Page 43 of 50 FirstFirst ... 334142434445 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Super League 2009

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    Sure how much of the current Ballyheane team are from Ballyheane? Or better question how many of the team have never played for another club at the same level in Mayo? No offence to Ballyheane! I'm sure they wouldn't mind quality players coming in from wherever, we are the same ourselves, you cant be turning away good players if you want to push the club on.
    I doubt that very much Good football. Are you telling us that your lads after flying up the divisions with local players wouldnt be full of animosity if bunch of new lads came in and got places on your team. Im pretty sure sure they would. Theres really nothing as good as a local side who can get results with local players and drum up local support! Thats what junior footie should be all about! Fahy are a great example off this

Quote Originally Posted by rava View Post
    Westport have apparently recruited their new manager.
    PB is still in charge as far as i know unless you know more than us

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    I think they were probably deleted for text speak. Just spend a little time typing words out fully and you'll be grand.
    Are ye serious..? thats daft.
    Thanks for the Info !

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    I doubt that very much Good football. Are you telling us that your lads after flying up the divisions with local players wouldnt be full of animosity if bunch of new lads came in and got places on your team. Im pretty sure sure they would. Theres really nothing as good as a local side who can get results with local players and drum up local support! Thats what junior footie should be all about! Fahy are a great example off this
    There are alot of our team who have played since we rejoined mayo league in 2002 but we lose players from time to time and have added in quality players from outside the Fahy area. If Fahy thought like that as a club from the begining then I would have never got a chance (being from 20 miles away), also about 4 or 5 others are not from the Fahy area. If lads are committed to the club, do the training and show the quality on the pitch then they deserve to be in the team. Its great to have all local lads and its ideal but not always sufficient enough to push the team up to the top filght.

Heane natives

Sure how much of the current Ballyheane team are from Ballyheane? Or better question how many of the team have never played for another club at the same level in Mayo? No offence to Ballyheane! I'm sure they wouldn't mind quality players coming in from wherever, we are the same ourselves, you cant be turning away good players if you want to push the club on.
    Let me see
    Goalie
    Sean Fahey 200 yards from pitch
    Defence
    Burke, Roach & Mulroe have came up through ranks Burke is Ballintubber and Mulroe father is Heane Man
    Midfield
    Coghill 200 yards from pitch Conroy 500 yards from pitch. Kelly came up through ranks and is Tubber man
    Forwards
    Sheridan 500 yards from pitch, Nolan 50 yards from pitch
    Probably forgot some but backbone is local - not that it matters as some of our greatest servants were from outside

Quote Originally Posted by portside View Post
    PB is still in charge as far as i know unless you know more than us
    He well could be for the forseeable future but I have been told that a manager also with superleague experience has been lined up. If this is correct a few eyebrows will be raised in Westport & Castlebar.

Quote Originally Posted by mossy View Post
    Let me see
    Goalie
    Sean Fahey 200 yards from pitch
    Defence
    Burke, Roach & Mulroe have came up through ranks Burke is Ballintubber and Mulroe father is Heane Man
    Midfield
    Coghill 200 yards from pitch Conroy 500 yards from pitch. Kelly came up through ranks and is Tubber man
    Forwards
    Sheridan 500 yards from pitch, Nolan 50 yards from pitch
    Probably forgot some but backbone is local - not that it matters as some of our greatest servants were from outside
    Ballyheane always had the backbone of its teams made up of Ballyheane & Ballintubber lads, with some high profile names recruited in from time to time. It would be unfair and incorrect to indicate otherwise.

He well could be for the forseeable future but I have been told that a manager also with superleague experience has been lined up. If this is correct a few eyebrows will be raised in Westport & Castlebar.
    You may as well of stated his name with that post.
    I hope you are wrong or joking as that isn`t funny.
    First empty the bank account then give the supporters binoculars for the launch of balls ahead.

Lets hear the rumour and maybe someone can clarify if its true or not

Westport would hardly take on anyone who has managed celtic before??

Lets hear the rumour and maybe someone can clarify if its true or not

Westport would hardly take on anyone who has managed celtic before??
    All I can say is this would be his third superleague team. Should be easy figure from there.

Best of luck tomorrow Fahy, hope ye can do us a favour

Quote Originally Posted by slab11 View Post
    Cheers, we'll certainly try our best. Goals are proving a problem for us at the moment, hopefully there will be a big red balloon on the pitch and we can knock one in off that

All I can say is this would be his third superleague team. Should be easy figure from there.
    Heard talk of that last night in Westport alright, not verified or anything, just sounds possible...

Quote Originally Posted by the grape vine View Post
    sure ballyheane have always brought in players from outside the area, galway,crossmolina,ballinrobe,charlestown !!! to name a few.
    Sure every club in mayo league have players from other areas...
    Whats the big deal be pretty hard to just try and field a team from just 1 area..
    Pointless argument whoever brought it up...

Results

Fahy 1- 2 Straide& Foxford
    Ballyheane 3-4 Westport
    Ballina 6-1 Castlebar Celtic

Heard ballyheane game was a cracker...heane were 2-0 up gthen 2-2
    Westport 3-2...heane scored 2mins to go 3-3...
    Westport nicked it AGAIN in injury time...
    Fair play to them they kept going till the end again like at celtic last week.
    Celtic drop into 2nd bottom after loosing to ballina
    S'nF had great win in moneen..Fitzi and chris downey scoring 2-0 at half time
    Thats put the nail in Kilmore's coffin....

how did kilmore do? if they won theyll only be 2 behind celtic with 2 to play.
    Erris bet Snugboro 5 1

Kilmore 1, Manulla 4

Quote Originally Posted by slab11 View Post
    Unlucky but to be honest it would a needed a miracle for ye t wait up.
    we've collected 4points from 2games, now for the resy against kilmore and celtic, 10 out of 12 as i said.
    Super league is so poor. its an awful shame SnF did not put anything decent together, as the super league was up for grabs.
    Unlucky Kilmore, i'm sure we'll see ye back in the Super league the Year after next.

Quote Originally Posted by paddyirishman View Post
    Unlucky but to be honest it would a needed a miracle for ye t wait up.
    we've collected 4points from 2games, now for the resy against kilmore and celtic, 10 out of 12 as i said.
    Super league is so poor. its an awful shame SnF did not put anything decent together, as the super league was up for grabs.
    Unlucky Kilmore, i'm sure we'll see ye back in the Super league the Year after next.
    Fair play on beating Fahy on Sunday and everything, if anything ye deserved to win by more (although we were utterly rubbish and without our three best players) but if you think S+F could have actually won the league this year then you are even more biased and deluded than I thought you were. I agree that the super league has been very poor this year with Celtic gone to A championships, Westport losing interest and enthusiasm and everyone else mediocre or worse, but ye are still a good way off the top three clubs. I actually expected ye to break into that top three (see the very first post in this thread) but losing key players meant ye were always going to struggle. Great run at the end of the season for ye though and maybe next year ye can build on that. If Ballina do win the league they will surely be the worst team to do so in some time??

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Fair play on beating Fahy on Sunday and everything, if anything ye deserved to win by more (although we were utterly rubbish and without our three best players) but if you think S+F could have actually won the league this year then you are even more biased and deluded than I thought you were. I agree that the super league has been very poor this year with Celtic gone to A championships, Westport losing interest and enthusiasm and everyone else mediocre or worse, but ye are still a good way off the top three clubs. I actually expected ye to break into that top three (see the very first post in this thread) but losing key players meant ye were always going to struggle. Great run at the end of the season for ye though and maybe next year ye can build on that. If Ballina do win the league they will surely be the worst team to do so in some time??
    Are you serious about your last sentence "If Ballina do win the league they will surely be the worst team to do so in some time"
    If you are serious, well you the deluded one!!

Yes the super league is not great,but your excuses for westport are totally out of order all the time.Westport and Ballina are the best teams in the league by a country mile.Every other team in th S/L are very poor.Its very unfair to say what you have said and as always making excuses for westport.Its up to every other team to step up to the mark.

Page 43 of 50 FirstFirst ... 334142434445 ... LastLast