Thread: Mayo Super League 2009

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    So if Wetport win title they will be also the worst team to win S/L
    Not according to some of our learned friends!!!!!

However if Ballina win,according to some people,they will be the worst.
    Last edited by 1924; 21/10/2009 at 12:52 PM. Reason: Wrong Spelling

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    A league of ireland team against a pick of junior teams, what a mismatch, the result should be the other way round you'd think.

I noticed no mention of this friendly which took place last Tuesday? And Mayo were only trying out players? Anyone know had Celtic the full team out? Surely they should be giving a better account of themselves? After all they were playing the SUPER standard that is the A League thats allegedly way bove the SL in football terms!

Needless to say, if Celtic's super league team played the pick of Mayo tomorrow I would expect the same result. Not an attack on Celtic just wondering why they got hockied 7-1?
    I will give you one answer to that,Celtic were missing up to Eight Players and also the Mayo Team played well.Did any of the Fahy lads get a call up?
    Im not going to say anymore about the A League versus the Super League only that,Castlebar Celtic are where they want to be and Fahy are where they want to be.I never see Celtic having an issue in what league you play in!!!!!
    Last edited by 1924; 21/10/2009 at 12:53 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Fair play on beating Fahy on Sunday and everything, if anything ye deserved to win by more (although we were utterly rubbish and without our three best players) but if you think S+F could have actually won the league this year then you are even more biased and deluded than I thought you were. I agree that the super league has been very poor this year with Celtic gone to A championships, Westport losing interest and enthusiasm and everyone else mediocre or worse, but ye are still a good way off the top three clubs. I actually expected ye to break into that top three (see the very first post in this thread) but losing key players meant ye were always going to struggle. Great run at the end of the season for ye though and maybe next year ye can build on that. If Ballina do win the league they will surely be the worst team to do so in some time??
    I 100% agreee with you, I must say it was a bit of an over statement but what i meant is, the way the league was, it was possible, unlikely but possible for SnF t win the league, More like challenge the league Title even without our Key players we could have challenged the title.
    Either way, its been a very disappointing and weird Super league season for every team i think. With many teams losing key players, and from what i heard Poor turn outs at training for many clubs, it almost seemed no one cared about the super league this season. I honestly thought that Snugboro and westport were gona run away with it being a 2horse race with ballina a distant third.
    Any way, i hope next season, the all around standard rises dramatically.
    Relegation battle is over, Hope there is an interewsting twist in the title challenge finish over the next few wks

Quote Originally Posted by 1924 View Post
    Are you serious about your last sentence "If Ballina do win the league they will surely be the worst team to do so in some time"
    If you are serious, well you the deluded one!!

Yes the super league is not great,but your excuses for westport are totally out of order all the time.Westport and Ballina are the best teams in the league by a country mile.Every other team in th S/L are very poor.Its very unfair to say what you have said and as always making excuses for westport.Its up to every other team to step up to the mark.
    I agree with Fahy, Ballina will be the worst team in years to actually win the super league. Don't get me wrong, They and westport are by far the best team in the league this year, but if they played the winner of the super league 4years ago, ballina now wouldn't stand a chance, even ballina 4 years ago to ballina this year, the team a few years ago would beat them now with EASE!

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    So if Wetport win title they will be also the worst team to win S/L
    Thats right!

Were Westport to win it, I think they themselves would say they were not up to the standard of previous seasons and so yeah, they too would fall into that bracket.

The new set up is puzzling, in that it will only make the Super League more of a closed shop than it already is. It seems unfair that to continue competing in the top flight you have to finish in the top six in the county. That's tough on Swinford, returning to the Super and having such a big task. Fahy will struggle too, as could Celtic, playing their second side. I'm sure they are intent on progressing in the A Championship though and I think they are dead right. S+F will improve, but we all still have to oust incumbent Super league old hands in Ballyheane, Snugboro or Manulla to stay up. Seems to me that it will just create a bigger divide between the genuinely big teams and their smaller counterparts.

Kilmore, perversely, could be the winners in all this; they could well go down, pop back up again, and compete in the inaugural eight-team Super League, whilst three or four current Super league teams languish in the Premier!

One last thing, and I ask this sincerely; can anyone give me an explanation as to how reducing the Super League (or any of them for that matter) will improve the standard? The only thing I can think of which may be beneficial is that there will be less matches. I genuinely can't see another benefit.
    Last edited by FahyForever; 21/10/2009 at 2:05 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Were Westport to win it, I think they themselves would say they were not up to the standard of previous seasons and so yeah, they too would fall into that bracket.

Kilmore, perversely, could be the winners in all this; they could well go down, pop back up again, and compete in the inaugural eight-team Super League, whilst three or four current Super league teams languish in the Premier!

One last thing, and I ask this sincerely; can anyone give me an explanation as to how reducing the Super League (or any of them for that matter) will improve the standard? The only thing I can think of which may be beneficial is that there will be less matches. I genuinely can't see another benefit.
    Hopefully some good news will come of it if we do go down! I know it looks like it but we can still wait up by winning our least 2 games! We'll see sure, we will give it our best shot even if half our team are injured since the westport game!

Quote Originally Posted by paddyirishman View Post
    Unlucky but to be honest it would a needed a miracle for ye t wait up.
    we've collected 4points from 2games, now for the resy against kilmore and celtic, 10 out of 12 as i said.
    Super league is so poor. its an awful shame SnF did not put anything decent together, as the super league was up for grabs.
    Unlucky Kilmore, i'm sure we'll see ye back in the Super league the Year after next.
    Ah sure if we had half our team after great results against snugboro and westport we would have some chance but no excuses, we will keep goin till the end. There is still a slight chance we could wait up

8 team super league

Have to agree i dont think making the super league a 8 team division will make the quaility any better,league is for the most consistant team over the season not a sprint race the mayo league committeee are turning it into. Honestly dont think the league is that bad anyway papers can be full of rubbish, there was always bad games during any season just seems to be more made of it lately.Dont know how the league committee can change the leagues without a vote from all league clubs they seem to be changing everything without the clubs involment bit of a dictatorship i think,this should have been put to clubs and voted on at a meeting ,know there was a meeting about there proposals but no vote on anything.

Angry

Quote Originally Posted by pinero View Post
    Have to agree i dont think making the super league a 8 team division will make the quaility any better,league is for the most consistant team over the season not a sprint race the mayo league committeee are turning it into. Honestly dont think the league is that bad anyway papers can be full of rubbish, there was always bad games during any season just seems to be more made of it lately.Dont know how the league committee can change the leagues without a vote from all league clubs they seem to be changing everything without the clubs involment bit of a dictatorship i think,this should have been put to clubs and voted on at a meeting ,know there was a meeting about there proposals but no vote on anything.
    Nothing has been changed. It is all just a proposal for the time being and will be voted on at the AGM. This website is a great talking shop aided by the fact that the posters are using made up names. When the matter was discussed at the last league meeting everyone bar one person agreed it was worth trying it. I repeat all bar one of your club reps agreed with it. Therefore dont get at the Mayo League. Get at your own chairmen and secretaries who stayed silent. The last league meeting was a total disappointment. The only speakers who spoke up were the Westport reps and their case was not helped by the fact that their secretary had not passed on copies of correspondence from the league. If change is to come then it must come via your club reps not through comments from semi-disguised disgruntled individuals.

Quote Originally Posted by sinabhuil View Post
    Nothing has been changed. It is all just a proposal for the time being and will be voted on at the AGM. This website is a great talking shop aided by the fact that the posters are using made up names. When the matter was discussed at the last league meeting everyone bar one person agreed it was worth trying it. I repeat all bar one of your club reps agreed with it. Therefore dont get at the Mayo League. Get at your own chairmen and secretaries who stayed silent. The last league meeting was a total disappointment. The only speakers who spoke up were the Westport reps and their case was not helped by the fact that their secretary had not passed on copies of correspondence from the league. If change is to come then it must come via your club reps not through comments from semi-disguised disgruntled individuals.
    I for one have no major issue with any proposed changes, I would just like for somebody to explain how reducing to 8 teams improves anything. I would like to emphasise I am not saying it is a bad idea or suggesting the M.L have got it wrong with this proposal, I would just like to know the thinking behind the idea.

What are the proposed benifits from switching to an 8 team league?
    I assume as part of the original presentation the M.L. outlined the reasoning for the change and highlighted all the associated advantages of switching from ten teams to 8 teams.

Quote Originally Posted by slab11 View Post
    Ah sure if we had half our team after great results against snugboro and westport we would have some chance but no excuses, we will keep goin till the end. There is still a slight chance we could wait up
    We might do ye a favour and beat Celtic and then lose to ye in foxford.I think we are safe with 1 win. Would that mean that Celtic B go down if ye win your last other game? who comes up from Premier league?
    Last edited by paddyirishman; 22/10/2009 at 12:15 PM.

An 8 Team division would leave all the big named teams in the league but without the so called lesser teams in the league it makes the quality or standard even hard to judge. I'm not surprised they are proposing an 8 team league because every year, the so called Summer league ends up playing matches up til November and December. I believe this year the final game of the season runs into december. I think thats the only reason. By right they should just start earlier, its not rocket science!

Quote Originally Posted by 1924 View Post
    I will give you one answer to that,Celtic were missing up to Eight Players and also the Mayo Team played well.Did any of the Fahy lads get a call up?
    Im not going to say anymore about the A League versus the Super League only that,Castlebar Celtic are where they want to be and Fahy are where they want to be.I never see Celtic having an issue in what league you play in!!!!!
    No Fahy lads got call up as usual. I presume Gary Goggins would've if he wasn't away! Its bad that none of the team even got to go over for a trial match.

We'd probably have to win the super league to get a player over there...

An 8 Team division would leave all the big named teams in the league but without the so called lesser teams in the league it makes the quality or standard even hard to judge. I'm not surprised they are proposing an 8 team league because every year, the so called Summer league ends up playing matches up til November and December. I believe this year the final game of the season runs into december. I think thats the only reason. By right they should just start earlier, its not rocket science!
    If the eight team super league were to happen for next season the way things stand you would have: Westport, Ballina, Erris, Manulla, Snugboro, Ballyheane, Swinford and Bangor Hibs.

The only thing about the 8 team league I like is less games because the "summer" league is now going on till December at this rate...

correction

Correct me if i am wrong but usually at the mayo agm you get the league divisions and draws for divisional cups, so ya saying nothing is decided is wrong and whats wrong with playing in december,the whole reason the super league was put back to may was that the top teams in the county would have serious games when the fai and connaught cup got into action in the winter months, by the super league finishing in december it still leaves most teams five months break till new season and it gives teams involed in outside cups some seriour match practice.ps your right i will get at our chairman and secetary because the last club meeting i attended before mayo meeting ,everyone in room was against the idea
    Last edited by pinero; 22/10/2009 at 1:20 PM.

Pinero you are right. I think there will be one more meeting of the club chairmen before the AGM where the new format will be discussed. Whilst having some sympathy for John Durcan and Co I feel that these league meetings are too timid. I feel everyone is scared sh...... of Pat Quigley. People need to speak up. As a small club we would welcome less matches and a shorter season. For example we played a junior cup match yesterday with 9 missing players!!!

We might do ye a favour and beat Celtic and then lose to ye in foxford.I think we are safe with 1 win. Would that mean that Celtic B go down if ye win your last other game? who comes up from Premier league?
    Swinford are coming up i think but i couldnt see them letting celtic be relegated i dont know though we will just have to wait and see what happens...
    If we win our 2 games and celtic lose theirs then we would go above them by a point!
    If

I'd just like to say 2 things about the match yesterday between Castlebar Celtic and ourselves, it was a really enjoyable match to play in, both sides tried to play football (well one side played football the other side tried!), we tired a lot in the 2nd half. Also credit to Castlebar Celtic as even when they were well ahead there was no mickey-taking or showboating they kept playing and treated us with respect. Thanks.

This weekends games

Celtic seem to be going ok recently and I wouldn't be surprised to see them beat S & F, although S & F are going good too. Kilmore will be hoping S & F win but cant see them beating Ballyheane.

Ballina should beat Manulla and Westport should beat the Snuggies well. Erris will fancy beating us again. We will be looking to end the miserable run of 5 losses though - pretty much the only nothing game this weekend.

It'll probably be down to us to try and do our neighbours a favour on the last day against Ballina

How do people see the top and bottom panning out?

Page 45 of 50 FirstFirst ... 354344454647 ... LastLast