Page 18 of 50 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Super League 2009

Quote Originally Posted by No. 7 View Post
    In relation to Joe Keane for the Oscar Traynor team, i'm still unsure. i've seen him play this season and he is excellent when the ball is pumped down on top of him, he'll clear it all day, however he's not so good when the balls are played down the channels and he's turned. The game i seen him play this happened a few times and he looked only average. very weak on his left foot too.

You say he has outclassed strikers from serious teams consistently in this division. Teams might be serious but the strikers i don't think so. Who are these strikers.

Celtic have Russel Gibbons, Sean McHale with A team
    Kilmore, doubt they have any serious strikers
    Snugboro have Sean Curry, Paul Curry gone to Sligo
    Ballyheane don't have anyone worth talking about

Save Dessie for Westport who has he faced..................

Did Dessie not score against ye?

Wait until season is over before you pass judgement....

great result for ye on Sat night............
    I agree with everything you said,swinford played fahy in a friendly at the start of the year and he loves the ball pumped in on top of him but is not that great when the ball is played on the ground..There is 5 or 6 better centre backs in mayo in my opinion.

Joe Keane has probably been the man of the match in 4 out of 5 games so far. Best centre back on show so far from all we've played against. That list includes: Geraty, Lawless, Burke, Mark McGreal. He has faced Gerry Burke, Dessie, Ger McLoughlin, Hoban. All of the above are oscar traynor players for definite ths year so why shouldn't Joe be? If he keeps up the performances there will be a spot for him.

Quote Originally Posted by Bandit View Post
    I agree with everything you said,swinford played fahy in a friendly at the start of the year and he loves the ball pumped in on top of him but is not that great when the ball is played on the ground..There is 5 or 6 better centre backs in mayo in my opinion.
    Name them

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    Name them
    You already have..

Name them
    Players i think that are ahead of him include Martin Geraghty, Joe Lawless, Peter Burke, Mark McGreal, Paul Walsh, Tommy Walsh....

All of the above as well as defending, are actually very good with the ball at their feet...........

Agree Tommy Walsh, Lawless and Geraty are better than Joe. Peter Burke?? are you joking, played against him the last day and while he used to be one of the best his mayo days are behind him.

"Joe will be in the squad for Mayo" play it back to me at the end of the season.

So will Gary Goggins...and maybe more of the Fahy Elite if we keep up our performances!

No.7 there are a few inaccuracies in your assessment in my opinion. Firstly Joe Keane is comfortable on his left foot, and certainly not 'very weak' as you put it. His footballing ability is underestimated too, as you normally see him hammering out headers as you mentioned. Also, your advice to 'Wait until season is over before you pass judgement....' was unneccessary, as the very last thing I wrote was 'its early doors yet, but Fahy have set themselves a benchmark', or something like that. Far from judging, I was saying it's too early to judge fully.

Bandit, we were appalling in pre-season, as the 7-8 loss to K+K United illustrated. The performances as a whole have been better and Keane's in particular have been excellent. I just think he deserves a call up to the trials, that's all, see how he does against the best. Surely there will be five or six centre halves for the first session anyway? Be nice to see a few players from the smaller clubs being given a chance.

On a different note, I see in the paper that Kilmore V Ballyheane are the ones that have to put up with no linesmen this week. It must be alternated between Fahy and Kilmore to go without. That's the third match I have seen since the league started in which Mick Walsh is expected to go it alone. Doesn't seem quite right.

[quote=FahyForever;1184766]No.7 there are a few inaccuracies in your assessment in my opinion. Firstly Joe Keane is comfortable on his left foot, and certainly not 'very weak' as you put it. His footballing ability is underestimated too, as you normally see him hammering out headers as you mentioned. Also, your advice to 'Wait until season is over before you pass judgement....' was unneccessary, as the very last thing I wrote was 'its early doors yet, but Fahy have set themselves a benchmark', or something like that. Far from judging, I was saying it's too early to judge fully.

Bandit, we were appalling in pre-season, as the 7-8 loss to K+K United illustrated. The performances as a whole have been better and Keane's in particular have been excellent. I just think he deserves a call up to the trials, that's all, see how he does against the best. Surely there will be five or six centre halves for the first session anyway? Be nice to see a few players from the smaller clubs being given a chance.

My mistake fahy Forever, i read your post wrong, i thought you meant he deserved to make the squad not that you thought he deserved a trial. Of course he's good enough to get a trial, sure anyone with any bit of ability will get a trial...........

dont hold out much hope for keane making oscar traynor david reilly at iorras has been outstanding over last three seasons and had to make do with place on bench not even a run, mayo had a midfielder playing back there when one of regular centre halfs was outs something wrong there.dont complain about three officals more often than not, the linesman
    appointed are not up to stratch and it costs club a fortune. mick walsh will do a good job on his own.

Quote Originally Posted by sprah1 View Post
    Code for Yes
    The Code is I don't know. In My time no
    Unless you would like to enlighten us, please fire ahead, or else drop it!!!

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    The Code is I don't know. In My time no
    Unless you would like to enlighten us, please fire ahead, or else drop it!!!
    Stick to super league football lads

Quote Originally Posted by pinero View Post
    dont hold out much hope for keane making oscar traynor david reilly at iorras has been outstanding over last three seasons and had to make do with place on bench not even a run, mayo had a midfielder playing back there when one of regular centre halfs was outs something wrong there.dont complain about three officals more often than not, the linesman
    appointed are not up to stratch and it costs club a fortune. mick walsh will do a good job on his own.
    Ive seen the lad play and he is very good in the air,However I do not think he is as good on the Ground.He would be a welcome addition to any Club with his all round performances.In relation to the Oscar Traynor I do not think he will make the squad,That is only my opinion.If he does fair play to him

250 Posts
    Stick to super league football lads

Agreed,take the small talk to PM lads,keep this thread to Mayo Super League.

Quote Originally Posted by Score View Post
    Ive seen the lad play and he is very good in the air,However I do not think he is as good on the Ground.He would be a welcome addition to any Club with his all round performances.In relation to the Oscar Traynor I do not think he will make the squad,That is only my opinion.If he does fair play to him
    He would make any team in the county therefore he's good enough to represent his county.

People automatically assume if your good in the air then your no good on the ground, he hasn't made many mistakes this year at all. Westport, Ballyheane, Celtic and Snugboros front line have all taken him on in the air and on the ground and he has not shown any weakness at all.

Truth be known, the Oscar Traynor team could do with someone whose good in the air, I think he would slot in nicely with Geraty and Lawless full back on one side ballina lad on other side. Thats my opinion...

He would make any team in the county therefore he's good enough to represent his county.

People automatically assume if your good in the air then your no good on the ground, he hasn't made many mistakes this year at all. Westport, Ballyheane, Celtic and Snugboros front line have all taken him on in the air and on the ground and he has not shown any weakness at all.

Truth be known, the Oscar Traynor team could do with someone whose good in the air, I think he would slot in nicely with Geraty and Lawless full back on one side ballina lad on other side. Thats my opinion...
    So where would you play Tommy Walsh,Mark McGreal,David Reilly or the Ballina Centre Half,his name escapes me

I would play:
    Peyton, Tom O'Connor, Keane, Geraty, Lawless, Cameron, Scahill, Gavin, Gerry Burke, Dessie O'Malley, Duffy

From what I've seen Mark McGreal isn't going to make any Mayo team, nor is Peter burke, Tommy Walsh could be knocking on the door and never seen Reilly play but will assess when we travel to Erris this Sunday

I would play:
    Peyton, Tom O'Connor, Keane, Geraty, Lawless, Cameron, Scahill, Gavin, Gerry Burke, Dessie O'Malley, Duffy

From what I've seen Mark McGreal isn't going to make any Mayo team, nor is Peter burke, Tommy Walsh could be knocking on the door and never seen Reilly play but will assess when we travel to Erris this Sunday
    If im honest thats not a bad team on paper,I would probably agree about Peter Burke,but not about Tommy Walsh,he is a class act and Mark McGreal is getting better all the time.By the way what age is keane?

Joe Keane is 27 as far as I know. There or thereabouts anyway. No older. Three new signings tonight at training, good to see. Erris on Sunday will be a difficult prospect, will be interesting to see how we step up. Someone stick the fixtures up so we can do the predictions please, dont know who is playing who. Cheers.

Hes Back

I heard the boro have got there management team back,they will need everyone what with playing westport at the weekend

That was always going to happen. Attention seeking crap. If you resign, you resign.
    Amazingly informative piece of journalism in the CT this week also re this.
    Love the implication that a source "close" to the manager was paying a "certain" player!
    You must have read up on your libel laws Tom!

Page 18 of 50 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast