Fahy 1 Ballina 3
Fahy did make it tough for Ballina but some silly mistakes cost us dearly. Fahy opened the scoring after a very controversial free kick where the ref penalised the keeper for... who knows??? I think it was catching the ball, dropping it and picking it up again? Or something? Goodfootball might have seen it better. Seemed fairly innocuous to me anyway. Gary Goggins set up Mick Goggins who slammed it home. Ballina equalised soon after when a punt forward took our defence by surprise, splitting them in two. Simple finish. Just before half time they scored another when an intended cross found the inside of the back post. We felt hard done by. Fahy were on top in the second half, but it was all scrappy stuff and Ballina defended well, if a bit unsportsmanly (hoofing it as far into the adjoining field as possible over and over again). We never looked like scoring anyway. The game was decided when one of our midfielders (who will remain nameless to save his embarrassment!) inexplicably played a beautiful through ball for a Ballina forward, who really could not miss. Even then Fahy battled hard but it wasn't to be. Not a match for purists, but a very determined performance that might have earned us a bit more. What of Westport? Heard they were one up at half time!
Last edited by FahyForever; 25/07/2009 at 8:17 PM.
iorras 0-3 westport - great result for them, credit where credit is due
manulla 2-4 snugboro
kilmore beat s&f, dont know score
Goalkeeper caught ball as it was going out for goal kick, dropped it and a few of us shouted he cant pick it up again and he did. Indirect free kick was the correct decision. Refs dont normally notice this but fair play to the ref on this occasion
Ballina are very organised at the back, not world beaters but are very hard to break down. 2 horse race now with Westport I think.
Fair play to Kilmore for first win, takes a bit of pressure off us![]()
From what I could make out from the Manulla keeper's protests, and from the opinion of some Fahy fans, Peyton only palmed the ball initially, thusly allowing him to pick it up after. Didn't see it so that's only what I heard.
Agree with you about Ballina, hard to break down, we really never looked like scoring from open play. Westport should be good enough to see them off though. The next round of matches could be huge for us, if we can beat Celtic, there is a fair chance that Ballyheane and Manulla lose, which would put us to fifth and give us a big lead over the bottom teams. All conjecture I know, but a possibility if we can give Celtic a game. Speaking of Celtic, fair play to hoop4life for giving 'credit where credit's due', I wonder if it would be reciprocated if the shoe was on the other foot?
Thanks for that comment hoop4life.
Westside is currently away recieving treatment and under observation in a straight jacket.
We have no connection only our westport alliances but no doubt he will surface soon.
That was some result considering the recent results and many injuries we have so credit to all who rallied around the cause.
it was a huge result for ye so in fairness ye do deserve a bit of credit, i think everyone will agree.
as said , it is probably a 2 horse race, as for the bottom, big gap between bottom 3 and the rest, bar a miracle, its a dog fight between them 3
Thats a very good result to get down there, when the chips were down it showed Wport can pull it out. Could have been a more interesting SL this year if Erris had taken the points but it looks more like normal service resumed!!!
Hard luck Fahy, still not a bad scoreline!
Castlebar Celtic
http://www.castlebarceltic.com
League Results
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/440-01.html
Mayo League Tables
http://inform.test.fai.ie/Clubs/port.../default.aspx#
What does the A league have to offer? We have already beaten Mervue and won the senior cup. They are a division above the A Championship, the standard is not much higher in the A Championship than Junior fopotball. The only reason Celtic entered it is because they couldnt win the Mayo League even with all their league of Ireland players their own and players they inherited from other clubs.
I think saturdays result answers your question about players being brought through.........
Some of the clubs in the A Championship wil struggle financially and will get fed up with having no success and revert back to Junior Football, in these recessionary times they will find it hard to get the finance to keep going
Last edited by Leveller; 27/07/2009 at 8:59 AM. Reason: Add sentence
Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.
what does the a league have to offer?? what kind of statement is that?? is the the third tier of the league of ireland, it is a stepping stone to the first division and on to the premier. i'm not saying we will be in the premier anytime soon but the first division in the next few years is a realistic possibility. i suppose when we get there that will be no better than junior football either.
how can you say junior football is as good as loi, read this statement back to yourself, junior football is as good as loi, doesn't make sense does it??
you think we only entered it cause of you lot, we entered it beause we have ambition to play in the first division and beyond and unlike ye, we have the players coming through that are good enough to play loi football and have the determination and ambition to make it in the loi.
ye bet mervues second 11, their fringe players.
also, what does saturdays result prove. were you at the game?? if so, you would have seen that tullamore played with 10 players behind the ball for the game and used every dirty trick in the book to get what they came here for, which was a draw. what about the 2 results before that, 3-1 against sligo and 5-0 against dundalk, i suppose they were just flukes and you'll tell me that dundalk and sligo and useless, ya.
everyone in mayo can see that we have taken a positive step forward in joining the loi apart from you and your westport colleague. stop the jealous rant lads, ye know well that this is a good thing for us but yer pride won't let ye admit it.![]()
Last edited by hoop4life; 27/07/2009 at 9:26 AM.
Hoop, I think when Leveller said that about 'Saturdays result answers your question about players being brought through' he was talking about the Westport Erris match. His point being that Westport were missing a lot of players and had to use younger ones (Tom Mc Ging, Paul Groden etc) who came through the club.
Apart from that I think that almost everyone realises that the A championship is a step in the right direction for a club with ambition like Celtic. Seen as how Celtic are achieving so much at underage levels I think they are dead right to aim high and think of the future. No reason why they can't perform at the highest level. Fair play to them.
Any other club bar Celtic from Mayo had joined the LOI is would have been great. Look we could say you were lucky to beat our B team who were missing three or four lads so were does that leave your team. Still the best in Mayo and those players would stand out in the A league but your club had not the fore sight in joining a higher standard league. It’s a pity because everyone would love to see how far this Utd team could go even to Div 1 I would say. So stopping knocking us for moving up on and feeling jealous and bitter about your own club lacking the bottle.
You beat Mervue's 2nd team, not the same Mervue that is in the LOI 1st Division. I think one of the best things to come out of Celtic joining the A Championship i believe is the fact that the a can enter the U-20 league, offering Mayo u-20 players a chance to play at a decent level of football.
[QUOTE=
Some of the clubs in the A Championship wil struggle financially and will get fed up with having no success and revert back to Junior Football, in these recessionary times they will find it hard to get the finance to keep going[/QUOTE]
Right i`m back...where do i start?
I tried to explain this to that crowd up the road and got slated for it.
They`ll soon get fed up with this toothless league but if thats what they want,we should ditch this row as their argument isn`t holding water.
Back to the proper football and a massive result on saturday with half the regulars missing.
so our national senior league isn't proper football is it?? and the mayo league is??
also, you keep talking about finance. this has been said already by another poster, celtic have planned for the costs of entering the loi and have made sure that it will not put a strain on the club. if there was any financial danger, celtic would not have entered. very good organisation and planning by those in charge