Page 28 of 50 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Super League 2009

Best of luck to the boro from the boys down under(",) Hope ye win it lads!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    It's clear you were trying to jump on the bandwagan. Are Westport in free fall I believe you asked! From 1924 who said they had 25 chances Thursday night I would suggest it was one of those days.

Shocks happen in cup comps where the lower division teams are more up for it. As you said Charlestown beating fahy last year in the chadwicks

We know how hard it is getting through the leagues, played in all four leagues in 7 years since fahy was refounded. All the best in getting promoted from div 2, with your catchment area we would all expect the likes of Charlestown, achill and balinrobe to be up challenging for SL status
    No band waggon jumper here im afraid, and yes I agree about 1 off cup games etc etc but im afraid you are mistaken if you think we have a large pool of players to pull from. On the Sligo and Roscommon borders with Swinford 5 miles up the road (with 2 teams), Urlaur United 7 miles away and Knock 8 miles away. A town where GAA takes precidence and not a single GAA player in the squad (as pointed out history and all that). Once again your facts letting you down.
    Its hard starting from scratch again but we have hard working decent players and if they are giving 100 % then one can ask for no more. I would have to say that we were looking forward to a chance of meeting Westport and maybe thats why im so disapointed. But beleive me when I say that this current crop of players could mix it with the best in the county and nothing would please me more than seeing Charlestown Athletic return to its former glories........heres hopin

hey conn rangers are bringing back the glory days,super league here we come,although division 1 would be a good startby the way i notice snugboro havnt edited their website since the cup final last weekend,i wonder why???
    Last edited by purplemonkeydis; 01/08/2009 at 11:04 AM.

Anyone got any idea of the top scorers in the division? Is it available on the Snugboro website? Couldn't find it. Be interesting to have a look. Who would people bet on for the golden boot?

Quote Originally Posted by murphs jewels View Post
    no band waggon jumper here im afraid, and yes i agree about 1 off cup games etc etc but im afraid you are mistaken if you think we have a large pool of players to pull from. On the sligo and roscommon borders with swinford 5 miles up the road (with 2 teams), urlaur united 7 miles away and knock 8 miles away. A town where gaa takes precidence and not a single gaa player in the squad (as pointed out history and all that). Once again your facts letting you down.
    Its hard starting from scratch again but we have hard working decent players and if they are giving 100 % then one can ask for no more. I would have to say that we were looking forward to a chance of meeting westport and maybe thats why im so disapointed. But beleive me when i say that this current crop of players could mix it with the best in the county and nothing would please me more than seeing charlestown athletic return to its former glories........heres hopin
    lol :d

No band waggon jumper here im afraid, and yes I agree about 1 off cup games etc etc but im afraid you are mistaken if you think we have a large pool of players to pull from. On the Sligo and Roscommon borders with Swinford 5 miles up the road (with 2 teams), Urlaur United 7 miles away and Knock 8 miles away. A town where GAA takes precidence and not a single GAA player in the squad (as pointed out history and all that). Once again your facts letting you down.
    Its hard starting from scratch again but we have hard working decent players and if they are giving 100 % then one can ask for no more. I would have to say that we were looking forward to a chance of meeting Westport and maybe thats why im so disapointed. But beleive me when I say that this current crop of players could mix it with the best in the county and nothing would please me more than seeing Charlestown Athletic return to its former glories........heres hopin
    Why play for Swinford/Urlar/KK United if your from Charlestown? Not a valid excuse mate!! Charlestown has a population of 2500 or thereabouts in a 7 miles radius of the town.

Fahy has a population of under 1000 to choose from! We are in the super league. Westport (3 teams) 5 miles away, Snugboro (2 teams) 10 miles away, Glenhest 5 miles away, Glenisland 5 miles away, Celtic (4 teams) 10 miles away, Ballyheane (2 teams) 12 miles away.

What facts are letting me down? Your excuses are letting you down buddy
    Last edited by GoodFootball; 01/08/2009 at 2:59 PM.

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by purplemonkeydis View Post
    hey conn rangers are bringing back the glory days,super league here we come,although division 1 would be a good startby the way i notice snugboro havnt edited their website since the cup final last weekend,i wonder why???

Congratulations to Ballina Town on winning the Westaro Cup. Wasn't at it, what kind of game was it?
    Last edited by Closed Account; 01/08/2009 at 8:11 PM.

Still I think we have played Fahy Rovers twice in the last 5 years in cup competitions and turned them over both times....

You seem to be quite partisan with your recollection of the clashes between us... I remember fondly scoring the 7th against ye a few years back... That one slip your mind????

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Still I think we have played Fahy Rovers twice in the last 5 years in cup competitions and turned them over both times....

You seem to be quite partisan with your recollection of the clashes between us... I remember fondly scoring the 7th against ye a few years back... That one slip your mind????
    u scored...when back in 1978 was it....>? self praise is no praise.....

Quote Originally Posted by paddyirishman View Post

Wow... you're a really fun guy.

Quote Originally Posted by paddyirishman View Post
    It was an unreal finish actually! One of FahyForevers best goals...also played in that game, 2004 maybe might be more accurate

You are funny paddyirishman, but as your alias suggests, not the sharpest tool in the box

Lets not go back that far in history or start diggin up severe beatings as ye have a few in your own closset.

Best leave it where it is as this could go on for a while and anyway my original post was relating to Westports poor result against a div 2 side and having been at all the divisional cup finals over the last 2 weeks i am more convinced that the margins are getting closer and closer and that getting to the SL is as much a challenge as been there in its self.

i see from todays papers that the westport team have lost 1 of there managers, who'll be next to take things there? will we go down the route of getting an outsider in to do the job?

Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    i see from todays papers that the westport team have lost 1 of there managers, who'll be next to take things there? will we go down the route of getting an outsider in to do the job?
    don't the ins and outs as to why the manager may have left but its a bit poor leaving when they hit a bit of a rough patch!

Which one of them left? PB? Any reasons why in the paper? Not great timing surely but I'm sure he has his reasons...

No, it was Cusack that left, no reason's in the paper just it was time for a change. i no there goin through a bit of a bad patch but if the manager feels its time to leave they just have to do it.

Didnt say anything bout them not winning the SL... And as for underhand comments reguarding Charlestown if you dont know history or facts on what happened better not talk about things you know nothing about.. Still I think we have played Fahy Rovers twice in the last 5 years in cup competitions and turned them over both times. Getting out of the lower divisions is getting tougher and tougher as the teams (in my view) in the premier, 1st and 2nd divisions have little or nothing between them.
    I totally agree with your last comment,and the Sl standard is not as good as is perceived.

No, it was Cusack that left, no reason's in the paper just it was time for a change. i no there goin through a bit of a bad patch but if the manager feels its time to leave they just have to do it.
    Why they left nobody will know only themselves,I have been told that pb has stepped down as well.Being in management can be cruel,when you win you are a hero,and when you lose it can be a lonely place.From my point of view the two lads were on a hiding to nothing....were they ever going to emulate what they did when they won the FAI?My point is that they will be remembered for what they did in wininng that FAI but now also be remembered for stepping down....seemingly after losing a couple of matches mid season.Mabye there are other reasons that I do not know about and If so I will apologise in advance.The same thing happened earlier this year with snugboro with there manager stepping down and then coming back a week or so later.Its not easy being a manager!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Score View Post
    Why they left nobody will know only themselves,I have been told that pb has stepped down as well.Being in management can be cruel,when you win you are a hero,and when you lose it can be a lonely place.From my point of view the two lads were on a hiding to nothing....were they ever going to emulate what they did when they won the FAI?My point is that they will be remembered for what they did in wininng that FAI but now also be remembered for stepping down....seemingly after losing a couple of matches mid season.Mabye there are other reasons that I do not know about and If so I will apologise in advance.The same thing happened earlier this year with snugboro with there manager stepping down and then coming back a week or so later.Its not easy being a manager!!!
    Knowing when the right time is to leave is key, before people start to lose respect for ya if your heart isn't in it. I think players and fans in Westport and in Mayo soccer in general will remember this management pairing as one of the most successful in ML history. 3 or 4 Super Leagues, Mayo Cup, FAI Junior Cup, connaught senior cup and a super/westaro cup...

Dam feckers playing super league during the Mayo 1/4 final. such dopes!
    S&f to surpirse again... well capable.

Page 28 of 50 FirstFirst ... 18262728293038 ... LastLast