posts
    Send the newbie down to stores for a long stand.

Brendan
    Divert calls from someones phone to say for example there mams phone or one of their buddies mind you lot easier if you get their mobileor swap around peoples key's
    Last edited by dahamsta; 19/02/2009 at 5:13 PM. Reason: Read my post above. Take your own advice.
    Tommy No Bobs

a small bit of sellotape over the optical sensor on the bottom of a mouse is always funny - i've caught out a couple of lads in work with it - and they're all IT heads
    Derry City FC Dublin Supporters Club

http://dcfcdsc.blogspot.com/ - Dublin Supporters Club Blog

When the person is away from their chair, take off the the lock on the chair (assuming there is one and it's locked when the person uses it) so the next time they sit down they might fall back.

If the phone is a headset, unplug the connection and stick a piece of paper into it then re-connect the headset. The person on other end of phone won't be able to hear anyone the next time phone is used.

Sellotape the phone to the computer. Fairly annoying having to unwrap the whole thing

Hit the mute button on the other persons phone before, or even better during, a call.

Shut down their computer when they're in the middle of reading something on screen to a customer.

Stick a thumbtack on their chair.
    Last edited by sligoman; 19/02/2009 at 6:58 PM.

230 Posts
    Change a number in their mobile phone, of the wife or the girlfriend, to the local police dept or an ex if you have it

250 Posts
    Our office sleaze ball old fella thought he was getting a loan of a hot porno video (a few years ago) off one of the lads in the office.

Later when he got home and hot gotten his missus off to bed and himself sat down on his own to watch it,he pressed play.

The tape started and looked promising but just when it got down to business
    the tape cut to our office and there was the whole staff shouting at him telling him to button up his pants,etc,etc

(I had camcorded the office bit and stitched it into the tape)

I believe the dirty old goat nearly died of fright.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 19/02/2009 at 7:48 PM.

46 Posts
    When the person is away from their chair, take off the the lock on the chair (assuming there is one and it's locked when the person uses it) so the next time they sit down they might fall back.
    I've done a bit of messing around with the chairs but drew the line at causing somebody either the embarrassment or risk of injury. As a health and safety inspector I have to draw the line carefully right there.

Some cracking idea's up there. There's a bit to do around the phone so I may draw on a few ideas there.

When I worked in Ipswich there was an area called the 'break out area' between both sides of the floor. After weeks of discussion on possible interpretations of the break out area we managed to justify our actions, simultaneously ran out and screamed. The few that got the joke found it funny.

I've always had a thing for stealing christmas trees and the year before last I went a bit far designating it its own locker and heading to Ireland for christmas.I came back to all out war between two teams. One blamed the other for taking the tree. Queue my return to desperately try to calm down and appease. Tree returned with note stating 'I had to get away'. Signed tree.

Keep them coming anyhow. I'm clean out of ideas and haven't the time to dream as many up. Resorting to simpler methods at the minute.

Quote Originally Posted by Sligo Hornet View Post
    With your cheery disposition you'll retire in the same position!
    Cant believe ye fell for my wind up folks!!! If any of ye knew me you would know im a complete messer, dont work in an office though.
    Seriously though there are numerous things to do in an office. Have you tried putting salt in the sugar bowl for starters????

112 Posts
    Cling film on the toilet bowl...

I tend to wind up my colleague with Photoshop skits about them and leave them on his screen....
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'