will the leaving certs be back tomorrow does anyone know??
who will be in goal or is kevin stenson playing??
also, heard nigel naughton got a bad enough injury playing for mayo u18s last night, how bad is he??
2 players have left straide and foxford, alan macdonnel and craig reape ( gaa)
gerry gaughan back 1st june, john o hara home end of may ( college ) and macdonnel has been replaced by lad who broke his leg at the club last year adam gallagher and john o hara can equaly slot in centre midfield there no bother, also a lad up from last years b team who could walk on to most of super league teams Shane Bourke great player, fitzi training like a mad man for last 3 weeks and he's back tomorow against the boro after serving his suspensions, tiger in hospital still... so just to put the record straight 2 players! did ya hear that mossy????
will the leaving certs be back tomorrow does anyone know??
who will be in goal or is kevin stenson playing??
also, heard nigel naughton got a bad enough injury playing for mayo u18s last night, how bad is he??
fahy 0-1 celtic im just after hearing
Well done to Mick, Adrian and all the lads on a hard earned victory over a committed Fahy side. Most teams will find it a hard place to go this season and any result will have to be earned. Good to see Noel Marley back after a bad injury last season. Any other results
Manulla 0, Westport 4
Snugboro 4, S & F 0
Kilmore 1, Ballina Town 3
Fair play to Celtic, I thought they were really well organised and I was a bit surprised by how even the young, smaller lads were 100% committed into every tackle. Celtic had the best of the first half and Russell Gibbons scored deservedly. Fahy were on top for almost all of the second half, without ever really looking like scoring, and were left exposed on occasion to Celtic counter attacks. Celtic have a decent mixture of youth and experience but I thought the outstanding player was Joe Keane, our centre half. At 17, James Mc Guaran looks a really composed, classy left-back for Celtic. I was disappointed our first game in the Super League was apparently undeserving of linesmen and felt the ref got some decisions wrong, but that happens in football. Best of luck for the rest of the season.
thats poor form, super league games always should have 3 officials. who was reffing??
just heard the celtic team a while ago. bit suprised that they played 5 across the middle but fair play to mick and adrian, they got a very good 3 points. also, there was only 2 young lads playing, fitzgerald and mcgaurn who are both 18. dont know if there was anymore on the bench and there was 2 of them injured and the leavin cert lads missing aswell.
all in all a good start for mick, adrian and the lads. well done and keep it up in two weeks at home to erris![]()
Draw would have been fair on chances created. Was amused that with all the talk of us being kickers and long ball team that Celtic did most of the physical stuff and played a disciplined long ball game while we tried to play football. Celtic were relieved with final whistle, more to come from fahy fair play to Celtic for adapting their game to suit current players!
Boro were well worth the 4 nil win. played very well both halves. Sendin off of Seanie Walsh didnt help Straide in the second half but they never looked like scoring throughout.Straide were missing a few players though. No sign of fitzy or Johnny Jordan, two quality players that any team would miss.
A good start for the boro though. Big game next against Ballina.
mick walshe was reffing, he was very poor ta say the least, it was meant to be damien mcgrath which might have been fairer, also mcgrath tends to leave the centre circle during the game, but not to take from celtics result, fair play to them, fought hard and its a good start for them. we were dissapointed not to get somthing
I can only speak about the first half but what football did you play. You’re No 5, how many times did he hoof the ball over our end line during the first half from his own half. Both teams played very little football in the first 45 minutes. I don’t no what game you were watching but 90% of your attacks was through the long ball or cross field long balls. Maybe you changed in the second half but don’t tell me you played any football in the first unless two passes and then hitting a long ball is considered football in your eyes because that what the first half consisted of. Yes each team maybe on two or three occassions did produce some nice football but this was not the norm. The game was full on with both teams hitting hard and fair with very little time on the ball. Standard of the game was better than I expected but not allot. A draw might have been a fair result and bar Russell's well taken goal there was only half chances at best in the first 45 min. Did hear that Kirby pulled of a great save near the end.
Celtic had one U-17 (09/10) two U-18's (this season 09/10) and one U-20 (09/10) starting and had two U-17's (09/10) on the bench with five more U-18/U-19 to come back into the squad once L/cert is over. The Erris game will be another level but if the lads showed the same commitment anything can happen
As I only saw the first half. I didn’t see what major decisions went against you in the first 45 mins. Maybe you can advise. I heard that your manager refused to pay him after the game. We all have felt we have been hard done by ref's in the past but once the game is over nothing can be done about it. Yes two more officials should have been appointed for this game which would have taken some pressure of the ref. This is the top league in Mayo and should have three officials at all times
manager refused to pay but pointed the ref in the direction of the treasurer who paid him then.in fairness he did go ott and should have kept the head better.it was very diappointing that the mayo league couldn't have sent all three officials but such is life for the smaller clubs.i presume that all three officials were at the manulla and westport game?on our game the last day against celtic there was some very over the top tackles from the start of the game and i felt that the ref never had control over the game.felt that we were denied a stone wall penalty in the second half when our striker was hacked down from behind but the ref waved play on!we also hit the crossbar in the final minute and the celtic keeper pulled off two very good saves at his near post,one in the first half and one in the second.fair play to celtic though who rode their luck at times but you have to get the rub of the green in the super league and best of luck to yee for the remainder of the season![]()
Yes you watched the first half! Second half Fahy got to grips with game and got the ball down and played football, celtic were reduced to even more of a long ball game that you saw in the first half. Kirby got the 3 pts for ye in the end. Thought Celtic lack fitness which could tell against the bigger sides.
Hopefully we get the 3 points against Kilmore which will make up for not getting anything against Celtic.
Both Celtic and Fahy will battle against relegation but the effort put in by both sides might suggest some upsets against the Westports and Ballinas of the league...
just after reading report in CT and from what i gather it seemed to be a dull enough affair. both sides had a few chaces with nothing really to shout about. fahy hitting the bar and celtic having one cleared off the line. kirby made a good save in last few minutes and celtic finished game with 10 men after substitute fergal durcan went off injured. also interesting to note is that celtic had two fairly decent penalty appeals turned down, dont no what those at the match thought about them decisions? it will be interesting to read the other local papers to see what they though of the match. also a preview of the sl in the paper which isnt great to be honest. predicts westport for title as everyone else is but doesnt say much about any of the teams really.