Page 27 of 50 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Super League 2009

Quote Originally Posted by 1882 View Post
    You beat Mervue's 2nd team, not the same Mervue that is in the LOI 1st Division. I think one of the best things to come out of Celtic joining the A Championship i believe is the fact that the a can enter the U-20 league, offering Mayo u-20 players a chance to play at a decent level of football.
    agreed. give our young players loi experience and playing regular against high quality opposition similar to ourselves before stepping up to senior loi football, hopefully in the 1st division
    www.castlebarceltic.com

What the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve!

Quote Originally Posted by Westside142 View Post
    Right i`m back...where do i start?
    I tried to explain this to that crowd up the road and got slated for it.
    They`ll soon get fed up with this toothless league but if thats what they want,we should ditch this row as their argument isn`t holding water.
    Back to the proper football and a massive result on saturday with half the regulars missing.

So what was your excuse when you got beaten last thursday....Sing when your winning!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by 1924 View Post
    So what was your excuse when you got beaten last thursday....Sing when your winning!!!!!!
    To sum up hoop, 1924 and all Celtic lads think they are now in a better league, better standard of football and all the lads are improving, young lads who are coming through are good and they reckon they'll be in the 1st division in the next few years.

Westside thinks ye are wasting time money and resources on this and ye will end up back in the super league again before making the 1st division.

Me, I'm bored with the sh*t debate that will never end. If the LOI is so far ahead of the super league then take the debate to a LOI/A league forum. No disrespect to it but this is a super league forum

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    To sum up hoop, 1924 and all Celtic lads think they are now in a better league, better standard of football and all the lads are improving, young lads who are coming through are good and they reckon they'll be in the 1st division in the next few years.

Westside thinks ye are wasting time money and resources on this and ye will end up back in the super league again before making the 1st division.

Me, I'm bored with the sh*t debate that will never end. If the LOI is so far ahead of the super league then take the debate to a LOI/A league forum. No disrespect to it but this is a super league forum
    i think we figured that out alright

i agree will calling it quits though, has gone on to long and we're never going to agree on this subject so as i said a few days ago lets leave it at that
    www.castlebarceltic.com

What the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve!

I would 100% Concur with what you say,From a Celtic point of view we are only doing what every suppoter/member would do.Stand up for what we believe is right.Saying all of that it does not mean we are right all the time

Westaro Cup Final

I would 100% Concur with what you say,From a Celtic point of view we are only doing what every suppoter/member would do.Stand up for what we believe is right.Saying all of that it does not mean we are right all the time
    Any Thoughts on the Westaro Cup Final this weekend?

Quote Originally Posted by Score View Post
    Any Thoughts on the Westaro Cup Final this weekend?
    1st Thought is: Ballina Shouldnt be there after they're lucky win over SnF and
    2nd Thought: I hope Ballina Win!! Come on the Town!!!

Should be a great game.. Ballina when at they're top can play some great fluent football capable of breaking down most teams but Snugboro well capable to Hit them on the counter and to Stop ballina from playing football.
    I've a feeling this could go all the way..Maybe Extra time winner or shoot outs to decide the game. 2-2 Fulltime I Think

Quote Originally Posted by paddyirishman View Post
    1st Thought is: Ballina Shouldnt be there after they're lucky win over SnF and
    2nd Thought: I hope Ballina Win!! Come on the Town!!!

Should be a great game.. Ballina when at they're top can play some great fluent football capable of breaking down most teams but Snugboro well capable to Hit them on the counter and to Stop ballina from playing football.
    I've a feeling this could go all the way..Maybe Extra time winner or shoot outs to decide the game. 2-2 Fulltime I Think

Cant really see past Ballina,Good football team and on there day can beat anybody,snugboro have huffed and puffed a little this year.Hopefully a good final all the same

Chadwicks Cup

Westport Utd 2 - 3 Moy Villa

Are Westport in free fall or did they just aproach this game with the wrong attitude????? Fair play to the Div 2 side. Great result whatever in house problems might be in the port, Totally overshadows our result against Achill. Also Swinford claiming another SL scalp...... Are the divisions gettein closer and closer?????? Do SL sides think that they can just brush lower divisional teams aside and maybe aproach games in a wrong frame of mind??? Only 1 SL side left in the competition now and im sure they wont be looking forward to whichever side they get

Quote Originally Posted by murphs jewels View Post
    Westport Utd 2 - 3 Moy Villa

Are Westport in free fall or did they just aproach this game with the wrong attitude????? Fair play to the Div 2 side. Great result whatever in house problems might be in the port, Totally overshadows our result against Achill. Also Swinford claiming another SL scalp...... Are the divisions gettein closer and closer?????? Do SL sides think that they can just brush lower divisional teams aside and maybe aproach games in a wrong frame of mind??? Only 1 SL side left in the competition now and im sure they wont be looking forward to whichever side they get
    Record number of question marks there!

As far as I know Westport only have 12 players available to them until Hoban and Dessie return from ban. I'd like to see their starting 11! How are they in free fall? 7 wins from 9 in the super league even though they haven't played that well. I'd say their in pretty good shape after being unlucky with injuries and missing their main strikers fro last 2 and a half games?

Who did Swinford beat? They are decent enough anyway...

Did Dessie and Hoban not serve there automatic one game ban against Erris? they wont get further punishment until the next committee meeting in mid August but i could be wrong on this.

51 Posts

As far as I know Westport only have 12 players available to them until Hoban and Dessie return from ban. I'd like to see their starting 11! How are they in free fall? 7 wins from 9 in the super league even though they haven't played that well. I'd say their in pretty good shape after being unlucky with injuries and missing their main strikers fro last 2 and a half games?

Swinford beat Ballyheane 5-4 on pens ..... game finish 2-2 aet

Every club has injury problems!!
    Who is there main striker that you are referring to Dessie?? Cause he was playing last night!!

We had a game in Achill at 7-00 last night and that meant we had to leave at 4-30. Do you realise how hard it is to get lads off work and get a team together?? So dont tell me about poor Westports problems. Anyway that aside surley they should have enough strength in depth to see off a Div 2 side???
    And as for my free fall comment I think its only 1 win in 4 at the moment for them Could be wrong and if i am i apologise in advance. There appears to be major crack appearing and from reports they were held in the Changing rooms in Snugboro for over an hour after their latest league defeat. Every side will have small numbers from time to time and injuries so please dont use that same old excuse.

We had a game in Achill at 7-00 last night and that meant we had to leave at 4-30. Do you realise how hard it is to get lads off work and get a team together?? So dont tell me about poor Westports problems. Anyway that aside surley they should have enough strength in depth to see off a Div 2 side???
    And as for my free fall comment I think its only 1 win in 4 at the moment for them Could be wrong and if i am i apologise in advance. There appears to be major crack appearing and from reports they were held in the Changing rooms in Snugboro for over an hour after their latest league defeat. Every side will have small numbers from time to time and injuries so please dont use that same old excuse.
    They'll win the super league this year. Every club has a bad patch.

I like to see Westport do well but am certainly not making excuses for them. Wasn't at the game so cant tell if they are having problems other than poor form.

Free fall is dropping down a few divisions in a few years, not losing 3 games in 4. You know any clubs who went into free fall??????? Stones in Glasshouses, you should know better

Every club has injury problems!!
    Who is there main striker that you are referring to Dessie?? Cause he was playing last night!!
    Whose he? never heard of him

I assumed he was banned but as someone pointed out their bans aren't coming into place until the ML meet in August!

Were you at it 1924? Great win for Moy Villa...

Wink

Whose he? never heard of him

I assumed he was banned but as someone pointed out their bans aren't coming into place until the ML meet in August!

Were you at it 1924? Great win for Moy Villa...
    I actually was!!! Westport had about 25 chances but Moy Villa just wanted it more.Westport are a very good team but there form has deserted them this last few weeks,It is not up to me to say what is wrong or right.saying that things are not good at the moment.Dessie and mr hoban served there bans against Erris last sunday pending any further punishment dished out by the mayo league when they meet up.

Were you there Goodfootball!!!! Id say so

They'll win the super league this year. Every club has a bad patch.

I like to see Westport do well but am certainly not making excuses for them. Wasn't at the game so cant tell if they are having problems other than poor form.

Free fall is dropping down a few divisions in a few years, not losing 3 games in 4. You know any clubs who went into free fall??????? Stones in Glasshouses, you should know better
    Didnt say anything bout them not winning the SL... And as for underhand comments reguarding Charlestown if you dont know history or facts on what happened better not talk about things you know nothing about.. Still I think we have played Fahy Rovers twice in the last 5 years in cup competitions and turned them over both times. Getting out of the lower divisions is getting tougher and tougher as the teams (in my view) in the premier, 1st and 2nd divisions have little or nothing between them.

seconded
    www.achillrovers.com
    Achill Rovers Official Facebook Page....

Disclaimer:Facebook Page may not actually be official

Didnt say anything bout them not winning the SL... And as for underhand comments reguarding Charlestown if you dont know history or facts on what happened better not talk about things you know nothing about.. Still I think we have played Fahy Rovers twice in the last 5 years in cup competitions and turned them over both times. Getting out of the lower divisions is getting tougher and tougher as the teams (in my view) in the premier, 1st and 2nd divisions have little or nothing between them.
    It's clear you were trying to jump on the bandwagan. Are Westport in free fall I believe you asked! From 1924 who said they had 25 chances Thursday night I would suggest it was one of those days.

Shocks happen in cup comps where the lower division teams are more up for it. As you said Charlestown beating fahy last year in the chadwicks

We know how hard it is getting through the leagues, played in all four leagues in 7 years since fahy was refounded. All the best in getting promoted from div 2, with your catchment area we would all expect the likes of Charlestown, achill and balinrobe to be up challenging for SL status

Page 27 of 50 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast