We moved from the hospital grounds(which served us well for many years) thanks to the hard work of the committee and all there work in raising the money for OUR grounds which are up there with the best in Mayo and Connaught. Maybe we could lend ye our committee for a few months to help ye
Also we were an established Super league team when Collins took charge. the year before he did take charge we stayed up because the two that went down were just alot worse than us. Simple as. Collins did take us on a great run last year and deserves alot of credit for what he did. he realised that a new face will freshen things up after 2 years with the club, and decided to step down.
All the players are grateful for what he and Damien did in there time with the club.
Plus im not too sure if hes actually going to stop playing so he still could be involved as a player.
I completely agree. any team could have won the super league this year cuz every team was brutal. if a team put a good run of results they would have won it along with consistencey through out the year it wud a been in the bag. but the season has been the worst super league in a long long time!!
Last edited by TheBoss; 13/10/2009 at 1:35 PM.
Point, this is a forum for opinions, our opinions, you may or may not agree with them (and think in your opinion - childish) but that is just the way it is.
Apologies (well , I shouldnt be apologising, Quay Heart should be), for getting caught up in our discussions/rows.
Dont heed Quay heart all he wants to do is be negative, he has a huge chip on his shoulder against the club.
Fair play for doing a bit. If I was around I might be in a position to help, but, unfortunately, work is thin on the ground and some of us have to go where the work is, such is life.
Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.
Any more news on the new manager,Ive heard that it could be S.Gavin,if not does anyone know any other names that have been linked with the job.Whilst on that subject it will be sad to see than Johan and Damo go.They brought on the club in the last two years and with a little lady luck could have at least had one trophy
Gavin will take over for the remaining few games AFAIK. As regards a new name at present there is none. People who know the league know there isnt exactly a huge quantity of quaility managers out there looking to manage a super league side, lets be realistic. You dont get them more motivated than Yohan. The big difficulty is that (regardless of speculation) Snugboro dont pay management and will continue this policy for as long as circumstances allow. In one way this is ethically sound however it means there wont be a crowd of potential candidates outside Conway park banging down the door!
Rubbish deleting simple statements, no language or anythin. "Spoiling" ha
taking things a bit serious over nothin at all. some rubbish. its only a local forum amongst normal people who have opinions...all about opinions and we'd aren't even allowed that. why bother...
there seems to be a lot off good budding managers in the premier div.swinford lad deserves credit ,next season they will lose more than they win he might want a new challange.partry managers and westport b manager deserve their shots.im sure theres someone in castlebar who would like to make their name also.kevin cusack in westport is free.
just wondering what people think of the news that ballyheane are chasing gavin dykes(yes him)to be there next manager.its funny when ya think the people supposedly headind up the heane delegation were some of his biggest critics when he was at celtic.from whats being said money is no object.wud the league like to see dykes back?
i think it would be a good thing, it mite shake things up a bit in the SL. dont no how the heane lads would like things if he was to start bringing in lads from outside like he did at celtic and then if he left they left..
Any word yet on the oscar traynor panel?
By the Heane delegation I hope you not referring to the people that administer the Heane. It would be true to say that a contributor to these pages who was loosely connected to the Heane had issues with Dykes and maybe he felt just cause too, but he would be the first to acknowledge that his contribution to all Junior team matters is negligible.
So those anti Dykes remarks did not come from them that count![]()
I say bring him back sure it might liven the super league or even mayo soccer up a bit...Think the league needs a high profile manager and if its true fair play to ballyheane for trying to get him... they have always tried to get managers with a good record and some new personal might kick them on a bit...
There not far away from competing at the top
Westport have apparently recruited their new manager.
Sure how much of the current Ballyheane team are from Ballyheane? Or better question how many of the team have never played for another club at the same level in Mayo? No offence to Ballyheane! I'm sure they wouldn't mind quality players coming in from wherever, we are the same ourselves, you cant be turning away good players if you want to push the club on.
sure ballyheane have always brought in players from outside the area, galway,crossmolina,ballinrobe,charlestown !!! to name a few.