Thread: Cork City Financial Discussion

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by corkboy360 View Post
    Of course they will.
    Keep living in the fantasy world "where everything is grand"
    Cork City FC will not have a leg too stand on in court.
    where did i say everythign is grand

you are an idiot

i said that right now

legally

we dont owe matthews a penny

when he takes us to court the judge will decide what we owe him

until then we dont owe him anything

you should try reading the posts you are replying to

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Nope, didn't go near it
    Well done, proud of ye

El-Pietro and CorkBoy360, you are just grating off each other now. You both think you're right. We'll wait and see wht happens. Chill out now, maybe take a break from this thread.

Moderation: Some text removed

Now I shall take a break from this thread as A face has told me too.
    Last edited by A face; 23/02/2009 at 8:44 PM. Reason: Continuing the argument
    Tommy No Bobs

33 Posts
    The owing of money to people can be viewed in a different way. In the case of Cork City I'm not sure what this means but I do know for another club it can mean to schedule a payment scheme to a player who is owed money. Once the agreement is in place and is seen to be acceptable by the FAI then the condition of payment can be that the first installment be lodged, paid and then recorded by the FAI and all parties in question by a certain date. This should satisfy the licence. All players can, under the rules, be owed money but once an agreement is in place between player and club then the player can move freely along and the club falls within the licence terms.
    Aon, dó, trí, bhí mé i mo luí, thit mé den leaba, he! he! he!

Cork fans rumouring on their own forum that wages were not paid this week. Can't accuse anyone else on these latest rumours.
    Surely not true?
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

.....However, further difficulty could lie ahead for the Leesiders after it emerged that the existing squad did not receive their month's wages as scheduled on Wednesday, and were last night looking for answers from the club who cited clerical issues for the delay.

While it is understood that the money is on the way, PFAI secretary Stephen McGuinness and FAI Compliance Officer Padraig Smith are set to travel to Cork next week to discuss concerns over some outstanding matters with City owner Tom Coughlan.
    http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...n-1656902.html
    A transient, horrible, fantastic dream,
    Wherein is nothing yet all things do seem:
    From which we're wakened by a friendly nudge
    Of our bedfellow Death, and cry: "O fudge!"

Ambrose Bierce

Uh oh!

It's a conspiracy i tells ya!!

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Smurf1 View Post
    Uh oh!

Nope just a dodgy owner in place thats all.
    There was me thinking everyone knew those rubber cheque books were just kids toys. Someone should tell Coughlan soon before he makes a fool out of himself.

Quote Originally Posted by Smurf1 View Post
    Uh oh!

Do ye not know Alan Matthews started that rumour on langerweb and also writes under the alias of Daniel McDonnell in the Independent?
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Very worrying for Cork. This week was the week they had to sort out their "financial" provisions under licensing, and co-incidentally the players weren't paid.

It really does seem like Cork are going week to week with money. I'm sure home games coming up will help but a bad run of form and a dip in gates could really, really hurt them

Should Finn Harps be getting ready for a shock promotion?

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student View Post
    Should Finn Harps be getting ready for a shock promotion?
    Followed by a swift relegation again?

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Followed by a swift relegation again?
    I think there could be a niche position in this league for clubs that stay promoted through others going bust.

Which player was it? What hospital was it? Where are you based and where was the player?

You have to give a source for this one man, or it gets deleted.

I think this post is a spoof, prove me wrong.
    I heard a rumor from a cork City as well A face, like i state it is a rumor but he is well connected in Cork.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers Maniac View Post
    I heard a rumor from a cork City as well A face, like i state it is a rumor but he is well connected in Cork.
    From another site

This month a new pay system was installed...wages are now paid by electronic transfer and not cheques...maybe thats where the clerical error came from?...
    How did cheques bounce when they weren't even used this month? I smell a rat, so i still stand by that the rumour needs proved by Billynomates

From another site

How did cheques bounce when they weren't even used this month? I smell a rat, so i still stand by that the rumour needs proved by Billynomates

I heard it from a big Cork fan in Dublin, i know your mod on here and i don't want to get into a argument with you as you are clearly very defensive about the whole thing. So i think we should accept your thinking until we see the other paper of "record" in Ireland (The Times) coming out with a story.

71 Posts
    The Star on Sunday is carrying a story about Cork failing to pay the players. It mentions the electronic system but says they still weren't paid.

MickNolan
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    The Star on Sunday is carrying a story about Cork failing to pay the players. It mentions the electronic system but says they still weren't paid.
    Looking at it myself!

I get get paid by electronic transfer as do a lot of people.

The money goes into my account at 12.01 am on the designated date.

Once or twice their might be an administrative or clerical glitch - but once the company and bank are notified it's usually resolved later that day or the next day at the latest.

According to reports the Cork players were due to be paid last Wednesday and reports on Friday said they still hadn't been paid by then.

There are no 'clerical issues' at fault here by this stage.
    A transient, horrible, fantastic dream,
    Wherein is nothing yet all things do seem:
    From which we're wakened by a friendly nudge
    Of our bedfellow Death, and cry: "O fudge!"

Ambrose Bierce

Page 10 of 15 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast